YOU CAN'T BE A FAILURE

in #life7 years ago (edited)

 

You are fortunate if you have learned to differentiate between temporary defeat and failure; more fortunate  still, if you have learned the truth that the seed of success is dormant  in every defeat that you experience..... Napoleon Hill 

How often do you see yourself as a failure? Has someone told you that you are a failure? Have you been passing through circumstances that make you feel that way? Cheer up and read further because this post is for you. 

You may want to think "oh this is another motivational post that has no real value when applied to real life"... Fortunately, it's not, it's a  post written out of personal experience. If you have been following my previous posts, you'll notice 80% of my write-ups are linked to my personal experiences. So when I tell you that you're not a failure,  believe. Now read on as we explore this topic. First things first.  

What is the meaning of failure?

Failure is the condition or fact of not achieving the desired end. It is lack of success. In other words, when you don't achieve what you desired and worked for, it could be said that you failed. How does that make you a failure? Let's critically analyze it. 

Who should be called a failure? 

The only person that should be called a failure is someone who died without succeeding in anything. 

No matter how many times you've faced obstacles and setbacks, for as long as you're still alive, you cannot be classified as a failure.

If you can read this post, then you can never be called a failure because you're still alive. 

My Story 

I'm someone who has encountered a lot of hardship and misfortunes to the extent that my friends and family feel pity for my predicament. Sometimes, they advise me not to venture into new opportunities since everything ends in failure. In their minds, they saw me as a failure, though they never voiced it out, my mind was able to detect it. 

I failed in almost everything I did. Recurring failures, made me lose my self-confidence. I did everything with the fear of failing...of course, that alone ensures it ends in failure. 

I thought I was "unlucky" (which I later found out was a result of my lack of self-discipline). It was so bad I almost gave up, but reading motivational books kept my hope alive. Deep down in my heart, I already accepted defeat. 

After I read The Law of Success and other books written by Napoleon Hill, my perception of life changed. I was able to figure out why I always failed. I also learned things about failure that keeps me motivated irrespective of the outcome I get. Here are some of the things I learnt. 

I learnt that;

  • Even if I got everything right, I could still fail to get the desired results. 
  • Falling to get positive results through a particular approach is an opportunity to exploit other means to achieve my goals. 
  • I shouldn't count how many times I failed until I have succeeded. 
  • I can use my past failures as a stepping stone to success. 
  • There is always a lesson to learn from each failed attempt. 
  • Most importantly, I learnt that I should never accept defeat no matter how many times I failed. 

Facts 

The number of times you failed will no longer matter if you finally succeed. 

Most of those we celebrate their success stories today were once regarded as failures. 

Until you're defeated in your mind, the doors of success remain open to you. 

The Fear of failure is the beginning of failure. 

Conclusion 

I  don't know what you have encountered that makes you feel you're a failure. It could be that your life has been revolving around circles of disasters, disappointment and pains. 

You may have been hearing people tell you how unfortunate you are. Your mind may now be the chief of those negative voices regularly reminding you of all your past failures. 

In all these, it's important to understand these;

Success starts with the mind. Don't accept defeat despite the number of times you failed. 

Don't speak fear and failure. What you say affects your thoughts and actions. Always speak faith and courage. 

Motivate yourself and don't accept negative remarks made against you. Be your own shield that protects you from outside aggression. 

You can never be a failure until you accept being one


Images source 

Thanks for Reading 


@elyaque made this beautiful badge for me. 

Sort:  

You didn't give up trying to walk as a little child. No one had called you a failure at that early age.

People are taught to be failures! As long as you are doing your best, not a failure. You get better with each attempt.

The times I consider that I am a failure are the times I truly didn't put my best effort into it...

The times I consider that I am a failure are the times I truly didn't put my best effort into it...

I love this. Thanks for your awesome contribution here.

all wetin you just talk na true. some people problem, na be say dem too dey easily give up, them don forget say, today newspaper fit be wetin dem go use sell suya tomoro.

even this steemit wey we dey do, some pple done tire leave am.

Confirm bro. Na your pigin sweet me pass joor. Anyways, I almost leave steemit when I join, but I thank God say I no try am. Thanks for your comment.

i thank God say me self join and i dey always learn from you make i follo-follo you now self.

The number of times you failed will no longer matter if you finally succeed.

This is a beautiful fact that you resounded. I am happy to read this post. We often times as a mortal being have limitations and shortcomings, sometimes we fail at hings we should have excel literally, but the good news is if we persist we will always get to the brighter side of life. Cheers @ogoowinner.

You're still awake? Thanks for reading bro. Persistence is the key to overcoming failure.

We should continue to strive till we get to the desired result. It all depend on our personal view about failure and the standard we have set for ourselves, as I believe that success and failure has different meaning to different people. A man earning $100 might see himself as successful but one earning $1000 might see himself as a failure so it all depends on the standard we personally want for us. Nice one dear, keep the goal positive.

Thanks for your comment here @gloglo.

Personally, I have stopped reading inspirational books or books about success, because I've seen examples where the authors couldn't even follow their own advice. And some just regurgitate other people's works.

Physician, heal thyself!

I try to find my inspiration from people I see. And I always keep a sorta motto in mind, especially when asking questions.

Go, do, ask. The only thing they can do is reject you, not kill you.

Sometimes it's good to leap before looking. Looking may lead to second thoughts.

Great post @ogoowinner

Go, do, ask. The only thing they can do is reject you, not kill you

I just learned something new from this. Thanks for your comment here.

You inspire me all the time.Thanks a lot.

Thank you for reading.

it is good to share your experience, i learn alot from this post although i had similar experience but after reading the book learning from defeat i was motivated never to give up. Now am part of a team we handle called never give up at Enugu Nigeria.
steemit Well done GIF.gif

I live in Enugu. Can I know more about the group? Thanks for your comment here.

Thanks for sharing this experience, it worth leverage from. when you learn through experience there is no mountain you can't climb

when you learn through experience there is no mountain you can't climb
That's true. Thank you for reading this post.

Great inspiration!!!! Thanks somuch!

Thank you for reading.

Failure only comes when you stop trying. It's as simple as that!

Exactly. Thanks for your comment here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59292.67
ETH 2590.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47