HOW DISCIPLINED ARE YOU?

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishment.     
Jim Rohn

What is self-discipline?

Self-discipline is the ability to control yourself. 

A lot of people are facing hardships and broken relationships because they lack this very important virtue. 

Luck vs Self-discipline 

I  have a friend who is always "lucky". Anything she sets her mind upon  turns out successful and of course, she always brags about how "lucky"  she is. 

On the other hand, I saw myself as  "unlucky". My businesses crumbled. My relationships don't last long. My  expectations get cut off. All these made me feel some unseen forces were  against me, little did I know that I created those forces by my  attitude. 

One certain day I visited her at  work, I noticed that her boss was harsh on her. After her working hours,  on our way back home, I told her that I can't work for such a cruel  person. She smiled and said, 

"as long as he  doesn't seize my salary, I don't care about his behaviour, I'm only  focused on collecting the money I need for my school fees from him". 

If  I was the one, I would have resigned, join the jobless youth roaming  around the city in search of jobs, then bemoan my "unlucky" life.

What  I called "luck" in the life of my friend, was nothing but someone who  knows what she wants, and knows how to discipline herself enough to get  it. Self-discipline endowed her with an attractive personality which  makes people favour her. 

All those we see  as "lucky" are people who are disciplined enough to fully utilize every  opportunity that comes their way. While those being "unlucky" are  getting a byproduct of their wrong attitude. 

Many  good relationships are ruined because couples lacked self-discipline. A  word can kill a relationship, Just as much as silence could save it. 

Discipline  makes you not to react based on what has been done, but what is right.  It makes you contented with what you have. Discipline helps you live  above selfishness, greed, envy and pride.


Talent vs Self-discipline 

I don't dispute the fact that people are born with natural  endowment, but I can confidently tell you that most of The famous  people we celebrate today are made out of years of continuous practice,  perseverance and intense focus. 

Discipline is what makes you continue when you feel like quitting. 

Discipline makes you focused no matter what tries to distract you. 

Discipline is the oil that lubricates perseverance.

The  reason most kids who didn't show any sign of natural talent grew up to  become great is because they never depended on natural abilities but  worked hard/smart to develop their skills. 

More than natural talents, self-discipline guarantees a happy and successful life. 

Questions we should ask ourselves 

  • In what area of your life do you lack discipline?
  • What are the things you fall for over and over again? 
  • What makes it so difficult to overcome some bad habits? 

Steps to Build Self-discipline 

  • Practice self-denial.
  • Know your strengths and weaknesses. 
  • Motivate yourself.
  • Have a mentor.

What we need to know 

  • We must know that life is not a joke and everything we do or didn't do has consequences. 
  • We all have the inherent ability to control our feelings, thoughts and actions.  
  • Self-discipline is not something we can build in a day. It becomes a part of us after years of continues practice. 
  • Self-discipline  is not supposed to mean staying away from fun or punishing yourself. It  is the ability to eliminate self-destructive habits, forcing yourself  to do the needful even when it seems impossible and focusing on your  goals until they are achieved.

Conclusion 

Self-discipline  is a gateway to a more comfortable, happy and successful life. In other  words, if you desire success in what you do, apply discipline. If you  want to live a happy life, be disciplined. Life is not a playing ground  and some opportunities misused can never come back. Be serious.

If  you don't discipline yourself today, life itself will discipline you by  attracting miseries, shame, poverty, divorce, sickness and other  negative things to your life.

Don't count people's success without studying what they did behind the scenes before they became successful. 

Are you disciplined enough to sustain and nurture a good relationship? 

What has been standing in your way to success? 

How disciplined are you?

If  the lack of self-discipline has cost you something you valued, but you  have learnt your lesson, please share in comments below. I'm a teacher  who is still learning. 

Image source:

Thanks for Reading 


@elyaque made this beautiful badge for me. 

Sort:  

This is great, self discipline has changed my life and make me more successful

Thanks for sharing

Great post @ogoowinner. It is true that with self-discipline you can achieve a lot.

That's true. It motivates us to keep going . Thanks for your comment here.

Self-discipline is something when i personally keep my nerves calm even in the toughest situation and can focus on my work the harder the problems get the better you will get with time :) anyways thanks for your post learned some new things :)

That's great @blazing. Keeping calm in tough situation is a very difficult task. Thanks for reading and commenting.

This is very interesting, I loved it

Nice post boss
i believe discipline is one of the greatest principle to success
Glad to see you posting again after a month
Thumbs up

Hmmmm! Small promotion oga. Thanks for reading and commenting.

I think the harder you work t

If you don't discipline yourself today, life itself will discipline you by attracting miseries, shame, poverty, divorce, sickness and other negative things to your life.

Loved this
Self discipline helps an individual to develop himself positively but sometimes when we take it too far it create a negative impact in our life.

Thank you for reading.

Awesome piece. I really salute your creative acumen

Going through the article, while I could proffer answers to some questions, some questions were left unanswered.
'Will have to go back and think again.

@ogoowinner
Thanks for this piece.

Thank for reading @idunique.

U r welcome, it's a pleasure stopping by.

Tnx for sharing your toughts on the matter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46