You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections: My "Road to Recovery" Trip

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Wishing you a great trip, @roleerob. How can it be anything but wonderful after reading your itinerary?

Just received my first pension payment the end of last month. The care giving of my aged mother keeps me tied to home at present, yet there is that plan of a bicycle tour through europe, to reclaim my waisted youth, when opportunity permits.

Following you with interest.

Sort:  

Thanks for stopping by @novacadian! Always nice to “meet” someone new. Mind if I ask how you found my post? In the past I’ve written about what I’ve called “the Challenge” in here, so it is always of interest to me.

” How can it be anything but wonderful after reading your itinerary?”

Yep, if it is not wonderful, I really messed up somewhere … 😉

From Nova Scotia! I think you are the first Steemian I am aware of knowing was from that part of the world. I have been there exactly once. Long ago, in my “old life,” I went there to interview someone for a position I was trying to fill out in British Columbia. Didn’t work out … And, I was in late one afternoon, spent the evening talking to this fellow, then out the next morning ...

So … Exactly what I want to avoid on my upcoming trip, as God knows, I’ve done enough “quick fly bys” over the years …

Bicycling through Europe sounds like a very interesting trip. You’ll have to provide us an outline of what you’d like to do on it, then we’ll all be along vicariously on the trip with you!

Mind if I ask how you found my post?

Pretty sure it was a resteem. Unfortunately who resteemed it is lost to me now.

You’ll have to provide us an outline of what you’d like to do on it, then we’ll all be along vicariously on the trip with you!

Will definitely be documenting the biking trip should it come to fruition. Have been practising and expanding my skill set with a biking tour series. It's been a slow learning curve yet progressing slowly but surely. 😎

Thanks for the reply @novacadian. I would say then, it may have been via @steemchiller's resteem of this post.

He is one of our great Steemians who drops in on my posts from time to time. Always much appreciated!

Sounds like you have a well thought out game plan for your biking trip and "working it." Looking forward to hearing how it unfolds!

@steemchiller is a follow of mine. That is most likely it! 🖒

Good evening @novacadian. Any progress on your plans to take the bicycle tour you mentioned here? I am now officially retired and "out on the road," writing this from Ventura, California. "Working my plan" ... 😊

Still homebound while caregiving my Mother who has turned 95 today on, this, her birthday. 🎂

Who would have guessed that we would be seniors together? 😎

I have great admiration for people like you @novacadian. Caring for our parents seems like a sacred duty, but in far too many cases, they end up in "old people's warehouses." Yes, I know there are always exceptions, due to their health and corresponding level of care needed.

If I sound a little "intense" on the topic, it is due to the stories my beloved lifemate brings home from her service of the elderly. She works for Visiting Angels. Do they have that service in Canada?

Well, your time will come, giving you lots of opportunity to prepare. I "planned my work" on this post and now I am out "working my plan" ...

Looking forward someday to reading of your journey on your bicycle! And the resulting contemplative thoughts which flow from it.

Do they have that service in Canada?

In my province there is a conscientious effort to keep the elderly in their homes as long as possible. We get caregivers from the health care system who come to the home each morning and evening. It has been proven that it is not only more comfortable for the elderly but cheaper for the system than to institutionalize them, unless medically nessasary.

Looking forward someday to reading of your journey on your bicycle!

Thanks. Considering my present situation as being in training for the future Tour. 😎

"It has been proven that it is not only more comfortable for the elderly but cheaper for the system than to institutionalize them, unless medically nessasary."

Makes sense @novacadian! Definitely don't know myself of any old person who wouldn't prefer to live out there remaining days in their home, if at all possible.

Even with the help, I would assume your mother still needs your commitment, otherwise for her being at home would not be possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44