You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections: My "Road to Recovery" Trip

in #life5 years ago

Good evening @novacadian. Any progress on your plans to take the bicycle tour you mentioned here? I am now officially retired and "out on the road," writing this from Ventura, California. "Working my plan" ... 😊

Sort:  

Still homebound while caregiving my Mother who has turned 95 today on, this, her birthday. 🎂

Who would have guessed that we would be seniors together? 😎

I have great admiration for people like you @novacadian. Caring for our parents seems like a sacred duty, but in far too many cases, they end up in "old people's warehouses." Yes, I know there are always exceptions, due to their health and corresponding level of care needed.

If I sound a little "intense" on the topic, it is due to the stories my beloved lifemate brings home from her service of the elderly. She works for Visiting Angels. Do they have that service in Canada?

Well, your time will come, giving you lots of opportunity to prepare. I "planned my work" on this post and now I am out "working my plan" ...

Looking forward someday to reading of your journey on your bicycle! And the resulting contemplative thoughts which flow from it.

Do they have that service in Canada?

In my province there is a conscientious effort to keep the elderly in their homes as long as possible. We get caregivers from the health care system who come to the home each morning and evening. It has been proven that it is not only more comfortable for the elderly but cheaper for the system than to institutionalize them, unless medically nessasary.

Looking forward someday to reading of your journey on your bicycle!

Thanks. Considering my present situation as being in training for the future Tour. 😎

"It has been proven that it is not only more comfortable for the elderly but cheaper for the system than to institutionalize them, unless medically nessasary."

Makes sense @novacadian! Definitely don't know myself of any old person who wouldn't prefer to live out there remaining days in their home, if at all possible.

Even with the help, I would assume your mother still needs your commitment, otherwise for her being at home would not be possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44