Novacadian's Nova Scotia Biking Tours (The Website)

in #biking6 years ago

The series, Novacadian's Nova Scotia Biking Tours, has been an interesting evolution of learning for me. That evolution continues. The idea for the series was tossed around by me as early as in my An Overdue Intro Posting.

It seemed hard to even keep the camera in its mount in Episode 1. Add that the content is sitting on a hobby server and laggy as be-jingles, there seemed ample room for improvement .

By Episode 2 the camera was secure enough to take one on a tour of one of my favorite urban rides... Point Pleasant Park. Editing could have improved this episode, yet battling with Blender is a slow process. An easier alternative is presently being explored. The lag from the trollkeep server had me looking for corporate alternatives for video delivery. My understanding is that a video's life on dTube is about 45 days on average. YouTube seemed more dependable for archive use.

The ride in Episode 3 was a new one for me, although this city has been my home for most of my life. It had been an old railroad line which is now converted to a trail. My hope is to follow the trail/line further along the south shore of Nova Scotia when opportunity allows. The video content is finally coming from YouTube in this episode and not via wifi aimed through a cringle can.

Episode 4 tried to compensate for my struggle with Blender by offering non-edited smaller clips of the tour. It worked well, yet only highlighted the need to get into video software editing.

When does a biking tour turn into an architectural review? Episode 5.

Episode 6 is the final episode to date. It explored what cross town traffic is like in Halifax, when out on a mission for a good coffee.

If the ShotCut video editing software proves as easy as has been promised to me, then we should soon see more video editing of the tours... making them, hopefully, a more enjoyable watch in the future.

Sort:  

Thank you - very interesting, but it takes a lot of time for watching ;-) i am still in "process"...

You are kind to give them all a look. Thought it would be helpful to start categorizing my posts for those who want to look me over. My plan is to put a page together linking to all the different posts according to category.

Ah i understand - it looks a little bit like that - ok it is a good idea! I like when things are getting a special "order".

I was able to watch a few episodes but the videos have a hard time loading. My pc is often not nice to me. The first though did give me a bit of a chuckle. I didn't expect the fall....My bad.. I watched the video before I read it lol.

When I got to the 3 episode seeing when you were riding it, it really looks like a nice place to be going for ride!

Yeah the old Queenie is very generous with us Haligonians for sharing her park. 😎

The first few episodes are on my hobby server (trollkeep.com) and the bandwidth is terroble. You get what you pay for.

Started using YouTube after that and the lag became much less of a problem.

Oh cool, I will check them out later. I am heading to town so when I get back I will have more time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64871.83
ETH 2536.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67