Why you should stop expecting from others?

in #life6 years ago

worried-girl-413690_1920.jpg

source

I have a friend named Mani. She is older than me and got married long before me. After a couple of years of her marriage, I and she was having some conversation and she shared her secret of having a successful marriage. She mentioned that you can stay happy as long as you don’t expect anything from your husband. My expression was 🙄 ( I don’t know what does she mean). She continued, if he does something for you it's nice. If he does not you should not be bothered. I was thinking in my head how is this possible? I even thought 🤔 for sure she may be in some sort of serious disappointment with her marriage.

I guess at that time I was very young to understand what she meant. I think I could not grasp it intellectually but somewhere it appealed to me. I used to recall that statement often.

Finally, the day has come when I could understand what she meant. How? Now, I was married longer than one day. (lolz) 😬

It is easy to get disappointed and to disappoint your other half when you get into a relationship because we forget one thing that we are two different people with different bring up and understanding of life.

After I have realised we two are different people with a different perspective of life, I got busy sorting my mind mystery how can I stay unaffected with these disappointments and the answer came from inside ‘don’t expect’.

On that day I smiled to myself remembering my expression on Mani’s sharing on 'Not expecting'. I feel we can’t understand certain things completely unless we are in similar situations.

Post implementing this principle of no expectations, I got several surprises 😍 on different occasions. Then I thought I should apply this philosophy of no expectation in every relationship and I have been working on this.

The more I let it go, the bigger my smile gets ☺


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends :)


I am also part of #ccc by @freedomshift

https://steemit.com/ccc/@freedomshift/6-30-18-saturday-or-cat-turday-meow-updates-on-ccc-rules-upvotes-and-prizes-giveaway

Sort:  

You can't have absolutely no expectations. That's just not how us humans are. Sure, you can have low expectations but getting rid of them entirely is almost impossible.

I actually think that some minor level of expectations are rather healthy when you're in a relationship because it allows for greater happiness when your expectations are met but doesn't dissappoint as much when they aren't.

That's just my opinion. I could be wrong.

Its not about right or wrong. It's just personal belief system. I am happy to hear your views, but I feel no expectation leads to a great happiness in my experience. And yes it is not easy but from the eye of a seeker, it is must to have to grow in life :)

Thanks for your comment.

As I said earlier, Expectation is the rot cause of Suffering, You limited this to husband wife relation but I think this can be applied to every type of relation is it?

Wish this post might had been helpful to many if they take it seriously...And what else this should be part of pre marriage counselling...

BTW..have you already a list of many subjects for posting...as it a coincidence when I said something related to this it was already in your list to many hundreds steemien..

And I would like to ask few questions but for the time being i am holding...may be later...

Hope you had a good day...
Thanks for the post...I am resteeming this....too

Thanks for dropping by. I have not limited the expectation topic with a husband-wife relation. It just this topic has started in my life with this relation due to the story of my friend and my own realisation. :) You re-read my post, the last paragraph is relevant. I think it applies on every relation including a relation of devotee and God.

I don't know about coincident. This subject was already in my mind with the story but yes we discussed this topic also yesterday. Thanks for resteeming my friend.

Dont take it seriously my friend...Just for engaging with you for a while I written so...From the understanding about you so far I know you are having some deep understanding about life and its happenings that you wanted to share with others. Otherwise I could just say a good post and leave it..is it?

Even the coincidence term I used casually...

Thanks for the reply though

ok :) Thanks once again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65