The Game's A Bogey

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1840774588.jpg

The little boom is precisely one month old. The last four weeks have been full of joy, terror and sleepless nights and I have loved every bit of them. However, they have flown in and tomorrow I am faced with heading back to work for the man.

I could lie and say I am cool with that and my career is ever so important to me but... I won't.

1509991csay.jpg

I drifted through the day occasionally glowering at people and being grumpy. All the while my gigantic brain rotated ceaselessly inside my skull as it tried to come up with a solution.

I know!

1509991csay_20171106182926465.jpg

I could rob a bank! A strictly non-violent robbing of course. Perhaps I would walk up to the teller and rattle of a few classic boom jokes followed by some euphemisms for genitalia?

Hmm, that has the potential of jail time no matter how non-violent I was and besides. Who wants to come into contact with all that greasy FIAT. I might get hives.

Well, I suppose if it wasn't to be FIAT I would have to look at crypto. My muse and my nemesis.

How could I raise enough crypto to not have to work ever again?

I know!

1509993570-picsay.jpg

I could lease lots of SP from blocktrades or minnowbooster and unleash an army of bots on steemit all with the express purpose of voting me up so I could live like a lord!!

Hmm, no. That wouldn't really work either. For a start it would cost a fortune.

There must be another way.

I know!

1509993570-picsay_20171106191150502.jpg

I would invest in some ICOs! Surely there must be some out there that would offer me a quick buck of a return if i just shot my full muck into it?

I had a look at the ones currently doing the rounds. Even an idiot would be hard put not to realise that they were rubbish and a baw-hair away from being scams.

Sigh

It looked like there was no other option. With a heavy heart, I went to my wardrobe and pulled out a couple of jazzy shirts. Off to the ironing board with me. The good lady patted me sympathetically on the arm.

We will miss you.

I tried not to start wailing. After all I was only going back to work. It wasn't like I was going to the gallows or anything.

I had only gone a few steps past her when I whirled around...

I've got it baby! I've got the answer!

What is it? Tell me!

1509993570-picsay_20171106191150502_20171106193324107.jpg

Genesis Mining!! I will dump all of our spare cash into Genesis Mining and we can live off the handsome profits that pour in each month!

We held each others gaze for a few seconds before we both burst out laughing. The good lady slapped her thigh as tears of hilarity streamed down her cheeks.

Oh god, I think I am going to shit out a kidney!

She gasped.

I might laugh up a lung!

I cried.

The laughter eventually subsided. We had a hug. She ruffled my hair.

At least you can still laugh dawgy.

Yeah lass. If we don't have laughter we ain't got nothing.

I resumed my journey to the ironing board with my jazzy shirts, my heart not quite so heavy.

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @meesterboom.

Lovely illustrations and expression of self's inner turmoil in your writing.

htooms has a contest running.....perhaps that will at least make the pain bearable..... ^_^

Wishing you and yours all the best. Cheers.

Oh really!! It's been a while. I will get right over.

Thanks for visiting @bleujay, it is fair to say I am feeling the anguish tonight!

I suggest if you want to rob a bank, best way to do this is to own the bank 😂😂😂

I'll hope Steem will one time give you the opportunity to never have to work again while enjoying other peoples work and receiving the curation awards!

I hope that's what we all get out of it!!

I found this short vid, instantly I thought about you;

http://www.dumpert.nl/mediabase/7281457/cdc5c36c/biertje_.html

Lol, I was terrified to look at it as it looked like a mad link! I am too safety conscious!

I thought the automated beer-serving-bot was awesome, but i coudnt get the vid to play here straightaway. Otherwise i would have for sure!

I think an automated beer serving bot would be hella awesome!

If I understand you dear friend @meesterboom, how hard it is to return to work after a long vacation, I had the same thing and the worst is that this feeling lasts several days, until you enter rhythm, but you say who would earn so much money for no more work
I'm so sorry, dear friend. I wish you a good stay in your work

Thanks @jlufer! It will be a tough first day I am sure but hopefully will settle down :O)

The pain of returning to work :( As a teachers of the ways of music, my summers are my own. Come Sept. "Tears, they flow like the river" - sing with me now!

I joined Steemit in late July and quickly moved into full-addict-mode. By the beginning of Sept. the last thing on my mind were those budding young musicians in need of proper musical guidance. I put on my bigboy pants (which I had abandoned in late July) and made my slug-march back to work.

I feel your pain my friend. Join in from the back row, "Nobody knows the troubles I've seen, nobody knows but Steemit." Can I get and Amen?!?!

Amen!!

I am trying to find my big boys pants in time for the morrow. Sigh!

Cheers though, you bought a smile to my face! :0)

I hummed along, and threw in the sop descant, but I'm not feeling sorry for you, Bucky! As we run our own business, we don't get holidays unless we can bribe one of my nephews to come and hold the fort for a few days. We get a stay-cation of a few days at Xmas, but even then we once had someone ring up on Boxing Day (?!?) to ask questions about one of our products. I've been thinking longingly of what it would be like to spend all summer lazing out...

I thought that being your own boss meant that you could take holidays whenever you wanted ;) hahaha

I was self employed for years and have a closet full of those t-shirts.... and pants.

You're a lucky one, boom!

Hehe, sometimes I think so :O)

Do people still physically rob banks? I thought you just hacked in these days and transferred everything to an offshore account in the Caymens.

Now aren't you some kind of computer guy? 🤔

Sssshh, the bank job was just a cover story thrown out into the ether ;O)

What's not to like about jobs, come on man!
Annoying bosses, grumpy clients, weird co-workers.. it's just amazing lol

It IS amazing!!

Oh I loves it I loves it!! I wish I could go in tonight!!!!

;O)

Has it already been a month? Wow, where did that time go? Hoping your first day back goes well ... and I'm sure you'll be rushing back home as soon as possible for some family time. All the best, Uncle Boom! :)

Cheers lass! I know, it went in the blink of an eye.

I'm not ready!! Waaah waaaaahh!

Just keep on steeming baby, I see early retirement in your future ;)

I am chuckling at that. Oh if only! Save me Steem!! Save me! :OD

For our winter business my hubby spends most of his days out in the vineyards, sometimes tromping through knee high snow (I do it too, just not consistently--and only one year did I ever brave the worst of the weather). We make good money from it, but it's WORK and I can tell you he thinks steem-and some other good crypto investments- may be his ticket out. It ain't out of the realm of possibility ;)

Incidentally, he starts work tomorrow. At least it's not snowing yet :)

All hail the lack of snow for as long as possible then!

I like to think that too. It would be amazing is set all stumbled across this life changing thing wouldn't it. Not having to do two work would be magic

Good luck for your first day back - sigh I would also rather prefer not working but some thing we just have to do - I still have a dream that one day I will just steem

Let's hold onto that dream, we gotta have something

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55