The Four Dutch Beers Of The Apocalypse!

in #life5 years ago

1570883677-picsay.jpg

It's Saturday and not just any Saturday, oh no sirree bob!

No! It's End Times Saturday!! How the heck do I know this? It's quite simple my friends... The Four Dutch Beers of the APOCALYPSE came crashing through my door the other day!!

It is truly the beginning of the end.

The first sign was an infernal knock knock knocking at my door. I looked up in alarm because the knocking seemed to be coming from outside rather than in?!

I went to the front door and LO! There was a rider bearing the Four Dutch Beers Of the Apocalypse!

disclaimer - one of them is Belgian! Hows that for inclusivity!

I could do nothing but accept the harbinger of the end times and took the beers into my home where almost magically they were cut out of their wrapper and freed into the light.

Look at these beauties!

1570883677-picsay_20191012135915356.jpg

All thanks to @verhp11!!

If you are looking for someone to blame for the beginning of the end of everything then look no further than this man!

As these beers were a fine gift it would be churlish of me to judge them.

Lets go!

20191012_140538.jpg

The first is the delightful Affligem. I must say, it looks like a wee cracker. I want to put it in my sock and keep it under my bed!

Lets taste it!

That was excellent. Truly the Apocalypse can come, I am ready!! Fruity dark and malty with a lovely bitter candy toffee almost at the end up. I am sold on DESTRUCTION!!!

Did you like my daughters guitar?

Onwards!

20191012_145532.jpg

Karakter!! Karakter! Who doesn't love a bit of karakter! I have been described as being one myself at times. Funnily enough, usually by drunk Glasgow folk wanting a fight! I usually just smile and laugh then punch them in the NECK.

The simplest solutions are often the most effective.

Anyway, Karacter. Apparently this beer, which I had to google was the results of a contest to see which out of two brews the Brewery should keep. This one won. But will it win with me?

Hot donk, that is lovely. Not as dense as the last beer but a darkish almost brown sugar sweet taste. The combination of malt and hops gives a fruity tang and lightness to it which makes it a bright cheery afternoon in the sun beer.

Oh my. Lovely. Almost as good as the first.

20191012_145647.jpg

Now up, the Arcener Tripel. Look at it go. The word blonde is on the bottle and it looks as if it might be in reference to the beer and not a saucy wench. Either one would have been fine with me :O)

It is probably a little unfortunate that it is named Arcener, you wouldn't catch a Scotsman shouting that out in a bar. But, I digress!

A fine blonde. Perfect for the Summer day that this Apocalyptic Autumn day has turned out to be! I like it. I could probably drink far more than were healthy for me!

Which brings us to...

The Daddy.

The Dragon..

If these were the four beers of the Apocalypse then this would surely be the one with the Horse called Binky!

20191012_145735.jpg

I saved it till last because I had that feeling... You know, the one you get when you smear malpe syrup on your Jeffrey and wave it about seductively at the Good Lady's bacon. Oh, don't pretend you have no idea!!

Oh my word. This is a fabulous dark joy. When you look at it, it literally looks like a cup of mushed up raisins. It is more than that obviously. It brings forth flavours of roasted toffee and thick black syrup. The alcohol strength although not readily apparent gives it a nice warming tingle.

I approve and what's more, I have two of these!! Hurrah!

Four fabulous beers. If I had to I would say that the Grand Prestige was the best for me, closely followed by Affligem.

That was magic and once again I have to thank @verhp11. A proper fine afternoon and the day is yet young. I am off to get my second bottle of Grand Prestige cracked open!

20191012_144135.jpg

Cheers!

Sort:  

!BEER

Posted using Partiko Android

Hurrah for beer!

Awesome review @meesterboom , only a review you can do I suppose :) I did set my bet on the Grand Prestige , that's why there were two ;)

Cheers !!!!

Cheers mate! I was quite glad there were two, it was a particularly fine one, I loved them all but the Affligem was really special as well! It was a very happy tasting!

yeah that's one great beer too !!

Now I have to face the day after... Lol

hahaha, you're head is telling you "he man you had a beer" :P

With a stock of beers that good I would also say let the apocalypse show it's face 'round here!

Yeah, it will be a well smacked face is it shows up!! :0D

You had them all in 1 session? respect dude! And @verph11 knows whats up.....some Limburgs Hertog Jan should also be the 'normal' lager to go on, but the karakter one really rocks!

I did indeed, even the second Grand Prestige!! A fine selection of beers actually. I enjoyed the variety, it was like a little journey!!

What's this, did you go abroad to taste these beers, I see sunshine?!

We have been served up a treat today, a quadruple tasting. Excellent work @verhp11, and cheers Boomy!

It was cold but also as sunny as fuck here today. Bizarre it was. But a fine excuse to get out there and drink dem beers!! :0D

I'm glad. A bit of sunshine (and 5 quality beers) can do wonders for the soul :)

It can, I was given peace for the whole day. Fantastic!

Congratulations @meesterboom! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 48000 replies. Your next target is to reach 48500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks for this awesome short tour of THE END...

Very entertaining and amusing. Your daughter has a fine guitar.

I could tell by looking precisely which beer would win out in the final judgement... I of course prefer dark beers, especially those that I can chew.

One of the most enjoyable aspects was watching you become more ebullient as the story progressed... ;)

I pray you are ready for the REAL apocalypse, my friend? :D

Cheers!
😄😇😄

@creatr

Chewy!! It's exactly what I love in a beer, the defining quality.

I did indeed become more ebullient as the tasting went on. Hehe.

I think I am ready for it now!

Feel thirsty for some reason... :P

@tipu curate 3

Hehe, Its the afternoon for a thirst quenching! :OD

I'm thirsty too

Drink and be merry!



Hey @meesterboom, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Did you feel like the apocalypse had hit afterwards? XD

I think I do!! I definitely think I do, sigh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48