Screamer

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1688176082.jpg

The little boom was teething again, the screaming and yelping like a demented cross between a seal and a chicken was driving me nuts. Also robbing me of precious handsome man sleep.

As usual, on a Monday I went to meet my mate Daz at the local park. He has a daughter the same age as the little boom. She is a docile creature and mostly sits there watching the world with her old eyes. Sometimes, I think she is mocking me.

kgzhzjx_201807.jpg

Often, the two kids are strapped to our respective fronts and sleep whilst me and Daz chew the fat. The little boom was not for sleeping today though.

In fact all he wanted to do was scream. And scream. And scream.

It made ordering my coffee a little difficult.

Skinny latte with an extra shot please?

What?

Bellowed the man behind the counter over the red-faced screaming emanating from my shouty front-baby.

Angry+at+life+man.gif

Skinny latte, extra shot!

Who?!

Shouted the serving manjano, he seemed to be annoyed at the noise. Ha, try strapping it to your front and going for a walk, you fanny.

I mimed shitting into a cup and he quickly got the idea that I wanted some of his finest coffee.

Eventually, coffee in hand, I sat down next to Daz.

He teething?

He yelled over the screeching noise of a thousand sheep being slaughtered with blunt saws.

Sheep+saw.gif
I made this! It's awesome!!

Aye.

I replied tersely.

We tried to have a conversation but it was hopeless. I took the little boom out of the sling and let him go for a walk about to see if that would take his mind of his painful mouth.

He stopped screaming for a moment. My ears rang with the silence of it all. I watched as he walked his cowboy swagger over to a couple of people in suits who looked like they were having a meeting. On arrival at their table, he started screaming at them.

Apologetically, I picked him up and took him back to our table. Eventually, we gave it up as a lost cause. It was impossible to do anything with the grumbling from the little man.

I took him home.

kgzhzjx_201807_20181022150923163.jpg

The rest of the day was the same, small moments of quiet punctured by vast amounts of screaming.

After bedtime for both of the kids, I sat in the lounge, staring into space.

The good lady came in the room. She saw me sitting there, her empathetic, touchy-feely vampire side saw an opportunity to feed and she approached, perching on the edge of the armchair.

Hey Daddy-Bear, rough day eh.

Hrmmm.

I grunted, like a Russian eating potato salad.

kgzhzjx_201807_20181022152130316.jpg

I can see it has affected you, all that screaming?

She said quietly and gently as if I were a horse panicking because it had a badger stuck up its arse.

Didn't affect me. I'm made of steel.

I said with little of my normal conviction.

Hey you, come on. Open up. It's good to share. Tell me how you are feeling?

I avoided her gaze and made a soft hoomphing noise.

Oh don't be like that Daddy. I can see you are upset. Tell me, what are you thinking right this moment?

I stretched an arm out and cuddled the good lady close. She gave me a big squeezy hug and looked in my eyes earnestly.

I looked at her with an agonised face and whispered.

All that screaming, all day long...

Go on Daddy, open up, tell me what you are feeling?

I met her eyes, my voice a low husky thing.

All that screaming... You know, I don't think I would have been a very good torturer...

Sort:  

Did you get that free dress they were giving out with the skinny latte? 😂. Ya big jessie!

You can't get one if you ain't wearing a dress!!

My life flashed before my eyes with disturbing images . The worst by far q was the bodycon dress 😂

It's that one that you can't tell if it's blue or black :0)

I say, the sheep GIF was outstanding! Simply outstanding! A return to form, as it were!

How would you feel if in the far future, The Mountain ended up with Daz's daughter? Wouldn't that be something? The baby pictures of them would be a picture of the two of you with the potential bride and groom strapped to your chests haha!

I've been rendered almost deaf by way of a child's incessant shouting over the weekend, so I know how you feel, BOOM microphone!

Go on Daddy, open up, tell me what you are feeling?

Wasn't that the perfect time to open up about your deuce?

We have joked about that. It would be a strange thing indeed. The stealing to the cysts would be optional if course.

I don't think I have long left in the sling, he weighs a ton and is getting really big. Keeps punching me in the eye.

It's nice to make a little little gif now and then!!!

Aye! The ginger's indeed a brawler! Wait til he can jump while running. Gird your loins, I say! Gird. Your. Loins.

I fear I will have to. I. Fear. I. Will. Have. To.

On the plus side, he's ensuring there are no unintentional follow-ups! Nature's best contraceptive!

O it sucks when you know your child is hurting. Shame I cannot even remember that, but it sounds like he is taking this teething thing very badly. Is there not something you can give him..... or maybe a few shots of brandy or something for you??

I think I might turn to the brandy! Lol. Yeah, he is not a good sleeper by any stretch and I think it's tiredness as well as teeth. Gaarr

Is boomlet toddling? Excuse me while I curl up and die of cuteness overdose in the corner.

Does he have an amber necklace? They're supposed to help, though I didn't know about them til we were well past that stage. We had Brauer's Teething Relief (it was some homeopathic thing but it did the job), Bonjela and frozen teething rings XD

I hope it's the big teeth so it will all be over soon!

He is toddling!! It's the cutest thing ever. He didn't crawl so we thought he had ages to go before walking but he just kept trying to stand until one day he got it. Now he walks and talks on his bum every five minutes. In a cute way.

We keep meaning to get him one. Will have to look, I have heard they help as well. The homeopathic powders and bonjela are in full force. I think it is some big teeth hence the madness

There is no comment here relating about how much I'm squeeing right now because I'm catatonic from the cuteness overdose. Why must they be so cute.

It is cuteness overload! Apart from the night screaming of course :0)

I liked the little animation you did with the blunt saw killing all the sheep with one go leaving a trail of blood. The screaming of little boom would have gotten you insane but fortunately, the good lady was there to comfort you. Hahahaha! Upvoted!

I do like crafting the odd sort little summation l animation, it reminds me of the good old days when I had time!

hahaha! freakin hilarious meesterboom and that's with probably nothing made up about this day! I have no idea how you do such funny artwork too, I mean most of us struggle just to get a written post out and you slay before the post even starts with a killer cover image. lol.

Plus the slaughtering of the sheep image was brilliant!

Ah, my sheep gif! I made it all by myself. I do take quite a pride in my artwork but I don't usually say how much. It takes a bloody while too! So thank you for appreciating!! :0)

my pleasure, you earned it. I can imagine that many times you can whip out a good story in 30 minutes and spend hours working on the gifs and that cover drawing or image, I'm not sure what you call the main one.

Eh. The joy of the pain and suffering you cause is more than worth the pain of the screams you must bear.

Trust me, I know. I've tested it - empirically. ;)

But that potato, not potato! Why wasn't that and the sheep gif the main part of the post? Speaking of which, sorry about the delay on the comment. I've been watching the sheep gif over and over again.

She saw me sitting there, her empathetic, touchy-feely vampire side saw an opportunity to feed and she approached, perching on the edge of the armchair.

Hmm. That's the most ... interesting description I've heard for people like this. Though I suppose it is rather fitting.

I watched the sheep gif myself for a bit! Hehe.

If yes, you have to watch out for those leech-like emotion feeders!!

Looks like little boom gave big boom a run for his money and you are shattered. have you never heard of teething powder. It numbs the gums and they don't cry. Another is to get a baby sitter on your Monday that can look after 2 babies and can free you two up for a few hours.

He seems to be immune to it. It worked at first. He is getting everything but in the days before one pops out he goes bananas!

Hopefully by next Monday he will have a full rack of teeth lol.

I hope that every morning!!

Torturers can use gags, parents only get pacifiers.

It truly is not fair!!!

It is definitely uneven in the weighting. I wish he would take a pair but he is mad independent!!

That gif! The vegan side of me is sad but the "hey, that's pretty cool" side of me thinks it's quite good. I'm conflicted.

Cartoon sheep! They don't count on the vegan-o-meter!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59