Is love supposed to hurt?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

image...or is that only lust?

Should we always love only the compatible,the same,the boring? Or shall we go for the inconvenient,the different,the exciting?

HOW COMFORTABLE DO WE REALLY WANNA BE IN LOVE and WHY?

image

2,5 years I met a man who changed my life. I fell in love with him passionately and I loved him like I never loved anyone in my life. Even the thought of losing him makes my heart hurt and my breathing stops. I know that sadness would just go eventually away,but I really feel I would literally die.

image

But no...everything is going to be alright.
LOVE IS NOT SUPPOSED TO HURT.
But still,when it does,it doesn't mean it's not love. It's just a more fragile love.

image
Is it better to just end up alone?

My friend @sebi99p is a very wise man. He is a true philosopher -I should totally make a post with quotes of his about life,love and relationships. Besides that,he's an amazing friend -but I'll tell you more about that another time ;)

image

TIME IS UP-TALK IS CHEAP
LOVE LIKE THERE'S NOT TOMORROW.
MAKE LOVE LIKE IT'S YOUR LAST TIME.
'Cause sometimes guess what -there is no tomorrow and it is your last time.
And as I always say...
Whatever happens...
Don't forget to smile...

Yours

MeanMommy33

image

Some of the pictures got mysteriously rotated even though the originals were correct. I decided to leave them this way just to demonstrate how life fucks us over

Sort:  

true love always hurt.I feel it

not quite sure it's supposed to be this way though...

Yes life does that to us, again and again. And we tend to move on. A bit more experienced, a bit wiser. Not at first... At first it hurts, the memories hurts. But slowly we heal and move on. I wish for you all happiness that there can possibly be in life, and I know you will be happy again.
I'm really feeling for you here my friend, sadness, a bit anger and frustration. But I love the positive vibes in the end, and that is how I see you. You will be fine soon. Take your time <3

Thank you sweetie - you put it amazingly and you give me a lot of courage! <3 :*

I'm not sure I can say anything as perfect as what @kerlund74 has said!! I second every word of this and add in a big long heartfelt hug. I know the two of you loved each other so much and that you gave this your all which is all you can do. xoxo

We still do...but then again...oh well... :/

Ugh, that totally sucks, sweet lady. It sounds like you have a great attitude about it though. I hope your heart heals quickly, and only positive things come from this experience. Bright blessings to you.

I actually did feel the ghost hug, you're amazing !!!!! :D <3

YAY! Years of practice (in other words, I'm old - LOL!). Keeping you in my thoughts, dear lady. 💜

Love is a supremely complex thing... poets, singers, writers and people in general have been trying to "understand" it for thousands of years, but we still don't.

And maybe that's part of the point-- we are not supposed to understand love, we are just here to experience it.

Sure, I suppose love can hurt, but I will leave the space black to decide whether it is supposed to, or not.

Mange tak for det, my favorite Dane <3
I know right? We can't and we never will - I truly believe so!
And yes, probably because we shouldn't ;)

Damn....just , gonna nominate this for my good curator friend.....the end sentence is absolute perfection in the imperfection
tips hat, this is what keeps me around steemit, posts like this

I miss the hell out of "the one", Mario for this raging inferno of a time of my life will be the one that crosses my mind on my death bed because fucking right about nothing being guaranteed
.........<3

@battleaxe ... oh my God your comments... both... I just read them - too painful to do it sooner... You're amazing... I wish I'll meet you in person one day... Thank you, for everything... I consider this support and it's really helpful, I'm telling you :* :* :*

Thanks for the shoutout, but I wouldn't consider myself a philosopher... Sure, I like talking about these kinds of concepts, but I don't consider myself a pioneer :)

Though I'm no expert, I think love is supposed to hurt, but up to a point, the involved parties decide what that point is...

Yeah...I think we just reached ours then...

Was saddened by the break-up, then positive by your vibes, then had to laugh because of your last 'how life fucks us over' comment :-) You will be fine!

haha !!! :D :P When I re-read it myself after I posted it I laughed too :P I was like, what the crap, what was happening in my brain when finishing up this post ahahaha!!! But it was very honest so I left it ;))) :D You think? Let's hope so! :*

great post. a universal theme and a very illustrative selection of abstracted images representing different aspects of what love is and how it feels.

there are many different types of love and a lot of how we experience it has to do with our genetic type. (how our central nervous system is built). how it's been conditioned (alot to do with our parents and our early years) and how we first experienced love outside of our immediate family (perhaps what we might experience as sexual awakenings. How our heart is first broken may dictate how we experience love over again for the rest of our lives. some love may be more or less passionate. some may be more cerebral. Love is admiration combined with empathy expressed in physical and emotional forms.

my advice for everyone is to love everyone you care about a bit more equally. we are taught to adopt a hierarchy of love for our emotional output. If we analyse it, we find that we do indeed aportion our love to others on a sliding scale. when we attempt to love more equally our lives are enriched, our heart is lighter and our relationships generally improve.

I recommend reading Nancy Friday. She may be famous for her collections of other people's fantasies, which are both enlightening and reassuring in their richness, extremity and diversity, but her book on Jealousy & Envy is really worth a read.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jealousy-Envy-Nancy-Friday-ebook/dp/B00ICNKGXI

My dearest fellow lefty...
Sorry it took me so long to respond... This comment deserved a proper answer and I wanted to have my time... Currently in the middle of moving and everything is a mess as you can imagine...

This post might have seemed general but to the contrary it is actually very specific, illustrating a recent situation I got stuck in :/
From my experience I can say one thing: As many times as we experience heartbreaks, in the end we do feel the same pain and trying to find our way out of sadness... But of course, we always learn that's for sure...!

How can I love more equally? When I'm a giver and the other person is a taker, I don't think there's much space for equality :( But yes, it would be good if it could be done somehow I guess...

Hmmm I just checked the link of the book and I'm not sure I wanna read more about it since I'm the jealous type hahahahaha !!!! Seriously now, it seems like it might help so I'll probably order it soon ;)
Thank you !!!
For that, and everything !!! Always supportive !!! Hugs !!! :)

yeah that's a tricky one. if someone is a taker, it's difficult to square the circle. although I have some lifelong relationships where I am the giver (cancerian) and they are the taker and I've just accepted that's how it is. They must be worth so I'm getting something :@? you should read the book on Jealousy by Nancy, (ESPECIALLY if you are a jealous type. you might suddenly just go, oh ok and let go of it.) for me jealousy is the most insidious and often massive waste of time, emotion. then there's jealousy and envy. two different fish ! enjoy the book. It was a charity shop random gift for me :) and a real eye opener on a few people very close to me.

The way you put I should definitely read it then !!!! :D

Ah, I know how you feel! I wrote a similar post a couple of days back (check it out!). Love can hurt. But because our brain chooses to grief rather than appreciate. Don't know why but it sucks balls.

I need to check this post out...sorry it took me that long :(
And yes it fucking does :(((

Always each time🤧

True love does hurt, but not in the toxic way. :)

I know right? That's the worst - and talking about myself too, I tend to love in a toxic way and that's bad for both... :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58884.60
ETH 2504.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45