Power of Positivity + On The Plus Side #12! - The Positives of a "Mid-life Crisis"

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to On the Plus Side #12!


Todays On the Plus Side is again a double up with the Power of Positivity Contest that is run by @karenmckersie. This is an excellent weekly competition. If you want to get involved in this excellent competition check out the tag #popcontest.


Should I buy that sports car and find a young blonde lady to spend time with?


Many people have the perception that a mid-life crisis is a terrible thing to experience. And they're partly right. The lead up to a mid-life crisis can be a very difficult and sometimes traumatic time. However what results following the crisis is often positive, and not at all what the stereotype would have us believe.

I'd apologise for this image but I don't want to.

The stereotype that I am talking about is the one where a man, experiencing a mid-life crisis, attempts to reclaim his youth by buying a sports car and tries vainly to pick up young ladies. It would be a lie to say that this doesn't happen from time to time, however what really happens to many people is very different from this.

In my opinion (and I should stress that this is my opinion), a mid-life crisis is not at all like this. In fact, I don't even really believe that the mid-life crisis is real. From what I have read and have personally experienced, some form of crisis appears to occur at around the age of 30 to 50 years old. However I don't think this is a mid-life crisis. I think this is more of a period of self evaluation, that is often triggered by a traumatic or significant event

A mid-life crisis to me is a time where you are reflecting on your life, and realising that you want more from it. It's even possible that a crisis like this can occur at any stage of your life. But from what I understand, it generally arrives when you feel unsatisfied or unfulfilled or you are placed in a position to seriously evaluate your mortality. I've experienced this twice throughout my life and on both occasions the event resulted in some serious changes in my life.


Where did the idea of a mid-life crisis come from?


The concept of the midlife crisis originated in the early 1960s. Elliott Jaques (a psychologist) was studying famous artists such as Mozart, Raphael and Gaugin and discovered a common trait. When the artists reached their mid-thirties, their creative output suffered. Some of them became depressed and a few even committed suicide. But it didn't end there, he also observed a very similar pattern among his own clients. The theory of a mid-life crisis was well accepted right up until the late 1970s.

The National Institute of Ageing found that only one third of Americans over age of 50 claimed to have experienced a mid-life crisis. Half of these people attributed their crises to "inner turmoil and angst associated with getting older," while the remainder of participants claimed that the crisis was attributed to a traumatic event outside their control, such as a divorce or death of a family member.

Studies have shown however, that happiness declines throughout middle age. As we enter our 30s to 50s, our happiness appears to decline. This doesn't mean that we're hating our lives during this time, however our overall happiness dips and doesn't return until we find a good level of satisfaction with our lives. This seems to be a bit of a generalisation to me but, from my experience, there seems to be some truth to it.

My thoughts, are that as we age and gain life experience, certain events can cause us to self evaluate and "take stock" of our lives. I have had two occasions where this happened in my life. And I'll discuss these events below.


Crisis No. 1


My first crisis came when I realised that my work was dulling my mind and that I hadn't achieved anything of substance in my life. At the time I was earning a living working as a labourer in vineyards and doing small gardening and landscaping jobs for clients that I found through word of mouth. My work was mundane, meaningless, and not at all mentally stimulating. I didn't have a career, and the days were dragging on endlessly.

My Steemit career is now complete - I have a Shania quote in my post.

I felt frustrated, trapped and my confidence was at an all time low. The deep feeling of dissatisfaction caused me to end my employment, complete a science degree at university, and completely change my career. This was a drastic move, but it resulted in many positive changes in my life. All of a sudden, I was challenging myself intellectually, I had surrounded myself with intelligent and motivating people, I met my amazing wife, and my degree led to a challenging and exciting career. I've started writing posts about the beginning of my career as an environmental scientist recently, feel free to take a look at these.


Crisis No. 2


My second crisis was even more extreme and arrived when I was in my mid-30's. After working in the mining industry for close to 10 years I had become jaded, and extremely dissatisfied with how my work was valued. No matter how hard I worked, I hadn't ever received thanks for my efforts. And my field of work was looked upon with an incredibly negative point of view. All environmental staff on mine sites were viewed as a waste of money, despite the fact that I had kept the Government regulators off the mining companies backs for many years.

At the same time, I was going through a very challenging time in my personal life. My best friend had recently passed away (I wrote about this experience in this post), and my grandfather and favourite aunt also passed away at around the same time. Going to three funerals in one year was not an easy thing to do. Speaking at my best friends funeral was also one of the hardest things I have ever had to do. And quite heart breaking. And of course, going to three funerals gives you a lot of motivation to evaluate your own life and take stock of everything you have and what you need to do to become truly happy and satisfied again.

As a result of this self evaluation, I realised just how meaningless my career had become and frustrated with the lifestyle I was living. And so I did what any rational person would do in this situation (did I say rational?). I bought a gym. This was quite simply the most dramatic decision I have ever made. And it almost broke me financially. The life lessons that I gained from the experience however were amazing. This crisis led to the most rewarding experience of my life, and even though the financial hardship has been a real struggle, the emotional and intellectual reward has been well worth it. I've spoken about this experience in couple of posts already though, so I won't go into more detail here.


A mid-life crisis - even though it probably isn't a mid-life crisis - is healthy


So, while the mid-life crisis probably isn't a real thing, we can expect that from the age of around 30 to 50, we'll be motivated in one form or another to "take stock" of our lives and make whatever changes we need to make to bring about a higher level of satisfaction and happiness. This makes sense to me. And I think it is a very healthy thing to do.

It is very important to self evaluate every once in a while to make sure that you are satisfied with your life and not just "existing". Happiness comes when you are doing things that bring you satisfaction. This may come in the form of hobbies, your work, or simply being able to spend valuable time with your loved ones.

source

And while it is often a sad or challenging event that leads to a period of self evaluation, the self evaluation is an opportunity to make some positive changes in your life. And many people that go through this do make extremely positive changes. My second crisis, for example, led me to step out of my comfort zone and into business ownership. That forced me to develop as a person well beyond what I thought I was capable of, and it actually brought my wife and I closer together since I was now in a position where I had to learn and develop my ability to show empathy to the clients that I now work with on a daily basis. And I was now capable of more effectively expressing empathy in my personal relationships (my wife used to call me a robot to give you some context).


Have you experienced something similar? I'd love to read your stories in the comments

All SBD from this series will be donated to The Smith Family who support underprivileged children in their education. So upvote and resteem away!

Funds Raised for The Smith Family to Date!

MonthAmount (SBD)Amount (USD)Target (USD)
December12.80686.57500

All funds are stored in my savings wallet until our donation target is reached. I've increased the donation target to $500 as of Jan 2 2018 in order to allow for a reasonable donation amount after transaction fees.
The recent decline in SBD value has caused a significant drop in value of my savings.

I’ve created the tag #plusside so if you want to read all positive and fun stories I write for this series simply check this tag. And don't forget, all SBD from these posts is donated to a fantastic Australian charity - The Smith Family - so don't be shy with your up votes! Every bit helps!


Sources and useful reading:
Is the mid-life crisis even real?
The mid-life crisis doesn't exist
Mayfly Mid-Life Crisis Image
Tony Robbins Quote



Sort:  

Always love reading your words, I am going through this myself as you well know. The new year is a good time to take stock of things.

It sure is. And I love reading your comments. :)

Now go write another post!

Thanks for sharing @mazzle in my #popcontest ! I do a lot of self evaluating and taking stock of my life lately ! looking back and looking forward as to what I still want to achieve to retire early ! Not sure though if its a mid life crises or not !? lol! Although its hard some days , I just try to stay positive and believe all things happen for a reason , and hope for the best !!! haha ! Great post , it made me think !! upped and resteemed , good luck !😀✌👍💕

Thanks Karen! I also try to self evaluate on a regular basis these days. It helps keep me focused and certain that my goals are the right ones. :)

Your welcome ! dont forget next time to use #popcontest as your first tag , thanks !! 💕✌👍😀

Oh oops! Do I need to change it?

You cant change the first tag because its the main tag . but i almost didnt check out your post because a lot of people use the #popcontest to post stuff and dont put #popcontest as their first tag , so I know its not an entry .

And so useing #popcontest as the first tag makes your post easy to tell that its an actual entry ! 👌👍💕😀

Glad you noticed it is an entry then :)

I was fascinated from your article and eagerly read it from top to bottom!

The idea to give the term "mid life crisis" a positive connotation is indeed a really good one! People need difficulties for their development. I think, it actually is a matter of "how" difficult it needs to be. There is plenty of room on the on the branch on which the bird sits. Too much of heaviness and the branch is going to brake, not enough of it and will only wobble a little bit and one just moves on.

I found it interesting to look up the dictionary for the definition of "crisis" and found out that there are significant differences between the German and the English wiki-entry. In the German one it says:

The crisis (κρίσιςkrísis: originally' opinion',' judgement',' decision', later more in the sense of' escalation') refers to a problematic decision situation connected with a turning point. In the various scientific disciplines,"crisis" is addressed in very different ways: in medicine and psychology, in economics and sociology (sociology as crisis science) as well as in ecology and systems theory.

English:

A crisis (from the Greek κρίσις - krisis, plural: "crises"; adjectival form: "critical") is any event that is going (or is expected) to lead to an unstable and dangerous situation affecting an individual, group, community, or whole society. Crises are deemed to be negative changes in the security, economic, political, societal, or environmental affairs, especially when they occur abruptly, with little or no warning. More loosely, it is a term meaning "a testing time" or an "emergency event"

Also a crisis is a very tough time while being in the middle of it and only reflected on positively in the retrospect. Having a crisis and finding pleasure in it wouldn't be one, right? :-))

Not to condemn to feel desperate in the eye of the hurricane is not easy though, cause people who witness a person within a crisis are eager to talk this person into being "okay" and want them to behave happy and content again. That pushes people even deeper into their crisis because they do not feel accepted while they struggle. But even this can be looked at in a positive way: once one survived this form of feeling isolated and not understood may strengthen him or her even further. Of course it also goes the other way.

During my own crisis I pictured a medicine man or a shaman who would understand what I was going through. Mostly I thought of people (close ones and others) as stupid and only talking superficial nonsense. Thankfully I do not think that any longer:)

Your two given stories are very encouraging for others and I am happy that you published them!

LOL, your picture pick is hilarious!!!

Thanks Erika. The difference between the two definitions is interesting. I think the German definition fits this article much better.

And the bird on a branch metaphor is perfect for the scale of the crisis that aids development as well. :)

I don’t think people look at how beneficial it can be to step out of your comfort zone. We become comfortable and complacent all too easily.

A crisis pretty much forces a person out of their comfort zone. It’s kind of like forced self improvement. Although sometimes people don’t take the chance to improve themselves.

I can tell that you don’t think negatively of others anymore. You are way too positive a person for that type of view point. :)

You are more than welcome. I do enjoy talking to you.

Yes, the comfort zone also is a very good picture. I am catching myself making it too comfortable in it :)

To please oneself if it is a form of vanity facilitated by convenience: That makes me think of Herod. Or what was the Roman decadent emperor's name again?
If you exaggerate with the beautiful pleasant things, you end up in a lazy sluggishness. And if you exaggerate with asceticism, you become a bitter envy that denies all the others their amenities.

Cheers to all crisis which lay behind us and cheers to the ones which are still ahead. They will get smaller and maybe fade out to just hourly or minutely ones and we'll say to them: "Oh, even you shall pass." :)

Minutely crises, I think we'd all go insane. :)

He bought a gym...just like that...haha woohooo!!

I thinm a midlife crisis a bit of an old thing. The first moment when someone has time and opportunity to really reflect on their lives to see if they are okay with what is actually happening.

I think back in the days this was mid 40. After school working babies teenagers dad is like, hmmmm I forfilled all of my tasks and now what???

Recently these questions seem to pop earlier because earlier we have the time to reflect if we are acutally happy with what we are doing with our lives.

I agree, we seem to be thinking about our happiness a lot more these days rather than accepting that we'll be in the one job for 30 years and that's all there is.

Yes, I would not recommend just getting up and buying a gym with no pre-thought. :P

That was a strange by fun decision to make.

And lifechanging I suppose! Any regrets of your choice or you just hit the new path?

And yes that is exactly what I mean, the fact what we have choice makes us question all our decisions. If you go to a restaurant aith 3 dishes on it, its easier to decide then if there are 300 choices.

No real regrets. It gets frustrating not having any money to spend since everything I make goes back into the business. This is partly why I’m on Steemit.

I miss the security of stable employment but treasure my mental health more than that.

And the experience of buying a business has been eye opening to say the least. I’m now a lot more conscious of how many opportunities there are out there. So that’s invaluable.

I just looked at a friend's profile on Facebook who I went to school with over 40 years ago. He looks like he's in his Mid Sixties and he can't be much over 50. Another friend from the same year at school looks pretty much the same as he did as a kid, maybe just an older version in his mid thirties or forties. It's not just about the physical age, it's something else, some people just age, maybe they show the stresses on their face or something. It strikes me it might be down to optimism, because that was the difference between both of their personalities, and the happy sunny one is by far younger looking. Maybe optimism has an effect on your physical age as well.

Stress definitely ages a person. If you know how to manage stress, or don’t put yourself in a situation where you experience much of it, then you certainly won’t age as quickly.

You’ll also age faster if you don’t look after your health properly, and you also don’t handle stress well if your health is poor.

And then there’s people with children. The added stress of having a family ages people faster as well. Perhaps due to sleep deprivation and less time to look after your health.

All of these things age people faster but the common connection is how well you look after your health.

I'm not sure if I've had my mid-life crisis yet. Although I've had plenty of change to qualify for it.
Here's a tip for men getting close to there mid-life crisis.
First, you get the money then you get the power, then you get the woman ;-)

STEEM on peeps!

Very funny. :P

I’m impressed that you managed to fit a scar face quote into an article like this.

Man, you absolutely killed it in this post!

I agree that the label "mid-life crisis" is a misnomer. As you allude to, I think it' simply the point where one realizes that they are not content with what is and long for what could be.

We strive for success in our 20's, many of us achieve it in our 30's, and we enjoy that run into our 40's. And then we find that we become bored with that success, with those rewards, and our heart yearns for 'more.'

I've often said it is the wanting that brings the most pleasure, not the having. It's the thrill of the kill; the chase, that inspires and fulfills us. How can one be fulfilled long-term by having what we already do?

Especially for men, we crave the conquest. And when we've conquered, we look beyond for what else might be had...

  • And when Alexander saw the breadth of his domain he wept, for there were no more worlds to conquer. - Plutarch

You're quite right that people need goals in order to feel excited with life. If you have nothing to work towards then what keeps you going?

It might also be a distraction thing, having goals might just give us enough distraction to ignore what truly makes us happy? I've never really thought of that before.

That quote from Plutarch is fantastic. I don't know why I've never come across that before. It fits the topic perfectly.

Thanks, @mazzle. You are so right - having goals might just give us enough distraction to ignore what truly makes us happy...

great post and great commitment to the smiths family!

Congratulations on winning the P.O.P contest #22!

Awesome! I had no idea! Thanks :)


Congratulations! You were nominated for a TROPHY TOKEN award HERE Please comment your Bitshares address to receive your reward! You can also contact us on Discord @Trophy-Token. Thank you for being a great Steemian!
trophy4.png

Thanks mate! I’ll create a bitshares account when I get home soon. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69