Random Thoughts

in #life6 years ago

I mostly slept this whole week. The messages I read from friends and strangers here in Steemit made me think that I am worth something in this world.

I cannot say thank you enough to everyone that made me feel love and worthy.

It was hard when I couldn't love myself and think that I was worthy to live. When I looked at the mirror all I could see was the failure.

I wanted to hit reset because I hated how my life is right now. I had felt so alone and unwanted. Nothing I did in my life seemed to be going well.

To me it was as if ending it was the only option. I know how it will affect my family. I know how some would say it was waste of a life that could have continued but at that point I felt at my lowest.

One of the bad things about being a workaholic was how I identified myself and my success to how well I was doing in work.

Sure I have hobbies like reading and playing video games but these were escapist moments for me. Without my career I could not really identify myself.

And how I have fallen from someone that was well respected to someone that got disenfranchised with the belief that I could make a difference.

It came to a point that I doubted myself and thought would thinks have turned better if I had just compromised my morals and let management do what they wanted. Would things have been better if I just said yes instead of fighting for what I believed was right.

I have been called as naive and a dreamer if I believe that things would go to what is morally right. Life as it seems values power above all and if you get into the shitlist of someone then you are powerless to do anything.

People will turn a blind eye and tell you to let it go. To swallow your pride.

kavwgoo4na.png

Source

The phrase "History is written by the victors" comes to mind when I look at the narrative called my life. Some may say I am playing the victim here that it is not the end of the world when I lost my career.

They have won and broken me. I lay shattered and helpless.

That I could stand again after time and time fallen hard in the past. Yet at this moment I don't feel like standing up again. I am wallowing in self pity and depression over something that had control.

One friend said if only I had lowered standards. If only I did not care enough. If only...

Maybe I should have read the writing on the wall that I am not fit for this industry. Yet I don't know what else to do.

I feel that I can't just go and change my path at this point.

My sisters say it is not to late to change and find something else I want to do with my life. Yet all of my friends are happily settled into their careers and families and here I am stuck in a rut.

I am rambling... I just want to let some of my thoughts get out of my head. I want the voice in darkness to stop talking.

So that is why I just sleep. I long for dreamless states that mimick death. When I awake to no dreams I dont feel refreshed but nor do I feel anything.

Yet sometimes I am disturbed by dreams of the what ifs.

Sometimes I dream I took a different path. A path where I did not fight so hard, Where I was broken in a different way because I compromised. Yet I saw that I was still now happy.

I still saw that in the end I still took my life. An endless world of it ending the same way.

If only I did not exist.

Sort:  

You aren't your job. Lowering standards? Not possible, you're not made that way. Oddly my mom brought up to me last week how I still need to grow up and that the reason I have had issues at past jobs is because I am too difficult to get along with. I sort of shrugged took a deep breath, and said 'Oh thank's for the insight, as if I didn't already feel like I loser you choose this point in my life to talk to me this way? I am not my brother and I never will be, so sorry I am such a disappoinment.' Then hung up. I turn 50 in 2 weeks. You can completely re-invent yourself if you wanted to.

You're allowed to feel the way you do. Just work on you and being nicer to yourself. Granted we all see a different side here compared to how you are at home. I don't know how others do it. I have to try like hell to get that voice to silence. Actually I work more on ignoring it. Playing video games has been the best for me, my brain is working and thinking of something else, there is no room for the voice to come in. It still sneaks in, I change something up.

I believe in you. You're definitely smart, you'll ge through this. And rambling posts are awesome to get those feelings out. I think I'm going to start calling mine The Brain Dump Sessions LOL.

You can, it's never too late for a wish, I've been able to materialize a lot and it's not difficult, you just have to know more about what we do not know, I keep growing and I share that if you can, there is something bigger than your problem, believe in it, the solution also has your

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Sending you lots of HUGS and LOVE! XOXO ❤️❤️❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @maverickinvictus.

You're probably going to find this dumb, but you've reminded me of a very old movie. You may know it. It's A Wonderful Life.

After spending most of his life in his hometown, never getting to fulfill his big dreams, but ending up getting married, having several kids and being tied to the failing Savings and Loan his father started, George, the lead, wishes he'd never been born. Then he's shown what would have happened had he never existed.

All of the people he affected in some small way was left for worse. His help, his generosity, his desires for bigger and better had somehow helped them. In this new reality he saw, none of that was true, because he wasn't there.

Obviously, no one's going to be able to show you that world. You'll have to see it for yourself. It sounds like to me there are people right now, near you, fighting for you.

I had a rough time when i turned 30. The life I had envisioned for myself to at least be set in motion had not materialized. And honestly, 22 years later, it's still not materialized. I don't know what I was expecting of myself or life at that point, but it sure wasn't happening.

It took a while to get through it. I had help. Then it kind of came back when I turned 40. Similar situation. Funny thing is, though, it didn't happen when I turned 50. The reason for that is, I've started to see some of the fruits of my labor, the ones that have little to do with my working identity.

Working is a means to an end. The career is there to provide. It's there to eventually buy time. The business I had allowed me to be with my sons during their football practices and other school activities. But the business did not last. And now, I've been searching for something to replace it for nearly six years now.

I don't think you should lower your standards one bit. I think you should hold onto them. Fight for them. I also think there are times where we retreat to fight another day. Maybe this was a time to hold your ground. I believe it was that important to you. In those instances, compromise will only take you so far, and it's filled with it's own special regret.

There is much more that defines you, anyway. We're not one dimensional beings. And there's got to be other things that you can do where you can see the value in your principles, and in your caring. And it's also true that we can't save everyone. We can't help everyone. Sometimes, we need to save ourselves, first.

Loading...

Congratulations @maverickinvictus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 comments. Your next target is to reach 11000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84