Embracing Uncertainty

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So I've decided to quit my laboratory job in hopes of generating a passable income from crypto related (and other) side projects. I put in my two weeks notice yesterday.
I have a strong belief that this commitment will pay off in the long term, but in the short term the uncertainty looms large. I have a little money saved and a couple side gigs lined up, but for the most part the stability of a bi-monthly check that I've been depending on for the past year is about to crumble. I hope to use this time to pursue passion projects and develop and research my interests in the world around me. I love writing, making art and jewlery, and learning and participating in new crypto projects. I'm also itching to travel the world a bit. I'm hoping that by following my passion where it leads I will generate a happy and healthy lifestyle for myself that exists outside corporate work culture and strict schedules that I have come to learn don't inspire me.
Anyways, this is the first morning that I'm brainstorming about what it is I can do to begin making money outside of a career job. Do you all have any ideas? I'm thinking art/costuming and trying to sell it either locally or on etsy. I've also registered for a class in archeological field technique (just for fun). I'm waitlisted so we'll see if that ends up coming through or not. If it does I don't know what I'll do with it but its a start on something at the least.

IMG_3037.jpg

In the meantime, check out the jewelry I make when I feel inspired. I made this piece and I own the photo. Please do not distribute without my permission.
Thanks, all, for reading. I would love to hear any of your thoughts or suggestions. I hope y'all are having a beautiful day :)
Mark

Sort:  

You could get a rock hammer and pick and go mineral hunting. Or, you could make solar powered fountains. Anyway, good luck!

I would absolutely loove doing that, good thinking! Does solar work very well with moving water?

Congratulations @mark.ember! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mark.ember! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mark.ember! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29