Falling Behind, Lessons Learned for being an AirBnb Host

in #life6 years ago

I fell behind schedule today performing a deep clean of my house for AirBnb. I've had some low reviews from one of my guests and received some comments about overall cleanliness of my house. So I spent a lot of time doing a deep clean of my house in preparation for future guests.

If you fall below a certain rating with AirBnb you will be delisted for a period of time.

I'm learning it's a good Idea to create a printed house guide for your guests to refer to instead of just one on your listing online. I've also realized I may not have the best service tone over the phone. I reflected on one of the calls I received from a guest and may have sounded like I was too busy, and come off as a bit of a jerk. I'm working on that to become better at being present for the guests and more aware of my tone.

Here are some views post cleaning. I will be attacking the trailer build more tomorrow and apologize for not coming through with a new update today.

How's it look?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

A+++ @makinstuff, the wife said you are braver than her. I know most people are good but........... Do you lock up your valuables???
We sometimes caretake cabins that our friends have up in the mountains.
They put all there canned goods and valuables in the basement of one cabin. Just in case.......
resteemed :)

I didn't leave anything of value in the house. Most of my furnishings I attained for free or little cost from helping friends move or craigslist deals etc.... If someone took that stove I just picked up from the habitat for humanity restore I'd be le' sad. lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Smart man!!! 👍
Have a good day @makinstuff...Greg 😎

Thank you good sir! You too

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks very comfortable to me! I would feel right at home. That is a male's perspective though - females' perspective matters more :)

Thank you @sagescrub its definitely a bachelor pad. Some female perspective on what I could do to improve the ambiance might help my ratings :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I had wondered about AirBnB if we ever get the room in the barn finished.

Overall would you recommend it?



I really like it so far, It'd be amazing with the kind of set up like that. If someone created a crypto version it would be really cool. Airbnb makes it easier to host by doing background checks on people and providing dispute resolution, they also give you coverage for damaged/stolen property. Who you host is all up to your control. You get to rate your guests as well as them rating you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds good.

Your house looksc really well. It's neat and the colors are so lightly
. and I like that bookshelf.

Thank you @phanthang I really appreciate that.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you zip tie the cables on your TV to the leg of the table it would make it look a bit tidier. Even zipping to themselves would be nicer.

You might want to try to put the filing cabinet in a closet, or the shed maybe. Or cover it with a piece of fabric or table cloth.

Your curtains look functional, but half done.

And you may want to ditch the protective sliders on the coffee table. Maybe replace with a rug.

Also, to help make it less of a burden, a lot of people give themselves a day in between people staying, especially if they are doing all the work themselves.

These are all really great suggestions, gonna work on them during this week. Just got the ceiling painted in the office. Got some tumeric to harvest and plastic to get on the aquaponics greenhouse. Thank you @jonnylay!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60754.63
ETH 2349.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53