Nothing Last Forever - Japanese Tradition

in #life6 years ago (edited)

rsz_pic.jpg

When I first met Granny (@terminallyill's grandmother), I was so happy to meet her. She is this little teeny tiny Japanese woman with so much fierce behind her. Pap was still living at the time, Pap is her long time American husband. Granny is about 4'3'' and Pap was close to 6'10''. Their love story is absolutely something you would see in a movie. Pap was in the Marine Corps and he was stationed in Hawaii. Her family immigrated to Hawaii from Goya, Japan. They met and immediately fell in love. Not long after they met, Pearl harbor was attacked and bombed by the Japanese which drew the United states into World War II. The rest of the story is the most incredible thing I have ever heard. The part of the story that tells everything in between, the struggles they faced. The way that they made it back to each other, the fact that Granny and Pap went through so much together and in the end, Pap was able to live his last days with the love of his life caring for him. The best part was the blessing that I was able to meet them both and still witness their love for each other, after all these years, after everything that had been through.

I wish I could tell you the full story of their life but I would never be able to tell it like @terminallyill will. I hereby summons him to one day write a post about their love story. I could tell you bits and pieces but I will wait for their Grandson to tell you up close and personal what Granny and Pap were like as he grew up. Instead, I want to tell you about something that always brings a smile to my face because it always makes me think of those two...

rsz_tree.jpg

all photos of the Cherry Blossoms were taken by me

Cherry Blossoms

My father in law has a few of these trees in his yard. It's not surprising why he loves them, they are a major part of Japan. I was outside with my daughter today and noticed that his trees are blooming. I have never really seen a Cherry Blossom other than the picture of one on my Cherry Blossom scented lotion. I was so taken back by this tree, it is beautiful! I was then informed about the Cherry Blossom Festival that happens every year in Japan which is also known as hanami (flower viewing). Hanami has been around for many centuries. The purpose of this festival is for the world to understand that we must appreciate the beauty in life. In Japan, they anxiously wait all year to see these trees in full bloom. Once fully bloomed, the beauty from the flowers on these trees can only be enjoyed for about two weeks.

rsz_1tree1.jpg

rsz_1tree2.jpg

Picnic In The Park

The multiple Cherry Blossom trees in Japan are very full with many more flowers, this baby tree is still beautiful, nonetheless. For those short few weeks out of the year that the trees bloom, everyone in Japan prepares weeks in advance for this festival. They gather for what we call a picnic in the park. Thousands of people come together, as they sit under the blooming Cherry Blossom trees, taking in the beauty. The Japan Meteorological Agency even provides a cherry blossom forecast, specifically for this festival. Early in the morning, people eager for the day begin to find that special place wherever the trees are blooming. This is when they gather for food, drinks (mainly tea), music and good company. I can't even begin to imagine being in a park filled with so many fully bloomed Cherry Blossom trees. A sight that is obviously an incredible one.

Do you truly appreciate the beauty in life? This tree is a good reminder for us to do just that. This is a sight thousands of people in Japan wait all year to see, the trees are seriously breathtaking. Something so beautiful, something to relax those who see it, is gone within 14 days. Cherry Blossoms really are an incredible metaphor when we think of our lives, nothing last forever. Everyday we should remember to enjoy the small things in life. Enjoy that special time with your loved ones, take in the beauty of all that is around you. Why? Because you never know when that beauty will end.

rsz_pic_5_.jpg

rsz_pic4.jpg

rsz_20180415_142611-1.jpg

This post in remembrance of Pap and the trials and tribulations he went through for the love of his life. Luckily for these two, even though nothing last forever, true love never dies. Granny still lives at home caring for herself. She is the sweetest, fiercest little woman I know. One day she was arguing with my father in law (something they do all the time) over the washing machine. Granny always gets mad towards the end so she ended this argument with, "Yes, I know how work machine. What you think I'm stupid or someting?" This next photo is from a few months ago, during Grans surprise 90th birthday party.

granny.jpg

image

Recent post you might like

HACKED-Don't Be A Victim!

Imagine A World With Zero Music

Music Heals The Soul 🎶Contest Time! 2 days left to enter!

magicalmoonlight_red.png

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

magicalmoonlight.gif

Join both discords with these two links - https://discord.gg/4qTPqNC & https://discord.gg/5C2VGEE

image

Sort:  

Challenge accepted @magicalmoonlight, I will have to tell my grandparent's love story on here, but being it is so intense, it will likely have to be a multi part series LOL. I miss Pap, I honestly do. He was one of the most admirable men I have ever had the privilege of knowing in my life and despite my flaws, still loved me unconditionally and taught me morals. He was an amazing human being!

I am thankful to have seen this post, it touched my heart honestly. The pictures are beautiful by the way. I wish you'd take that camera I bought you and do something amazing with it and pursue something you have a natural talent in! Thank you for this article, I have resteemed and upvoted it and I honestly hope that it does amazingly!

Just wait, the story will begin very soon!

They are special people that is for sure. We still need to find one of the hundred memory cards for the camera.

I sometimes think cherry blossoms have influenced Japanese culture in a profound way. This idea that “nothing lasts for ever” is so ingrained in the culture and I wonder if it stems directly from cherry blossoms. Even the way people look at death...they seem to accept it even from an early age.

I think it’s a feeling that’s been capitalized on in modern days with the prevalence of special edition stuff (different hamburger at McDonald’s almost every week for example) where as in other countries we’d probably be annoyed if a special edition lasted so short.

Anyway that’s a nice story, didn’t mean to bring up McDonald’s hahha

This is all very true. I do wonder if it came directly from the trees and if so, that is pretty wild that Cherry Blossoms have had such an impact. McDonald's was a perfect example, lol It really does make sense. It mad me think of their mint shamrock shakes they have for about a month once a year. Thanks for stopping by 😊

Its a great story. I appreciate you sharing it. We need to live every day remembering that nothing lasts forever.

Yes it is a great reminder for us. Thank you for stopping by and checking it out.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by magicalmoonlight from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Love really is the only thing that has the potential to last forever, all else in life is only fleeting, and if we do not take the time to enjoy those fleeting moments we miss the opportunity to make a memory, for like love, it takes a lot for a memory to die.

Wonderful words of wisdom here. Perfectly said @bashadow.

This is a heart touching inspirational story . The stories of the people in our lives that shape who we are and where we come from should never be forgotten . In the days before Tv and internet these stories would be handed down to each generation over and over . This new generation will miss out on that unless we put them in writing as you have just done.

Thank you for reading the story @wolfhart. Those stories really should be passed down and I think this is a great place to tell our stories 😊

Your granny and pap's love story sounds like an excellent material to be made into a real life movie!!! Okay, i shall wait for @terminallyill to tell their story.

The Cheryl blossoms are super beautiful. I have never seen them in such close up shots before. I have seen photos of how thousands of Japanese and even tourists squeezing at the sight of them though.

Thank you! I wish I knew how to get it into a movie, I swear it could be one. They went through so many troubles, even split up and remarried. Still in the end found their way back to each other.

Cherry blossoms are incredible. The sight in Japan is really beautiful because they have parks that are packed full of the trees.

Cherry blossoms are very beautiful, I never really appreciated them until seeing them in Japan.... To be fair I was only 16 though.
Beautiful story.

That's awesome! I would love to go see them in Japan one day.

Oh I bet they do have a great love story!! I hope to read it some day! The flowers are beautiful. Amazing that they only last for 2 weeks and it is a great reminder to appreciate life while you have it. Makes me want to have a picnic with my kids outside tomorrow for lunch! I'll see if I can make that happen!

The story will be written on here one day :) I wish they lasted for a lot longer! You should make a post if you are able to have a picnic outside! Now you have encouraged me to do the same with my daughter. Maybe we can make this a thing to encourage others to stop and enjoy life!

I did have a picnic with my kids today! Wahoo! I'll have to post about it tomorrow. :)

Oh that is good! No picnic here yet but we did fly kites today 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54