Life, love, and new "finds"

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Happy Friday everyone :)

I have been loving this new place of ours, and my days have been filled with all kinds of new and exciting things. I've been noticing cruise ships at Cozumel; they dock there and passengers ferry over here to Playa del Carmen for the day. I'm in awe of the size of these things though! The photo isn't terribly clear because the sun was shining directly on it, and I'm a fair distance away, but you can see the ship, and the tallest building on the island to the left of it :)

u0kkpgrdve.png

Here's another one from yesterday. It was a bit closer, but because of the overcast skies, the buildings aren't as noticeable. Still amazing!
ev6jyn8jk9.png

I discovered a mama bird with her nest hidden up in the palapa today!! I love being able to watch nature at its finest :) I'm so excited to watch new life take shape, right before our very eyes!!
k3256jumz6.png

She managed to pick a perfect spot too; under cover, and on the support of a branch that's grown under there from the tree outside. Notice the netting underneath her? That was to keep the birds out hahaha
hwmie8wxlv.png

Here's dad checking in today, just making sure all is well :)
h3cq6qnm0q.png

And of course Buddy, waiting for any opportunity to pounce. Although you can tell from his size that he's well fed, so I don't think he's going to outrun the birds anytime soon :)
60s51a77l1.png

I've also been swimming everyday, not just lounging in the pool, but actual exercise because I was getting a little "soft" from all of my relaxing haha Actually, I'm in love with water, and swimming has always been my favorite "exercise" to do; it doesn't even feel like exercise to me, just fun, but I can tell from even a few days of it, that I'm working muscles I haven't used in a while. My landlord, George, already calls me the mermaid :)

After swimming, Brian joins me for a bit in the pool too. After his first time in, and having a seizure (yep! in the pool! Thank goodness I am strong!), I made the rule that he's not allowed in there by himself, and he readily agreed!

Every afternoon we spend time in our comfy orange chairs and read together. It's so peaceful and simple and totally relaxing. We are both in heaven, and so very happy. I've caught my mind wandering a few times to "what will I do when...?", but quickly shut that door and focus on the now !!
l9cb7tecux.png

So by this time of night, it's 9:30 now, I'm really tired, but it's a nice tired :) Here's the view looking out our window from the bed. Mexico really does have fantastic sunsets. And that weirdly shaped rooftop? It's an apartment, with a weird roof design :)
1ctcmzd0aq.png

Even Buddy is wiped out too haha I'd say he's pretty relaxed in his new home too :)

t5ekf7sn6i.png

Have a wonderful weekend everyone! Hope your days are filled with peace and love <3

Proud Member of :

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Life is not boring as long as we pay attention to the little details. And I love to discover so many things through your post :)

Life is not boring as long as we pay attention to the little details.

I have always said, "Life is in the details"!!!

Thank you so much for appreciating my posts and letting me know that @gabrielatravels :)

Oh damn what a pool story... thankfully you did train💪🏻 And is Brian doing ok😊

Talking about pools forget the picture from the pool being in use and bring me more of those sunsets!😍

What are you guys reading?

Brian is ok, thank you! It's an ongoing battle with him (cancer too; the seizures are a part of the whole mess). I try to stay fit because it helps physically, but also mentally for me ;)

The sunsets are really something, aren't they?!! Every night, I'm not exaggerating, unless it's a cloudy day :)

Brian reads thrillers and has a few authors he really likes, and I read a book a day sometimes, so it's just about whatever I can get my hands on haha Actually, we both have kobo e-readers and love them. I just finished Listen to the Child by Elizabeth Howard; it's historical fiction which I love ( I was an English and History teacher in Canada for years). It's about the "program" of sending orphans and children from poor families in England to Canada, to "clean" up England, but many little kids became basically slaves to abusive Canadian farmers who needed the farm labor! I had no idea about that piece of our history either!! Very sad when I started researching more of it, especially to find out that although it began in the late 1800's, it continued through til 1935 if you can believe it!!

What about you? Read much?

The sunsets are truly amazing. They deserve a post on it's own!

A book a day damn... That is a long time ago I read a book a day. There weren't any e-readers yet 😅
You have a book subscription for your Kobo I hope?
I didn''t know about the book written by Howard, but I did know about the history from the children. It was in the news a few years ago. I thought the UK did apologize for this am I correct? But indeed still sad that this happened for such a long period of time. 1935 I wasn't aware off although. Damn only a few years later children got seperated from their parents again during WW2 because they got evacuated to safer places. Going to read that book!

Getting to my reading taste, I read because it clears my head so easily. So every night before I go to sleep I try to read. I sleep much better after reading a few pages. but must easy to read. So I prefer Dutch books, and fiction. Just like Brian that would be a good thriller (Lee Child, Dan Brown) or fantasy book for me. Alltime favourites are Harry Potter and the Discworld books. what are Brians favourites?

Lovely to read you were a teacher in english and most important History. Last one I always enjoyed at my high school period. Even did my exam in it. Only class I didn't have to study for, i absorbed all the facts so easily while my teacher was telling all those stories. 😍

Great that you are enjoying your swimming... there is nothing like the tiredness that comes from a bit of exercise and a nice warm day!

I think I would love to work as a musician on a cruise ship! That would be lots of fun I think.... on the other hand, maybe I'm too old for that sort of game now!!! ... but I will take a look...

hahaha it's funny what seems reasonable in our brains, and then we take a step back and really think about it ...

maybe I'm too old for that sort of game now!!!

You never know though! You should look into it and see what it entails ... it might be really cool :)

It probably would be fun... but as a parent, it is hard to get your arse into gear to try and new thing! But I think I definitely will look into it when I find some time!

I totally get it; there's just not time to introduce anything else new in the picture is there?!
It could be a retirement thing, many years down the road, but by then, it might seem more like a lounge lizard kind of thing haha

You’ve pained such a clear description of your new joint, I’d be rude if I was in Playa Del Carmen and didn’t knock on the door.... “Hey, hows it goin, ya’all wanna play dominoes or somethin?”

You sure would be rude if you didn't do that!!! But do you play Backgammon or cribbage? :)

Thanks for stopping by @dandays :)

Oh no you didn’t.... What if I told you I have chess pieces tattooed on my back? You just took this friendship to a whole new level of understanding Lynncoyle1.

here comes another frikkin book again!

I’m the biggest game nerd I know and I’m not exaggerating. I’ve never, repeat: never been into video games, none of them, just not my thing. Lynn, that is your name I’m assuming?? At this very moment, in the trunk of my car is a set of dominoes, my darts, 2 chess boards (wooden one and a matter one) bet your butt there’s a cribbage board in there! I’ve had TWO 28’s!! T.w.o, I’ve never even seen a 29. Have you? In case you missed it, “I’ve had TWO 28’s!!” There’s 6 decks of cards for Gin, Screw your neighbor, whatever card game you can think of!

(Notice I’m using a new paragraph for this one) did you say backgammon?! Acey-ducey, backgammon, I’m in! iheart backgammon. Lynn, my mother and I used to play backgammon one game after the other, she was relentless. We would play 15, 20 games in a row. I was always out for the victory and I never realized how my mother didn’t care. She just loved the fact that I was at her house, at the table with her.

dont mind @dandays, he does this ish all the time!

But don’t get it twisted! Ya I have chess pieces tattooed on me and ya I’ve done the clubs.. backgammon, me and you, all day long, let’s do this... you’ll be praying for doubles! Cribbage.. oh shoot, ima have you wishing 6’s, 9’s, 8’s and 7’s didn’t even exist!! But all the children just stay inside when the dominoes are on the table. :attention: anyone reading this: When I’m there and dominoes are there, it’s best you just don’t play.

laugh out loud! Man this sure was fun. 😉

Loading...

Mexico does have the best sunsets! Almost everynight the colours are unreal.
Glad you guys are enjoying your new place!

Right??!! and I never tire of seeing them either; they absolutely gorgeous :)

Thank you @jessicaoutside!

Like I earlier said, the place is like heaven on earth. I think this is just the beginning.

awww thank you @maxijgcomm! I totally agree.

I think this is just the beginning.

That makes my heart smile :)

Great to see that you guys have settled down and are loving your new place Lynne. The view certainly looks great with the clouds bobbin above and the great sunset.

Have a great weekend!

Thank you @livinguktaiwan! I need your new toy to capture some of it :)

Have a great weekend too :)

I have been on such a grand ship its a dream. Brian agreed right away Thats great, and the love dove ( we call them that because they are lovely and always stay together ) building a nest is so sweet but they make so much noise always tjilping 😂 fun animals
I am like the last picture of Buddy sums up My mood for this weekend 😉

You have?! It's like a city on the water I think :) And "love doves" ... I love that!! But yes, they make a lot of noise; we're starting to get used to it though. It's kind of sweet!

haha Buddy's got it all figured out!! Listen to him and enjoy your weekend relaxing! :)

Thanks for stopping by @brittandjosie :)

Just fell in love...the place is awesome with pictursheque view....nice appartment with perfect view and the roof top ...quite place and relaxing too..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @steemflow!! We fell in love too, and keep falling more and more in love with it all everyday :)

The place lookz so beautiful
..👍👌👌👌

Posted using Partiko Android

The place lookz so beautiful
..👍👌👌👌

Posted using Partiko Android

I was thinking what to write while reading and then I saw the last photo and can't stop laughing!!! Cuteness overload :)

hahaha he's the best cat ever! A couple of years ago, we had to put our last dog down, and were pet-less for the first time in a very long time for both of us. On my birthday, Brian surprised me with Buddy ... he said I needed a pet even if I didn't think so ... and he was right. This poor cat had been stuck in a PetsMart (a big chain pet store) for two years !! Everyone just wants a kitten :(

Well that, and they'd named him Matthew !! Who picks a cat named Matthew? :)

I don't understand why people have pets and then dump them in the store. Those poor pets can't do anything! I'm glad that he gave him to you as you must be the best momma for him! I'm sure about that! 😊

Hahaha, that is a very original name for cat! 🤣

It's something I will never understand either @delishtreats! Makes me crazy.

And thank you; I do spoil him a wee bit :) but I figure is any animal deserves it, he does!

That's true! It's so sad when people get pets for their kids and in a couple of months they literally throw them away. So you are right! Any animal deserve as much love as you can give!

And that is just another reason why I like you so much @delishtreats :)

Oh, you're so sweet Lynn!!! I'm honored!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64