You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life, love, and new "finds"

in #life6 years ago

Oh damn what a pool story... thankfully you did train💪🏻 And is Brian doing ok😊

Talking about pools forget the picture from the pool being in use and bring me more of those sunsets!😍

What are you guys reading?

Sort:  

Brian is ok, thank you! It's an ongoing battle with him (cancer too; the seizures are a part of the whole mess). I try to stay fit because it helps physically, but also mentally for me ;)

The sunsets are really something, aren't they?!! Every night, I'm not exaggerating, unless it's a cloudy day :)

Brian reads thrillers and has a few authors he really likes, and I read a book a day sometimes, so it's just about whatever I can get my hands on haha Actually, we both have kobo e-readers and love them. I just finished Listen to the Child by Elizabeth Howard; it's historical fiction which I love ( I was an English and History teacher in Canada for years). It's about the "program" of sending orphans and children from poor families in England to Canada, to "clean" up England, but many little kids became basically slaves to abusive Canadian farmers who needed the farm labor! I had no idea about that piece of our history either!! Very sad when I started researching more of it, especially to find out that although it began in the late 1800's, it continued through til 1935 if you can believe it!!

What about you? Read much?

The sunsets are truly amazing. They deserve a post on it's own!

A book a day damn... That is a long time ago I read a book a day. There weren't any e-readers yet 😅
You have a book subscription for your Kobo I hope?
I didn''t know about the book written by Howard, but I did know about the history from the children. It was in the news a few years ago. I thought the UK did apologize for this am I correct? But indeed still sad that this happened for such a long period of time. 1935 I wasn't aware off although. Damn only a few years later children got seperated from their parents again during WW2 because they got evacuated to safer places. Going to read that book!

Getting to my reading taste, I read because it clears my head so easily. So every night before I go to sleep I try to read. I sleep much better after reading a few pages. but must easy to read. So I prefer Dutch books, and fiction. Just like Brian that would be a good thriller (Lee Child, Dan Brown) or fantasy book for me. Alltime favourites are Harry Potter and the Discworld books. what are Brians favourites?

Lovely to read you were a teacher in english and most important History. Last one I always enjoyed at my high school period. Even did my exam in it. Only class I didn't have to study for, i absorbed all the facts so easily while my teacher was telling all those stories. 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85