NO EXPECTATION IS THE KEY TO HAPPINESS

in #life6 years ago (edited)

11.jpg

Have no expectation whatsoever!

That's the most valuable life lesson I ever learnt. It took me close to twenty years to learn that. Not to expect anything from anyone! Not to assume that someone would return a favour or would do for me what I have done for them. Nada! Nil!

Some people discover this way earlier in life, while others never do and continue to have others influence their chance to happiness.

There is a close link between happiness and expectations. When you have expectations, your goals and everything else is planned, set. You assume everything will come out according to your wishes, as if life had no deviations.

From a scientific point view, expectation never comes into play. Since the expectations are not there, what you are looking at are facts, and those facts are what leads to a result. The outcome is dictated by the facts.

If you have an expectation, you become static. Therefore the outcome has no room to move, as you have a set target and that’s what you expect to happen. When you let your emotions dictate the outcome, you can't have a fair chance at happiness.

It wasn’t until I hit rock bottom on a perfect summer day, that I really grasped what all that entailed. They say people don’t change unless they witness traumatic experience or life-threatening situations. I agree with that. That day I experienced both. I touched fingers with death and no one cared. No one moved a finger to change anything about it or to come to my rescue.

What I found astonishing was the fact that Life went on, even if my life was hanging by a thread. The sun still shone, the birds continued to chirp and people carried on with their chores.

When the pink glasses came off and I found myself all alone with no one to ask for help and no place to call home, I had two choices: make it or break it. I chose to be a warrior and fight for my beliefs instead of being a victim and drowning in self pity.

It was frustrating and nerve wrenching to see that all those that I have helped or cared for did not do anything to help me. Those who really cared or loved me were hundreds of miles away and could not have done anything for me anyway because of the distance between us.

When that happened I had mixed feelings. I was boiling inside like a pressure cooker. I went from anger to rage and revenge before I finally understood and accepted that all the strength and help I needed were inside me, that I had it all along.

That day I lost and found myself. I lost the fear and the expectation, two things that had shaped my behaviour prior to that moment.

Once I was able to understand that I had to rely solely on my own, I felt as if a huge weight fell off my shoulders. It was an empowering moment that enabled me to change my life and literally walk away from everything I had, owned and known in order to start new.

Tell me what were you expecting when you started to read this post?

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Not to assume that someone would return a favour or would do for me what I have done for them. Nada! Nil!

I have been guilty of this in the past and, in fact, only got over this tendency to expect some type of quid pro quo in the last 5 years. You are so right in what you say in this article, it makes life a constant battle when you live in constant evaluation of whether you've got what you perceive as your entitlement.

That day I lost and found myself. I lost the fear and the expectation, two things that had shaped my behaviour prior to that moment.

Fear is the root of so much unhappiness in this world. Great thoughtful article @lymepoet, I really enjoyed reading it :-)

Letting go of fear, makes life much more enjoyable. That fear is an acquired trait that is hard to get rid of. Thank you for your support!

Hey @daniellozada, I am a curator of the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 14th May. Your post will be awarded a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here is a link to a post explaining things: https://steemit.com/competition/@nikflossus/the-27th-whaleshares-curation-show-with-yahialababidi

Noooooo, mere seconds before I left my comment! :D

hahaha so sorry about that! Just goes to show how deserving this post is!

Haha, nothing to apologize for! Firs come, first served :D

Thank you! I caught the end of the show yesterday.

This is the best advice to give to anyone, because at least a person can sleep in piece and work on ourselves without any pressure.

That's the only advice I can offer to anyone willing to listen. ;0)

When the pink glasses came off and I found myself all alone with no one to ask for help and no place to call home, I had two choices: make it or break it. I chose to be a warrior and fight for my beliefs instead of being a victim and drowning in self pity.

Taking ownership of the moment and choosing to be emboldened by the present moment. Because in all reality it is up to us to react to the present moment. We may speculate on what is yet to come, but our ability to adjust to what actually is will determine our future.

It's an important life lesson to base our action on what is fact. We may have hopes and dreams about some future day, in reality fact is all that determines outcomes.

Basing decision making on facts makes one's life easier.

I was expecting some motivation by reading your post. You always come with helpful info. Expectation is the enemy of happiness.
@lymepoet you really deserve the best even if you don't expect

Thank you for your support. I hope your expectations were met. :0)

Hey @lymepoet,

You got me with Sylvia Plath's quote and then this:

That's the most valuable life lesson I ever learnt. It took me close to twenty years to learn that. Not to expect anything from anyone! Not to assume that someone would return a favour or would do for me what I have done for them. Nada! Nil!

Took me forever to learn this too. Still not perfectly learned either. My expectations got dashed just this past weekend.... again. And I'm still recalibrating and remembering not to ever expect anyone to do for me what I've chosen freely to do for them.

Thanks so much for sharing that very traumatic day and how it helped you become a warrior for and in your own life. Tough lesson. But being free and creating your life fresh each day brings its own rewards. As you said...

It was an empowering moment that enabled me to change my life and literally walk away from everything I had, owned and known in order to start new.

I do fall off the wagon once in a way cause I am human, but it's much easier now to get back on track. A new day brings a new page when we start new.

As always, you spark a fire within me; inspirational! I love the way you wrote this -- I was very engaged with the style and made me read out loud for it was so coherent and soul-whispering. Expectations are always set in the future, and we never live in the future. We only live in the present. I know there's a difference between rationally saying to do away with expectations to actually committing and living that.

Being anchored in the present helps with the slow living and keeping a steady pace without draining the energy levels on useless things.

So true - really all we can expect from life is what we do ourselves! To expect from others is often a mistake!

Though this approach does not mean you can't disappoint yourself. Ironic, no?

My culture teaches me to do my duty without expecting anything in return. Doing something to others should be with unconditional love without expecting anything in return. Something like a love that a mother has on her kids. Mothers never expect anything in return. Nice article.

The world would be a better and happier place if people will adopt some of the principles of a collective culture. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

It's bittersweet - to find that peace, but to find it through such turmoil.

But.... aghhhhhh.. the peace :) the new perspective! The knowledge that so much of what we endure is tinted by the outlook that we have on life.

and then that outlook changes.... there can be such freedom in the embracing of it!

I'm so looking forward to hearing more about this on dito - i hope you can make it today!!! ~Auntie Dreemie hehehehe

Bitter sweet it's my favorite type of chocolate ;0)
Thanks for hosting the show. It does feel like family, you were right!

right??? :) it feels like it..... cuz it is it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52