Beyond Cartoon Morality: The World Isn't Bad Guys vs. Good Guys

in #life7 years ago

It's hard to imagine how opinions or actions which we currently view as evil are considered good by others. It's hard, but not impossible. A few years ago I had a different worldview than I have now. I didn't really understand what epistemology is, and I wasn't actively working to improve my own justified beliefs. My perspectives on morality were, in many ways, unexamined. I considered some things "wrong" and other things "right" without justifiable reasons, other than it's what I had always known.

Some of the people doing "evil" things today are in a similar situation. They simply don't know any better and what they are doing is seen as "good" by them and their community.

More important still, some of what you condemn as "evil" might justifiably be good, and you are unable to see that truth for what it is because of your own tribal, in-group perspectives.

I'm not arguing for moral relativism. I'm arguing for fact-based, evidence-loving, open-mindedness which values wellbeing. As adults, we shouldn't fall back on childish "good guys versus bad guys" cartoon thinking. The world is much more nuanced and context matters. At the same time, we shouldn't remain silent about the harm we see happening in the world. We should talk about it and share our opinions on why it's happening. We should engage research and have open, honest discussions. We should be willing to be wrong. Possibly even so wrong that the "solutions" we propose could be part of the problem. We have to engage without fear.

As soon as you state your opinion, others may oppose it. That's okay. That's when everyone involved can grow. Divided, we condemn. Choose love and understanding over fear and hate. Together we can be unique, respectful, and free.

Sort:  

Wow, thank you! I'll take that as very high praise from an author I respect and greatly enjoy reading. :)

Oh no you're too kind. I mean it man. Best post I read in a long time.

Hope it gets more visibility, it sure deserve it!

One might argue that cartoons nowadays are more nuanced as well, calling the gray area their home most of the time. But, that's beside the point. This is such a great point that you stated, which I feel is criminally under-discussed. Nowadays, people are afraid to speak their mind out of fear of being labeled wrong. In the process, it impedes growth and hampers understanding. People who have a skewed sense of morality aren't afraid to speak their mind, that's why their voices go unopposed. It's sad to think that the "correct" viewpoint is drowned out by the popular viewpoint.

I concur with @the-alien. You've been away from steemit for well over a week now Luke, it's great to see you back here. I was beginning to wonder whuzup. I'll be in Nashville on the 22nd and would love to meet with you if you have the time and are still inclined to do so as we previously talked about. I sent an email thru the contact form at foxy.io using your name so if you get that you can reply via my email.

Hope all is well with you sir!

Hah! Yes, I got the email but generally don't check it on the weekends. I replied to one of our comments previously with my gmail account (it's just luke.stokes) so you can reach me there as well. I'd love to connect on the 22nd. Email me with more details as to when you'll be in town.

I was down in Florida for a conference my company sponsored and then we added on a couple extra days for vacation time, so that's why I haven't been around much. No worries though, I'm not going anywhere. :)

Glad to hear it! I figured it was something like that. I'll be in touch, looking forward to it!

Your posts resound with one of my favorite movie and all time quotes:
human dignity + compassion = peace.
I am a peace loving individual, and like you mentioned I too believe that the bad guys are doing what they think is good, and on another level what they believe they need to do to continue their survival, but that is not enough because just like you said without examination and questioning of one's values there's no growth outside their perspectives.

Bravo Bravo Bravo!

Thanks @baah :) I just googled that to find the movie That's What I Am. Is that what you mean? I haven't seen it yet.

Yes, I guarantee you will fall in love with every one of it's characters.

"I'm not arguing for moral relativism. I'm arguing for fact-based, evidence-loving, open-mindedness which values wellbeing."

While your entire article is extremely well-stated, this assertion stood out to me. We need to foster communication in both directions of every conversation.

This can be incredibly frustrating, but (being now convinced that I had ignorantly supported immoral state action for much of my life) it is ever so important to both listen honestly while seeking to communicate truth we may have learned "the hard way."

Thanks for setting this aspiration forth so clearly.😄😇😄

@creatr

I Just UpVoted You! Please See Our Very Important Post Below Regarding The Blockchain Witnesses. Have An Epic Day/Afternoon/Evening!
https://steemit.com/witness/@iloveupvotes/witness-guide-suggestions-and-witness-warnings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29