Anecdotal Evidence & Indoctrination

in #life6 years ago

"Why I don't believe vegans on health advice"
Louisbettong

I was a vegetarian for the first 18 years of my life, not by choice, because I was convinced that meat (and fat) was "bad" and would cause health problems. Convinced might not be the right word, while one vegan argument suggests that we are indoctrinated to eat meat from a young age, I was indoctrinated against meat for the first 18 years. I detested meat, this might be a hard thing for people to understand if they eat meat generally. Imagine if the site of eating a juicy cooked to order steak made you feel like vomiting, I can barely imagine it myself.

Well after I moved out of home, I began to eat meat (and enjoyed it) selectively, so it was not very often and generally stuck to my indoctrination apart from the odd steak now and then. I did however eat a lot of carbohydrates, rice, pasta, bread and the like. Years went by, my conditioning would fluctuate with the amount of exercise I did. You could never call me fat, but the amount of fat I carried was not commensurate with the amount of exercise I did (often twice a day). Well one day I became quite sick, with something similar to what I had seen before. It was some kind of intestinal or bowel problem, It was crippling.

I will not go into the gross details, but due to the symptoms, I could not stay awake, would have to go to the toilet almost every hour depending if I ate and the cramping in my stomach was excruciating. Working out was out of the question, I had lost so much weight it was not funny. I was working as an engineer and this was not going to be acceptable way of living to me, I was losing time at work, used all sick leave and took holidays, I had to do something.

I was lucky to have been working with the old polish guy who would tell me all sorts of (what would sound like really weird) stuff to most people. Some stuff was about WWII and the like, but he also mentioned this crazy fat diet that he did, I honestly thought he was a nut because of how much fat he ate. I was wrong.

Lucky that I had no options and my condition was getting worse, he told me that my diet could fix it and to give it two weeks, I listened out of desperation and ate what he suggested. Within three days I was feeling better and was back at work within a week. After two weeks all the symptoms were gone and I was back at training again. After eating like this for some time I was also surprised to note that the additional fat that I carried for most of my life disappeared (stomach fat was gone), I was training pretty hard. Most of this I know now was due to the increase in animal fat with the elimination of carbs from my diet.

This video reminded me of that time. For this reason I will never stop eating meat for any reason. I of course respect everybody's right to eat how they please, but don't expect me to feel sorry for cows and pigs feelings, I will eat them and be thankful they keep me alive.

Therefore my indoctrination was not broken by anecdotal evidence, it was changed due to experimentation. I know how my diet effects me, I have tried both.

LB

Sort:  

How did you make the transition into meat? Any advice?

I have a similar experience to yourself, although vegetarian rather than vegan. After 25 years from birth, I can eat meat, but I usually can only eat a bite or two and feel disgusted/sick after it it. I just don't have a taste for it, I don't like it.

Out of random change, I picked up an egg and bacon McMuffin for the first time in the morning. The results on my gut were astounding. Where I often had problems with reflux/heartburn, instead I felt settled for the day. I had energy the entire day and felt that I didn't need to eat until the night time.

Eating meat grosses me out, but my current diet is leaving me burned out with mounting medical problems. I'm slowly killing myself but it seems easier to just slip quietly into a carb coma. I can't find the energy to change.

How do I change things up in an easy way and make a transition away? The key for me is easy to work in habits, I still haven't taken to heart Peterson's message of "treat yourself as if you're someone else that you've been charged to care for".

For me the changed came out of necessity, after feeling the effects, I knew it was right. My friends advice was to just jump straight into it. Reason being it is not good to eat all that extra fat with a lot of carbs. Find something that you can prepare easily and eat, then build on that. Just reducing your carbs will make a huge difference, adding more fat will provide the missing energy and promote the production of ketones that will allow you to lose weight.

Lovely wife says "put bacon on everything", crispy bacon can't hurt!

Who is the interviewer? I did all meat for a year. Well, meat, eggs and a little dairy (fermented buffalo milk). It worked really well for the first 6 to 9 months, then didn't feel right any more. I'm back on a mixed diet now with ratios P 30% / F 45% / C 25%, so not quite keto.

Actually that is probably not a bad ratio, I usually try to stick roughly no more than 75 grams of carbs a day. The interviewer is Joe Rogan.

Oh, yes, I've heard of him. That ratio seems to work well for me. I'm hitting close to 100gms of total carbs some days, but my net carbs are always under 70, sometimes down to 50. I started with year with a 3 day water fast and that was great to just reset and get me back on track. I've tried IF with mixed success, but having the occasional water fast seems to be easier on my metabolism.

wow. I'm happy you're fine now.
I love meat. Just don't think I can eat certain meals without meat. Dreaming about steak right now. I don't get what's so terrible about meat that people completely leave it out of their diet. Well, we'll keep enjoying our meat. More for us.

Thats the way I see it too ;)

So happy for you.

I was a vegetarian for 35 years and it was hard for me to go back to eating meat. I had my wife hide ground up meat in sauces on the vegetables for a long time. But I found that as my health recovered my desire to eat meat recovered too. Now I love steaks and pork roasts etc. It's astounding to me.

I think it is a bit negligent of diet professionals, down playing the bad effect of carbohydrates and the good effects of fats from animal products. It really effects peoples lives, especially those that find out late.

My new Doctor seems very LCHF friendly. I think things might be changing, that's two in a row.

I agree there is been change over the last 10 years, but I have been noticing a lot of vegan stuff pushed on my youtube feed. While I respect there choice, it will put people who have not experienced health problems a bit behind, as the effects generally take years to manifest.

True, vegans can be pushy. I get really tired of people who haven't been vegetarian as long as I was, telling me I hate animals and want to torture and kill them. I just prefer to be alive and in reasonable health.

Great post, thank you for sharing your story!

Dr. Peterson is amazing -- and the simple diet he suggests is excellent advice. When I eat like that/close to that I feel much better; when I stray I start to feel worse.

So many people close to me have done similar diets with great effects, some people who have always struggled with their weight have suddenly got control over their weight. My experience has been the same as yours, in fact I am becoming more strict now after straying for a bit, lol.

A really great post @louisbettong. I’m resteeming this one!

thanks for the re-steem

18 years and no meat? Yikes!
When I was a kid, no matter how bad things got financially, dad always made sure we had meat albeit tiny pieces in our meals. I just can't imagine not eating meat. Unless I suddenly have a condition and requires me to avoid meat completely and I'm almost dead... even at that I would still have some once in a while. I really don't get the vegan life sometimes. Glad you're better

You can be sure that I'll be doing the same for my kids too. You know what though, when I first tried steak it was game over, I was never going back to vegetarian.

so nice post.

thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45