The Art of Letting Go.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Phrenology Head.jpg

A PIECE IN WHICH I COBBLE TOGETHER A WHOLE LOTTA WISDOM!

I have just started to listen to a new audiobook I downloaded the other day by Richard Rorh who is a Franciscan Priest.

(Before I chunter on I should say that I am not at all religious and prefer grazing the pastures of fertile minds without any seasoning of inherent religious dogma sprinkled on my meal).

However, the book I am listening to, which I can highly recommend for spiritual seekers and mild anarchists alike, is “The Art of Letting Go – Living the wisdom of Saint Francis”, and whilst (mildly) couched in Christianity is an enlightening listen whatever your preference!

Much of what Fr Rorh speaks about I have already, kinda, worked out for myself. Yet my mind is like a tangle of knotted cord and his words are helping me to unravel the muddle of my thoughts and gain clarity.

So far, I have only listened to the first two of 6 chapters - but I am impressed.

~

Here is what I have gleaned so far:

Francis of Assisi was and remains a well-respected chap, (a Saint), who, whilst Christian, embraced the values of tolerance, non-judgement and respect for all peoples, belief systems and things. Alive in the 1400’s he was born into a comfortable family but as he grew he became disillusioned with the trappings of wealth. When he looked around he saw turmoil and conflict fuelled by greed and fear. Feuds and battles raged between Italian cities, towns and villages and The Crusades, between The Moors and Christians, were de riguer as peoples battled for dominance and the advantage.

(Sadly, sounds familiar eh? – So much for progress!)

He realised that wealth and trappings did not make for happy bunnies and, conversely, tended to make them greedy, selfish and covetous for more carrot whilst fearful of losing what they already had.

(Through wanton materialism a person can lose their way and forget the true beauty and reason for their existence – to simply be and share love, care and laughter throughout their days.)

And so, he decided to opt out of the madness. He relinquished his status and worldly trappings. He chose freedom from folly and, unencumbered, went on to live a simple life with those who were perceived as disadvantaged or lacking – the poor and sick.

Saint Francis.jpg

~

Now, Fr Dick does not expect modern day folks to be quite so radical, (in fact, he doesn’t expect anything of anyone), but he goes on to explain how, in a balanced and harmonious world;

People are Loved and Things are Used.

Whereas, in actual fact in most instances here on earth today;

Things are Loved and People are Used.

~

I was chatting to my Mr Laforge last night about all this when he randomly blurted;

“I have a great quote – it doesn’t seem to make sense at first but it actually does!”

I encouraged him to continue and he simply stated;

You think you think. You don’t, you do.”

~

So many people remain so very busy, trying to claw their way to the top, within a system that is morally bankrupt.

And they forget to think; mindlessly accepting their metaphorical chains.

As people they are used.

They are fooled into believing that they are consciously thinking whereas they are simply, blindly doing ~ in love with the material wealth they have unwittingly traded their soul and freedoms for.

Enthralled, they are in love with things!

~

This is powerful stuff and worth taking a moment to think about.

Your life is yours to live as you choose.

Each of us owes it to ourselves to cultivate awareness about the choices we make.

Just because everyone around me lives, through choice or ignorance, in a certain way does not mean that I too must adopt similar ways of being.

~

My Life/My Way - Your Life/Your Way.

~

With Love.

xox

me 200 x 200.jpg

http://www.lindadacey-laforge.com

I invite you to check out my recent posts. I'd sure love to hear your thoughts :

A controversial piece about some of the Art contests I see here on Steemit ~ ART DEGREES HERE.

What is a Lightworker, and are you one? HERE.

My Entry for Jerry Banfield's Supernatural Writing Contest HERE. (Well worth a read even though I do say so myself!)

Essays on Love HERE.

My Life as a Vintage Dealer HERE.

Prologue From My Book, Mamma, Mamma Are You There?, HERE

What is Manna? ~ Manna is money evolved.

The world's first digital currency provided by Universal Basic Income using blockchain technology.

To receive the free basic income tokens you are entitled to and help end world wide poverty, please click

HERE :)

Sort:  

'You think you think you don't you do'. Did he mean 'you think you think but you don't'?. Can you elaborate a bit?

Yeah that is exactly what he meant !

I kinda wove two truths into one, towards the end of the piece, but fear it might be a tad obscure?

Anyways you got it :)

Also people are so busy doing they forget to reflect/think about what it is that they are actually doing.

xox

It's that way by design & it's all quite deliberate, Keep us busy so we don't have time to think properly & let the powers that be control things without us interfering.

Absolutely right!

xox

Great post :) I took it to mean "you can't really start doing until you quieten your mind".....but as I write that, I realise that snoring also applies there. Hm.

Yes so many people only think of material wealth and trying to be better than everyone rather than just been your trueself.
The human brain contains the material consciousness and only a very small percentage of what we think and create in our brain through our material consciousness is of pure logical nature, then by processing through the material sub-consciousness is then able to get across, while everything else, the illogical, is not able to do so and will be left behind in order to be processed further in the material subconsciousness and in the consciousness until one day the purest logic will result from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.28
ETH 3369.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48