An Ode to my Shower.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I just spent 45 minutes in a scalding hot shower.


It should be nothing new, nothing special but it's always special.

I wanted to take a minute to thank you, shower.

Thank you for letting me in even at my worst.
I am able to crawl inside of you.
Curl up, relax, cry if I want to...
Thank you for always being there for me.
and for being HOT when I need it.

Thank you for never judging.
In every stage of my life...
I can always find the shower.
You're always open to me.
and I really need you.

It hasn't always been so great though has it?
You let my "father" force his way into you.
Perhaps it was as much your fault as mine?
You probably didn't want him in there.

Now our shower times are different.
I am sometimes afraid to close my eyes.
Always afraid to close my eyes.
That makes it hard to wash my hair.
There's never anyone there these days...
when I open my eyes.
But it doesn't stop me from being afraid.

Even so, with our complicated relationship.
You still have open curtains.
Waiting to wrap me up in the heat.
Letting me curl into my ball and sob.
You let me totally break down, don't you?
Unlike any person ever could.

You are really there.
You are an absolute.
One I am lucky to have too.
Not everyone has a hot shower, you know?

Thank you.

Even with our complicated relationship.
You are always there.



Get these badges I made here.


HTML tutorial

Sort:  

An ode to something that we take for granted daily. That therapeutic, clean hot shower. It is so easy to take this daily chore for granted. How refreshing it is. It's better than coffee for getting you ready for the world. An "ode" to the daily hot shower. What would we do without you?

My materialistic dream is to own one of those showers with a chair so you can just sit in a literal room of water. The eco ness in me screams no. But that hot shower would be the best. Showering is the best kind of alone time. I am sorry it was an unsafe place for you for so long. I am glad you are reclaiming the territory.

It's still unsafe. I still can't close my eyes. Not sure that will ever change. I still need it though. I can't shower if nobody is home but when somebody is here I can and do. Fuck eco-ness on this one. I need that shower to stay alive.

Also, I would love a giant shower with a chair. <3

:( I am sorry. You take that shower. Take a long hot one. I always feel 2x better at the end....i still want a chair 😂

I swear on my fucking soul I've never read such a strange, yet interesting personification of an object.

It's beautiful... I think?

To be honest, I have such mixed feelings right now that it's making it hard to tell what I feel. First poem to play with my conceptions and ideas, but somehow touching my almost nonexistent spirituality...

What did you do? Damn I am glad I am following you!

haha... I guess I have mixed feelings about my shower too.
and the emotions surrounding it.

I am glad I could make you feel something.
Feeling is important. :)

This is my favorite comment by the way. I needed to know I made someone feel something today.

Lol, I tought I will appear like an asshole for typing (or trying to) what I really felt. Especially because I haven't said loud and clear that "it's beautiful, well done, etc"... I tried to mimic a hesitation... Because that was my instant reaction, I just couldn't tell....

I think I will give it another read before bed. Maybe sleep will help me figure out wtf was this mix of feelings... Damn... I need to read some poetry.

To be honest, this reminded me what the role of poetry is. Thank you, again!

I think it was yesterday that I realized my showers aren't too long, I just freaking love them.

Your post was a very fun read even with the much harsher parts. Take care Laura!

I feel like I'd be doing your experience a disservice if I were to talk about the rather simple (yet powerful) role showers play in my life, so I'll just say thank you, for sharing a very personal insight into the role of showers in yours.

No way! I would love to hear what showers mean to you. :)

Oh, they're just a time where my mind is allowed to run free and not be consumed with responsibilities or overwhelmed by screens and social media - one of the only times when I don't feel guilty for not fixating on what I should be doing. Also, they're a reminder of the tangibility of the material world and that I have a body; I'm usually lost in my own head and neglecting my body or treating it poorly in service of whatever I want to do, like making music or watching something or whatever, so activities where I directly deal with my body can be supremely refreshing.

Damn, Thats a hard thing to share, glad showers can still be there for you. When im really depressed i take shbaths, where you lay down in the shower, always helps.

I love baths too!! They also are less scary for me. I need to get a bath plug. :>

shbaths

Not just baths, but shower baths. Regular baths are good too.

When you cry under shower you not even realize that it splashes water for removing your cry, and clear all dark patches you got in your mind.

@laurelmons Hahaaa well said!!!!

I doubt you actually read it from your comment.

Those bots cant help it, be nice! (jk)

Thanks for sharing, pretty powerful the shower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52