A Day In Kherson, Ukraine

in #life7 years ago


Picture taken somewhere in Crimea out of the bus window.

A few days ago me and my cousin had to cross Russia-Ukraine border in Crimea to go to Kherson. Our journey began in the city of Kerch. As many of you guys know, there is no real transportation system left between the peninsula and Ukraine, there used to be trains, buses and planes that would travel both ways. However people move all the time and new ways of getting around took place. One of them is taking a bus, or rather a mini van towards the Russian border checkpoint, walk through the neutral area by foot and then go through Ukrainian border control. On the other side another bus picks you up and takes you to the destination. Time wise, it doesn't take too long, I think it's around 7 hours of riding total. Anyways, the longest and the most boring part of it is crossing the border, we had to wait around 2 hours in line each way, too many people on both sides and so little workers on the clock. Oh well. I heard it isn't always like that, some people get lucky and get through within an hour.

I apologize for quality of pictures, but they were taken in pretty much complete darkness at Ukrainian border checkpoint. Also if anyone is interested in learning more about crossing the border in Crimea, let me know in the comments and I will happily write another post about it.

Disclaimer: All of the photos below were taken by me randomly as I was walking the streets of the city for one day. I have no idea about any sweet spots that may be there as it was my first time visiting. I would hate to see anyone get offended by the pictures, but it is the reality I faced.
However I would love it if some people showed their town from a different perspective as they please. Peace.


Now back to the city of Kherson. I have never been there before, but the circumstances made me have to visit. And just so you have a better idea what sort of city that is, take a look at what Wikipedia says about it:

Kherson (Ukrainian: Херсо́н, Ukrainian pronunciation: [xɛrˈsɔn]) is a city in southern Ukraine. It is the administrative center of Kherson Oblast (province), and is designated as a city of oblast significance. Kherson is an important port on the Black Sea and Dnieper River, and the home of a major ship-building industry.

Taking that into consideration, you would expect to see at least a relatively nice looking place. Since I was born in Crimea, the city of Kerch to be exact and then lived in Sevastopol, I do have an idea of how declined most post soviet cities may look like, so I was not expecting a lot, but I didn't expect to have a fallout sort of experience. Mind you, I reside in Detroit, I've seen the decay. Anyways, what you are about to witness is not some suburbs or abandoned neighborhoods, this is just regular streets inside the city limits.

This is a Kherson Cotton Factory. It was built in 1954, but after USSR collapsed it couldn't really operate and hardly made it through the 90-s. It stopped manufacturing in 2011 and was ultimately liquidated in 2013.

I don't think these light poles were ever renewed either, looking at all the rust on them gave me a strange feeling like I magically found myself in the past. Reminded me something you'd see in Pripyat . . .

On the other hand, next to the abandoned ghosts of the past, that nobody cares about you can see modern malls and sometimes renovated buildings or rather certain parts of buildings that are occupied by businesses. Sometimes you can even read a sign that says "Post Office" behind super tall wall of grass that grows in front of it and never gets cut.
To be completely honest with you, I don't think I've ever seen roads that bad before either . . .

Just being there made me feel really sad about the people, I understand it isn't easy to fight the man and make the city officials do something, but I truly hope that changes for Kherson.

For now though, enjoy this picture of a cat I took today at the market in Kerch. Ain't it just those odd things that make you smile ^^

Sort:  

In some ways it looks like Detroit, if that makes sense...but I know Detroit is making some progress.... Hope you have a safe journey.

Yeah in a way, but not really, at least in Detroit the grass is getting cut haha

I am very happy @kotturinn that you are once again with us to tell us your loving story of your adventurous journey.... today I knew a lot about you that you are a Gallivanter , a travel journalist and a best overall writer ... I feel that I am with you and watching and feeling the places the peoples and the things... This is because the way of your writing ... In which you tell us your story.....the pictures are pretty good because of its reality and originality ... one thing more @kotturinn that I am late to response you..... because I was not expecting this post that much soon... Its great that you have spare some time from your busy journey..... and write this beautiful post for us...So its a great surprise from you..... And one thing more that Crimea is a great place which gave birth to our great friend @kotturinn ...........

nazirkhyber_01.JPG

Thank you @nazirkhyber! I am happy you enjoyed this post! That place was sad to be at, I hope it gets better soon!

It will get better soon, time is a great revolution and it will get better with the time... tell us about your traveling , adventures and surroundings so we can also enjoy this trip with you..... have a great time @kotturinn .....

Thank you! I hope you are going to a great day as well! I just made another post about Mud Volcanoes, check it out!

Это ж чухонька на последнем фото- да? Это ж мой нарКОТИК

Ой, я не знаю как называется, я проходила мимо пока кота не узрела. Но сушеную рыбку тоже обожаю!

главным объектом съемки всё же кот был, а чухонька так - антураж )

Можно и так сказать :) хотя слово чухонька я ранее не слышала хаха

нормально доехала? Как летела?

В этот раз быстрее, чем в прошлый так как из Москвы билет был на Симферополь с меньшей разницей во времени, поэтому недолго сидела. Из штатов без задержек, но в Москве на час, но задержали. Ты же в Симферополь идешь?

ну да... накатанным маршрутом Сакраменто - ЛА - Москва-Симф. У меня обычно в москве пересадка часовая

Я беру с большей разницей, конечно, так как часто летом они задерживают. А ты с какой авиакомпанией летишь из Москвы в Симфер?

я беру один Аэрофлотовский билет на всю поездку... так что если у них где что не стыкуется - это их проблема

так сказать начинаю привыкать к родине с самолетов - сначала лос-анжелос - Москва с нашим хамоватым сервисом, потом уж Москва-Симф... ну и добро пожаловать на родину

А понятно. А я через Домодедово, там Аэрофлот не летает, из штатов у меня Детройт-Франкфурт-Москва Люфтганзой.

Interesting read, I have never been to this part of the world. Thank you for posting, I've followed you.

Thanks! Yeah, this part of the world is definitely different.

nice post ! nice photos ! keep it up

I shall! Thanks~!

Кот замечательный:)

К сожалению, только кот.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60051.08
ETH 2417.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43