Dealing with Holiday Depression

in #life8 years ago

The holidays are supposed to a time of happiness, getting together with loved ones and celebration. Unfortunately for some people (including myself) with the holidays comes depression. While not always announced many people suffer through the holidays feeling unloved, unwanted and alone. Perhaps out of their own decision making, lack of friends and family or simply because they don't have anyone to celebrate the holidays with many people will experience depression in one form or another these holidays.

This Year I REFUSE to Suffer in Silence

The last few months of my life have been stressful, for lack of a better term I've slowly watched my friends and intimate relationship crumble around me. In part this is of my own doing, I've simply been too depressed lately to properly maintain any sort of relationships with anyone and living out in the boonies of Canada certainly hasn't been conducive to my mental health whatsoever.

As ludicrous as it seems to type, most of my emotional support as of lately has been coming from the community here on Steemit. While not one of you on here has ever met me in real life I've got to thank you all for being there for me.. That's a lot more than I can say for the folks whom I'd reckoned were there for me "IRL" but seemingly evaporate when I need them the most.

When it Snows, It Blizzards

I'm honestly not sure what type of bastard I was in my last life time (or this life time) to be subjected to the heavenly highs and gutter lows that I seem to cycle throughout my life. This winter so far has been pretty shitty overall, excluding the obvious sub zero temperatures this month I've now had to uproot my life due to an eviction and to top it all off it sounds like my girlfriend of the past year an a half is breaking up with me before christmas. FML x 100

While I guess I could have seen this coming for a while it certainly hasn't made anything easier. All I can really do at this point is pack my life into little boxes, take deep breathes and remember that all this pain I'm currently crippled by is only temporary, this too shall pass.

Speak Out, You Have No Need to Suffer

It can be extremely difficult for some to admit they are struggling to cope. I'd like to shed the social stigma that those whom speak up about what is causing pain in their lives are weak people, we aren't. Infact those who speak up and share what they are feeling and going through are stronger than those who choose the cowards path of taking it out on themselves. We are all human beings with feelings, sometimes those feelings are overwhelming and cause great despair for those subjected to them.

While I might not be the best counsellor.. I'm here for anyone who needs it. I'm gonna need the same sort of support from the community in the days ahead. <3 KLYE

If you need to chat I'm generally around: https://steemit.chat/channel/klye

Sort:  

hang in there man.

IMO, this is kind of where youre supposed to be mentally when youre in your 20s.

Oh man, I've been here mentally since I was roughly 12 or so...

The only difference is that 12 year old KLYE still preferred the company of lego over women.. Life was marginally simpler back then! Now I've got bills, projects, budgets, failing relationships and a plethora of shit that I wish I didn't have to deal with but do..

Where the hell is my boxes of lego?! Some days if I could go back...

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.32 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@klye, I suffered from depression for years and I can say my isolation was the biggest contributor. Now I'm just aggravated to be around so much humanity. Best wishes and I have no idea why I hadn't followed you earlier. Im praying for you my new friend.

Thanks runridefly for the prayers. Isolation is something that I once found comfort in.. But now it serves only to imprison me from a social life outside of my online connections. Maybe once I get back to the city I can regain my fire for life again and start shrugging off all of this sadness.

@klye, get out and get the blood flowing. I used to workout like a madman for that awesome endorphin high. Gotta change that blood chemistry my friend. So glad i clicked on your post.

I've just recently started working out again..

I developed a pretty lean coders bod over the summer.. Maybe over the winter I can bulk up again.

this too shall pass, bro...

Thanks for the comment man.

Everything is temporary, I just need to remember this going forward.

Indeed, cheer up... celebrate first Christmas and New Year of Steem together with everyone, 😉 we are here!

True enough! I guess there is a small reason to smile there.

Can't say spending christmas on Steemit sounds all that bad when compared to the alternative which is spending it alone.

You are not the only one who gets this. Feel free to dm me if you want to talk. This tends to be the worst time for me too.

Thanks cryptofiend.. I figured I wasn't the only one going through some holiday blues. Same goes for you man.. Sure I'm a ball drawing nutjob but I'm here if need be.

Oh, I know the feel, bro. Because of what I wrote the other day. On the other hand, though, my family always gets along really well during Christmas, so that's a plus.

But Christmas has always been tough after losing her.

Stay strong.

And you can chat with me, if you feel like it. :)

Thanks man. I don't feel really strong at the moment but I'm still here.
I actually talked to my mother in the first time in like 4 months today, as much as a bastard as I was to my parents growing up it's nice to know they're not holding grudges.

Same goes to you dude. I'm certainly not the best set of ears out there but if you need to talk crazy ole KLYE is around.

Awesome of you to reach out. This time of year many that are struggling will not reach out to anyone because they feel there is so much going on and don't want to be a bother.

Hopefully I can lead by a bit of example and perhaps save someone else suffering needlessly through the holidays.

Cheers mike.

Good post Klye. Can understand and especially at this time of year what is meant to be enjoyable can be really stressful. Unfortunately now its all about money and about meaning and that causes pressure to spend more than you can afford.
I am more in a fortunate position however when down think what you do have. You can walk,You can talk. You can see.All of these things we take for granted but some people have none of these

I am not dismissing I have it better right now than many who've been afflicted with disease or hardship.

My life could be substantially worse than it is right now.. I hope it doesn't go there. :/

Hey @kyle, i used to have many friends! Loved to always go out socialize! Now i hardly do it because maybe i haven't found the right group of friends! I'm constantly working at home and when holiday is around the corner everyone is out there looking for me! Appreciate People! We all become better Humans over time. You might not have plans to be somewhere but it pay to good to people! just Smile whenever you see someone!

Having a hell ofa time smiling today. Not easy to sleep or eat.. 2 days till christmas and I sort of just want to crawl in a hole. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05