Unforgettable Kitchen Experience That Is An Eye Opener

in #life5 years ago

ibudsyyx03.png
enhanced the drawing I made 2 days ago on my introduction post

My earliest attempt to cook something in the kitchen was a nightmare. I went to visit my relatives far from home and had to stay there for days. One day, everyone in that house had to leave either for work or school and I was left home like alone.

Usually, everyone comes back before lunch to cook and eat but on that unfortunate day no one came. I didn't know what to do not sure if someone is coming back so I can finally eat. I can hear my tummy rumbling already I know I can wait until my younger cousin came. He is 8 or 9 and is back from school to have his lunch. Being the older person I took it upon me to be in charge. I don't know how to cook but my younger cousin has to eat and go back to school.

I don't have any money or not enough money to buy take out food. I feel the pressure to become an adult and do what adults do on this situation I am in. Crying or complaining and feeling defeated would not help. Someone has to eat that's my issue. I looked around the kitchen could not find any frozen or even left over food in the fridge for this kind of kitchen emergency.

Finally, I saw a small pack of rice grains. Wasted no minute and cooked it. No idea how much water to put and how long I need to cook it I just went for it. The packaging didn't have instructions how to cook rice and I do not even know how to use the rice cooker. Should the rice be fine what is next what do we pair it with? I saw a ripe mango by the counter and took the flesh out ew rice and ripe mango?

No one ate anything. The rice is not cooked properly as I kept adding water as soon as it dries out took me 30 minutes looking observing and tasting I could not forget that experience. From that moment on I made a firm decision to start learning how to go about preparing anything in the kitchen from learning how to use the appliances and tools.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kitchenelf! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @kitchenelf

As a follower of @haccolong this post has been upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail.
This is free upvote first when you follow @haccolong

Use Partiko for activities on Steemit, you will receive bonus points. Dowload Partiko app for your phone at here. If you difficulty when convert points (Partiko) to upvote, check the instructions here.
cry_e.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35