Making Eco-Friendly Easy: Trash is for Tossers - 2 Steps to a Zero Waste Lifestyle PART 4

in #life7 years ago

As I continue to evaluate my lifestyle, I contemplate Lauren Singer’s introductory questions regarding Zero Waste.

The third question was: What do I actually use on a daily basis (what is in my daily routine) and what do I not use/need?

Thankfully, I’ve already adopted a semi-minimalistic lifestyle through the years. I do not like shopping, I sold most of my clothing and accessories, and cut back my makeup/beauty routine. Most of the items I use on a daily basis are what I consider necessities.

I most frequently use electronics - my computer is my world. Due to my poor mental health, I am currently unable to work at a typical workplace/ pursue a stereotypical career path. I use my computer to work around these limitations; for example, I blog in order to get social interaction and extra passive income to help cover the bills.

I am unsure how to go about decreasing my dependance of electronics (or if that is even something that interests me). But to fit my habits into the lifestyle I am pursuing, I will begin to research alternative energy resource options.

Personally, I would love to go “off grid” without giving up the comforts or conveniences of modern day life. That means solar, wind, and/or water power sources are definite points of interest for me. I would also like Wild Rose Acres to eventually become completely sustainable and independent.

Other than electronics, food is the only other staple in my daily routine… which means packaging is my biggest source of waste (as I mentioned in Part Two). So while I am trying to adopt a healthier diet, I must also learn where and how to purchase food items that reduce packaging waste.

I think this was one of the most important questions to ask myself in this personal development/zero waste journey. Contemplating this question allowed me to realize that changing a lifestyle does not have to mean giving up things - it simply means finding alternative ways to get those things.

I understand why many people may consider living eco-friendly/sustainable to be more of a chore than a pleasure. More often than not, individuals are encouraged to reduce their impact by giving up something. However, I think a more effective way to include eco-friendly practices in our ever progressive society is not to eliminate the comforts and conveniences of modern day life, but to streamline the process of finding alternative ways to access them!

Do you think people would be more willing to live sustainably if eco-friendly choices were made easier to adopt into modern day life?

PREVIOUS ZERO WASTE ARTICLES:

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Photography from Pexels and used under the CC0 license.

This is a 100% Steem power up blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75