AMAZING Shisha and Pizza in BEIJING'S Traditional Alleyways!

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

I met up with a subscriber from my YouTube channel that wanted to collaborate in Beijing. I live in Qinhuangdao, which is about 2 hours away from Beijing by high-speed rail.

I really love the alleyways in Beijing. Most of them have been destroyed due to urbanization, but some of them have been preserved to keep us in contact with Beijing's history.
hutong.jpg
These alleyways are known as Hutongs in Chinese. They are traditional style alleyways that people still live in. It is how the people of Beijing lived for hundreds of years and I really like walking through them. I have another post dedicated to these hutongs!


Pizza Dinner


As we were walking through the hutongs, we spotted an incredible pizza restaurant that serves authentic pizza! The one thing you need to know about Chinese pizza is that it is quite different to what you would be used to in the USA. The toppings are really different. You can find pizza with corn, squid, dragonfruit, etc. and the pizza isn't as cheesy as in the West.

I haven't had pizza in years and I am so glad I found this place.
pizza.jpg
I fell in love with this place. I have to go back there when I return to Beijing.


Shisha


We continued walking around the hutong until it got dark. This is when we decided to kick back and smoke some shisha. I am of Middle Eastern decent, so I grew up around people that smoked shisha. I personally never really smoked it so this was my first time smoking it for a lengthy period of time. Previous times, I just smoked 1 or 2 puffs and that was it.
shisha.jpg
It was a really enjoyable experience. We relaxed with some shisha and just started chatting the whole time. I think Andrew and I got a long really well. I will probably meet up with him in the future. He's a cool guy originally from North Carolina.

The whole area got quite dark but I usually feel really safe in China. There were barely any lights in some areas but we felt at ease. We didn't fear getting robbed or assaulted.
alley.jpg

That's all I've got for now folks! Hope you enjoyed this post!

Thanks for reading & watching!


Check out my other posts!


The Difference Between Teachers in China and the West
What Kind of Imported Food Is Available in China?
MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!
The MASSIVE Construction Boom in China!
Why I Left My Engineering Career To Be a Teacher in China!
Is Chinese Food Low Quality? Organic Farming in China
Why The Heck Did I Move to Communist China?
What's It Like For A Canadian Living in a Small City in China?


Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Looks really good, I'd be curious to try some of those interesting toppings. One of these days I'll have to see if I can mail you a Chicago pizza. I have a buddy out in Vegas who's originally from Chicago, on occasion I'll send him some portillos or a pizza, its funny how we all crave our favorite foods from back home when were away

Lol, a Chicago pizza delivered to my place would be pretty epic dude hahah.

Uff that delicious are those pizzas here in my country sell similar, in the famous "Streets of hunger" It looks very good pizza, it is good to meet friends through these networks

That pizza picture made me hungry! Lol. Happy to hear you had a good time!

I haven't had pizza in ages. I really really enjoyed this pizza and Andrew's company.

Thanks for sharing this post, I don't think I've had pizza in China but a friend of mine mentioned that chains like pizza Hut are higher end there than in the USA but I guess it'd still be American style pizza

But the pizza you had sounds really good, cooler set of toppings that I want to try some day

Is the collaboration going to bear fruit sometime soon? Haha

Yes. Pizza hut is more high-end then back home bu you will still get American style pizza. I've had it once. Not bad.

This pizza was just awesome. I loved it!

He's a cool guy. I might meet up with him again in the future. He has a YouTube channel and I told him about Steemit/DTube.

Damn you!

Now I want pizza, especially something authentic, most of the time what I find is frozen, or made with sawdust, ketchup and something that looks like cheese, but isn't. (not a fan of Chinese style pizza)

Used to make it at home, too labor intensive, and I don't have a big enough oven anymore.

I have fond memories of "Hello Pizza" (now defunct) in Shanghai, 10RMB 10" pepperoni pizza that actually tasted OK.

Ah yes, the ketchup pizza sauce! That seems to be what most countries use in non-Western countries. I remember a pizza place in Syria called Pizza Hot (lol) that did the same thing. It isn't worth their time to import pizza sauce because it is more expensive and less abundant. They just replace it with ketchup because locals won't know the difference or won't care hahaha.

That pizza look delicious..ammm

Those pizzas are delicious, but nothing out of the ordinary, I think the pizzas are all the same where you put them ...

You need to come to China to realize that this pizza is definitely out of the ordinary lol.

Well, in that you're right, I can not judge without having tasted a piece ... China has many strange but good things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54