Check Out The Business Class Seat on CHINA'S High Speed Train!

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

China's high speed rail is light years ahead of anything back in Canada. This complex network of high speed trains works almost flawlessly and it is really affordable. Every time I have taken the train, it was the 2nd class seat. Second class is good enough for me but when I took a trip from Beijing to Tianjin, there were no 2nd class seats available. The train would only take about 40 minutes to reach my destination and there was ONE business class seat available.

I thought to myself, hell yeah! Let's do it!

Normally, the price for a 2nd class ticket would be 51 RMB ($8.02) but the business class seat was 174 RMB ($27.38). I didn't mind paying that price because this was a good opportunity to make a video about the business class seat and hopefully earn that money back from Steemit & DTube!

6.jpg

There was a lot of leg room but they didn't have overhead storage like they have in 2nd and 1st class. You could store your baggage at the back of the car so that was OK, but I would rather have my baggage stored somewhere I can immediately see.

The seat was super comfortable. Check out the video if you haven't seen it already. You could recline the seat back and kick your feet up. There was also a power outlet so I could charge my phone and camera!

7.jpg

China has at least 2 versions of high speed trains: the D-train and G-train. The 2nd class seat on the D-train does NOT have a power outlet, which can be inconvenient because your phone is likely to lose a lot of battery power on long distance trips.

They also provided snacks and drinks included with the ticket price! I got a peach drink and a box of various snacks to munch on.

Check out the video for all that cool stuff! I should have taken more photos!

Thanks for reading & watching!


Check out my other posts!


The Difference Between Teachers in China and the West
What Kind of Imported Food Is Available in China?
MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!
The MASSIVE Construction Boom in China!
Why I Left My Engineering Career To Be a Teacher in China!
Is Chinese Food Low Quality? Organic Farming in China
Why The Heck Did I Move to Communist China?
What's It Like For A Canadian Living in a Small City in China?


Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hello!
I enjoyed your article about the business class seat, I am tall and comfort while travelling is important to me, so I am at my best when I arrive, and not hurt by the travelling cramped quarters. I am also intrigued by finding out your an engineer who left Canada to teach English in China. I wonder why you chose China over other countries and how you like your new career? (nothing wrong with China, just a general question) I plan to follow you and read your blog. I hope you make your money back on that seat from this article. Unfortunately my SP power percentage is running low, but I can't pass up a chance to reward you for sharing, so you have my upvote and my follow. I hope to give you greater rewards in the future.
@shortsegments

I was initially trying to go to South Korea to teach but those plans fell through. After seeing some videos about China and clearing myself of the ignorance I used to have, I saw China as a really cool place to live and I don't regret moving here.

I love this new career. I have a lot of free time and can work on other things I am passionate about like making videos! I fortunately made my money back and then some with this post thanks to DTube's upvote!

Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful comment. Look forward to seeing you around!

I read some of your other posts and learned a little about the other cities outside of big ones like Beijing. I am happy to hear that those cities are much better and the people live a good life. I am also glad to hear about the English tutoring network you formed, that sounds smart and very useful.
Thank you

Good thing you could try the executive seat! Apparently, he traveled very comfortably and personally, if it were a short trip, he would choose a lower class, but it must be exciting! I have never traveled by train, but I see that it is like traveling on a bus with more comfort and more distance. Is the price a bit expensive but do you think it was worth it?

Yes. The price is more than 3x more expensive than the 2nd class seat. It was a nice experience but I don't think it was worth it. It isn't something I will do frequently. I just wanted to try it out.

That's a pretty sweet business class seat, perfect opportunity to try it out! Snacks and service and lots of leg room galore

Would you do it again?

Probably not. It was a good opportunity because Beijing and Tianjin aren't far so the ticket price wasn't that expensive. If I have a short distance to travel, I might go on business class again just for fun, but I don't think I would want to spend 3x more money for it during a long trip.

Most of the high speed trains I have been on are usually decent. Even economy class isn't bad, if you are sitting with well behaved people.

The stories I could tell about some of the passengers I have shared trains with though. Kids peeing on the floor, people spitting everywhere, and the smell, its quite noxious, then again, most of these lovely experiences happened before high speed rail existed.

I still like the sleeper car the best, its the only way I can sleep while in transit.

High speed trains are quite good as long as you aren't sitting with loud and obnoxious kids. The older trains are a completely different story though. Those ones can be dirty and uncomfortable. Someone I know told me that one time he was traveling on those trains in Henan province and someone brought a live pig on the train hahaha.

I have taken the soft sleeper and deluxe sleeper. When I was on the deluxe sleeper, I was with a guy that snored so unbelievably loud. Ironically, I got a much better sleep whilst on the soft sleeper.

I'd prefer to be around animals, (except roosters) rather than some of these creatures that call themselves people.

Kids are OK, its their parents are usually the problem, almost always.

Loud snoring is quite common, its better than rooster crowing all night though!

Riding in style looks super nice

It does. Will you ever take a trip to China one day?

My girlfriend has always wanted to go to China so I'm sure we'll make it out there one of these days. I remember years ago I heard the Chinese government was subsidizing trips in an effort to bolster tourism. I forget teh price but it was dirt cheap and you stayed in 5 start hotels, great restaurants and meals and it was super cheap. Wish I had taken advantage of that

Oh man. That would've been awesome. There are so many places to check out here.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89