Why You Should ALWAYS Time Yourself

in #life6 years ago

22310594_1695553010456354_7083338223225285411_n.jpg

Timing your every move may seem like a ridiculous habit. But it’s quite beneficial in so many ways.

Gain Clarity

It’s easy to lose track of time. Not only that but it’s easy to be confused on what you wasted it on or how long it takes to do something. Timing yourself will give you a rough idea of how long something takes. Although to get an accurate idea you may need to. Time yourself multiple times because different factors may affect different outcomes.
athletes-1544445_960_720.jpg

It forces you to sprint

Sprinting gets results and fast. It allows you to dedicate a lot to a task, then take a meaningful rest. These bursts of work allow you get a lot more done. Have you ever bolted around the house cleaning everything? Haven't You noticed overall you got more done that day? If you time yourself, you’ll feel more rushed and that extra pressure to get things done

You’ll Know How Long To Make Your To-Do Lists

This is another one associated with clarity. Having an accurate idea of how long to make our to-do lists can be helpful. When we put too much, we may get less done and feel more burned out. When our to-do lists are too small, we may not feel challenged

It’s essential that we find a balance in everything that we do

DQmYAHaEJ4aFmGXXfv5Wv8dHbym7i8YQydPUbWmewQTcfTS_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Great advice!! My entire life is scheduled...well that's what it feels like! With 4 kids, split parenting, running a business and trying to have a life everything is on the timetable :)

WOw! That is inspiring that you do so much! Thats good you've gotten good at scheduling though.

It is a good way to accomplish much more in a shorter time, so long as you don't burn out and become unable to do so much so soon. Sometimes it is good and bad to speed up the tasks if you know what you are doing, or as long as you eat and keep healthy etc.

Exactly! You have to be careful to not burn out, Which is an issue I have myself quite often. Thats why brakes are necessary.

Every day I do my todo list, and have a rough view of the time required for the tasks, because I timed them before. Thus, I already apply what you preach.

But not for every objective, even professional. a side of me rebels. I am not sure this is the way it should be.

I managed to put myself in a professional situation where I only have commitments 3 days per week. It doesn't mean that I laze off the 4 other days.I have global objectives, but I do not have precise plans.

actually, the planning exists as I know what steps to reach to attain the objectives, but there is no temporal constraints to these. I choose objectives which are that way.

I prefer playing on creativity, thus just enjoying the process. And when I look back at what is achieved during the last year, I am amazed. So, it does works.

IMHO, for many people (not all of course), not being bound by a schedule, allows to get more done, because they are into it 100%, and not within a temporal prison.

1 step at a time, no stress, and the objectives are reached naturally.

That's it, in life time really matters a lot, it's the passage of time that makes one grows old, and that's is why it has to be spent wisely, minimized and thoroughly managed well.

An to-do list will act as a check and balance for you in other to keep up the pace in anything you do.

Amazing percepective here @kaylinart

@kaylinart How are you? I have honestly been in the steemit community for just under two weeks and i am so excited and inspired by what I see and the genuine enthusiasm that I have met compared to other platforms has been awesome. I found you through a steemit graph search because I was curious if there is any affiliates that might be out there. Your blog on the subject was a very well written detailed blog actually a pleasure to read along with the one you have written here. I dont want to explain everything here because this is your platform and you are a very talented super impressed seriously. Me Im a saxophonist and my affiliate marketing skills are helping me to live that passion more yet at the same time I'm now finding myself flying the flag for steemit and the amazing stage we all have to put ourselfs out there. I am not the greatest blogger but Im learning and want to share what I learn along the way. Can we please arrange a chat on skype I am looking for some one like yourself to brain jam with because I have some great ideas and I think your experience will be of great value. I will be sure to be following your posts in the future. Permission to share? :)

haha I never finish my to do list :( Another great idea Kaylin!!

Aww I'm The same way sometimes. So when I am not able to get it done, I try to figure out why. And sometimes I cut it back. That usually helps :)

I have a feeling you are going to help me stick on track for things I want to do this year girl! :D HAHA you had inspired me already, especially after that post about steeming like you mean it (like a job) heheh!

Great your post

First of all, we must realize that we are important to everything. This must be our movements and our thoughts against the outside. I told you yesterday. You have everything. With a good planning you can accomplish everything.
I repeat the same thing again.
It is very nice in sharing. I am happy to read your shares. I guess I feel I need to take care of myself. Thank you. @kaylinart

When acted with the awareness of time management people:

  • Spending more time with family,
  • To be more together with friends,
  • Listening to music, reading books, etc. they will be able to devote more time to activities. This list may be longer. But many of these requests can not be made by complaining about the lack of time. We all have 24 hours a day. The resource is limited, but there are many ways to use it. Successful time management does not have much interest in working, filling every minute of the day with work, exhausting at the end of the day, exhausted. Using time well is rational, conscious and planned to work. Not planning time well, in other words, may cause ambiguity of targets, failure to use time without priorities, which prevents the fulfillment of requests. The prominence of time management emerges here.
    Thanks for sharing.. @kaylinart

time is important

its very hard to manage your time, but if you do u will see a great results
@kaylinart

Are you threatening me!? My bungole will not wait!

No my friend i'm peaceful guy :) lol @cornholio

Too often, we stuff our lists with items that we don’t need to do or which don’t need to be done today. That crowds out the more important items and might result in working longer hours unnecessarily.

Make such a list, and classify the tasks in 4 sections: Urgent + important (including important for you like having some time to rest and hobbies), urgent + not important, not urgent + important and not urgent + not important. The last category, just dismiss it, then use the 3 others to set priorities....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34