Why I am a Risk Taker

in #life7 years ago

risk-jumping.jpg

As an investor, you have to be willing to take on a certain amount if risk in your day to to day business. Calculated risks can pay off big for investors , while jumping into everything and anything can get you into trouble. It's important to know what risks that you can bear and which you should pass on.

I myself am very much an avid risk taker. I have always went after opportunities that others might consider risky. Ever since I was young - I have been prone to taking on risks. I never put much thought into why this was the case - it simply was. I moved away from home when I was 18 years old and immediately moved to a new state I had never even visited before -but there were opportunities there - so I wanted to take the risk.

risk-reward.jpg

What kind of risks do I take? Usually they are financial risks - but I have been know to take dangerous physical risks as well. Such as cliff diving, riding dirt bikes, scuba diving, flying on airplanes, bungee cord jumping, job changes, and even once attempted to join a fishing boat to catch crab in Alaska. I do calculate the costs and the benefits and decide if it is worth the risk. But what stops a lot of people is not knowing if something is really worth the risk or not - especially if the rewards aren't immediately evident.

I would have to say that many of my risks have paid off and a few of them have really bit me in the ass. I am not doing it out of blind greed, I genuinely enjoy seeing the results from a well thought out plan. The life I have today is a result of risks that I took over 17 years ago. Still, I continue taking risks, especially when there is an opportunity for rewards.

I fully believe in the old adage - " no risk ... no reward"

 

What drives this passion taking on risks? I have never stopped to think about it before, but have recently been giving it more thought. As I look at the options in from of me and recognize the risks - I contemplate whether or not I am making the right choices and wonder if other people would take the same risks. When I look at some of my acquaintances, I know that there are risks that they would not take on - yet , I would do it without too much hesitation. So I gave some though to where the root cause is and why I am so willing to take on things others would shy away from. I have finally come the the conclusion and and I think that it is worth sharing with others.

Here is the answer

 

I have confidence.

I have confidence that even if a particular opportunity or risk blows up in my face that I can get back on my feet and recover. It's really that simple. I don't worry that I will be out of money or out of a job. I have always felt that irregardless of the situation, that I will be able to make the best out of it. I feel like when life throws problems at me, they are only temporary and can be overcome with more planning, and more time. I am not afraid of lean times and I am no stranger to being poor for a while. But I always come back in one way or another. Having the confidence that I will be OK no matter what happens allows me to see the world from a different perspective - one of opportunity, chance and rewards.

Taking financial risks has paid off for me more times than I can count - while I have also lost thousands of dollars on risky situations , I have gained much more by taking chances. Furthermore - the people I know who don't take chances are doing the same things they were 10 years ago and have not experienced much personal growth. That is the other side of it - I have experienced so much in my life because of my willing to take on adverse situations- I have learned more than I ever would have, and as a result have experienced the kind of personal growth that gives me even more confidence. So it works like a positive feedback cycle - the more risk I take, the more confident I become.

fear.jpg

Most people will avoid risk because they fear the consequences. I do not fear the consequences, I respect them. I anticipate them and account for what I would do if faced with them. It does not make me perfect or immune to suffering. I have suffered for my decisions. But, I also pick myself back up and re-engage life with a renewed sense of purpose and a fresh set of ideas and plans.

In Summary:

Life is abundant with rewards and opportunities for those willing to take the bull by the horns and shoot for the moon. Don't let fear stop you from growing and becoming the best version of yourself.

take-risk2.jpg

 
 


 
 

 

Please be sure to check out my others articles on real estate, investing , and cryptocurrency ( and some other random dog stuff)

I always upvote comments to my blog posts

 

Top 5 Real Estate Posts this Week 11/12/17

10 ways to Make a Small Bathroom Look Bigger

House Flip Update: Kitchen Cabinets

House Flip Update: Patio Renovation

How to Earn More Income with Out of State Investing

The Secret to Finding Real Estate Deals in a Hot Market

Sort:  

This post received a 100% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @jorlauski! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

Congratulations @jorlauski! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51