The Incredible Potato DancesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes life can seem pretty serious.

Especially if you're watching the news on a regular basis or you give any of your attention to the growing plethora of haters and naysayers.

It's good to be reminded that just laughing and being silly can brighten up your day in an instant.

Yesterday I was feeling a bit serious.

A bit frowny, and a bit burdened.

You know the kind of feeling.

My love came into the kitchen as I stood there wearing my "disapproval face", contemplating things like responsibilities, chores and the fact that the bin needed emptying. (I was feeling quite sore about this last fact.)

He took one look at me and immediately put his hands on his hips, looked up into the air with a sniff and started bobbing up and down from left to right in some kind of inexplicably daft, swaying rhythm.

A few seconds passed as he continued and I gravely regarded his antics without reacting.

What do you think of this then? he asked after completing a few more bobs.

Not much. I replied haughtily.

Fine. I shall take my incredible potato dance elsewhere then.

And he waltzed out of the room.

My "disapproval face" cracked into a smile and I burst into laughter at his sheer ridiculousness.

And just like that, the world was a better place and the overflowing bin no longer mattered.

Apparently, it was I who was really being silly by taking things too seriously and forgetting to just grin at the crazy, upside down world we (by an infinitesimally small chance) are living in.

So my message today is for anyone else who has donned their "disapproval face" this morning....

Don't forget to be silly, people.

Don't forget to be silly.

Thanks for stopping by!! Here are some more posts you might like...

The Swindle

The Inexplicable Jiggery Pokery

The Photographer in Us All


Follow me, @johleen if you like the kind of stuff I do. :)

Sort:  

Well, that's my evening sorted out then. Learn, practice and improve the new "potato dance"! Looks like a lot of fun. :)

Haha! I can think of few other ways to spend an evening that would be as productive!

wocka wocka wocka!

AHAHA! I do the same thing outside!! My fiancee always gets a bit embarrassed, even though she can't hide her smile. I never called it anything, but a potato dance is a great name for it! You know, I was planning to post about all my antics like that, but I'll hold off to give this post the proper breathing space it deserves. I shall resteem this tomorrow for more coverage!! :D

Hahaha! Wonderful! Another silly dancer! Everyone is admitting they do this... we are all secret potato dancers at heart apparently. :)

I can't wait to see your post revealing all!!

It seems we have been member of the same cult after all. We are all... cultpable for our groovy tendencies it seems.

Oh dear...!!! That was so bad it's great haha!

How did you know the title of my Biography??

Hee hee - you're really too much Mr. Jedau!!

Ha!! That's exactly the kind of thing I do! Like all the time! Top notch. It really does work :0)

I'm amazed at all the secret incredible potato dancers that are coming out of the woodwork right now! It must be something very special and innate to the human race lol!!

It might just be a happy man thing!!

Love it. Happy men do incredible potato dances. Yes, I think I can get behind this theory!!

i do something like this when my misses is pissed, ha i thought it was just me. normally my dance is like a wild rabbit hahaha

Hahaha! I'm starting to see a plan forming for the Sheffield meet up.... XD

I will let you start the dance off, and if no one laughs at you then I might join in :)

Haha! Deal. :)

Oh so I've just found another Sheffield Steemian who is going to come along. It's @rbennett.

thats ace, the more the merrier :) still trying to find some one to print steemit ballons, every where asks for stupidly high prices to do it.

Oh that's annoying. Well we could just bring along some cardboard to put a sign on the table if you can't find anywhere for a decent price....

Also, I will chip in for the balloons if you like!

that's a very generous offer, I will keep looking and see what I can find, it is mainly so pricey because they want to print in bulk and will not print like 5 to 10. ebay has only one seller who does this kid of thing and he wants£35 for 20 ballons or something.

Can I just say I love you? Haha! Actually I'm serious. ;) I have one of those, the potato dancing, get me out of grump mode...happily I also am one of those when the opposite is needed :)

I saw that you had a problem with the dtube video, I also happened to upload it to youtube. No diggity is really the perfect song for cracking smiles-

Aw lady, hell yeah you can say that! The feeling's mutual!!

And oh my god, I was hoping it was this No diggity.... I've lost count of the times I've danced to this song. One of my all time favs... Fabulous cover here - his guitar solo (I guess it's all a solo really, but I mean the guitar breakdown!) in the middle is out of this world! Thanks for sharing the vid!

You write very well hopefully this paper gets the upvote that there is and resteemed everyone. so your position is quickly upgraded. keep working waiting for the next post

Thanks. :)

you'r welcome

Thanks for the reminder to not stress the small things, and the good laugh. I love your blogs :)

Hell yeah, don't sweat the small stuff! Thanks so much for coming over and reading, I appreciate it and I'm glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60412.47
ETH 2375.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62