The Victory

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The alarm went off at 6am.

A bit of nudging and grunting from my other half prompted me to open one sleepy eye, reach over and turn off the alarm. I congratulated myself on having the wherewithal to get up early, meditate and exercise before the kids got up, and then promptly went back to sleep.

30 seconds later an hour had passed...

And what was supposed to be an oh so beautiful, peaceful and virtuous start to the day became a manic riot of multitasking madness.

Again.

My love turned to me,

You know the hour between 6 and 7am doesn't really exist, right?

I know, I said, and mentally flicked on my 'can multitask anytime, anywhere, anyhow' switch.

For the next 60 minutes I simultaneously made toast, found socks, shoved food into lunchboxes, fed the cats, refused a game of cards, washed my hair, shouted, cajooled, flew up and down the stairs and poured coffee in the general direction of my face, before driving triumphantly into school like we'd just won the 4X4 world athletics relay.

I texted my love,

"Happy kids. On time. We Win!"

Sweet! he replied.

And as I sauntered into my office with a victorious smile on my face, I thought about how it really is the small successes in life that buoy you up and put a spring in your step.

Not that big wins aren't fantastic, but these little wins see you through the day.

They make you feel like you're on top of things.

Like you can handle life. Like you're in charge.

They make you feel that your big wins are actually within reach because you've got your shit together

The bottom line is, any big success in life is really just a sequence of small successes. And each small success is really just a string of tiny successes.

And on top of that, every failure is a success when you learn something from it.

So, I'm happy to sit here feeling like I just single-handedly won the battle of Waterloo because the kids are in school on time. And I'm pretty sure that the cup of coffee I make in a minute will also be a resounding success. Then I'm going to answer my emails and rejoice in yet another victory of the day.

Heck, I can see today going down in history as one magnificent success after another.

And tomorrow.

And the day after that... :)

image source


Thanks for reading!! Here are some more posts you might like...

Like She Woke Up & Decided to Wear the Sun

Sharing Sheffield Street Art in Celebration of the Upcoming Sheffield Meet Up!

Introducing Surreal Selfie Sunday Challenge!


Who I'm Loving Right Now:

@cuteve


Follow me, @johleen if you like the kind of stuff I do. If you don't, then don't!!

Much love!

Sort:  

Right, right, right! I agree with this 100%! I was supposed to comment more on the slow start to the day, but I became transfixed at the small wins when you mentioned it. I like how you put it, the small successes in life that buoy you up and put a spring in your step, because it really does! We may not always get the big wins we crave, but when the little victories add up, they produce the same effect :D

I can't believe that with everything you had time to refuse a game of cards! That's a superpower right there! No wonder mothers are the real superheroes :D

Haha! What I said: Not right now sweetheart, we can play later though... whereas in my mind I was thinking Are you frickin' kidding me child?! Does it look like I've got 10 arms and a couple of hours to spare?! XD

HAHAHA! I just knew that your mind went there haha! I'd bet they'll understand it when they have children of their own, and you'll be chilling as cool grandmas do. How's it feel child? Karma's a... female dog, isn't it?

LOL!! Grandma's revenge...!!

It's great that you get to etch this on the STEEM blockchain. In case STEEM still thrives when your kids would have kids, you would be able to point them to this block haha!

That would be very cool! :)

wonderful. love the way with words and that mental picture was awesome - also 'Like you can handle life. Like you're in charge' - even if it's just for a moment, that's LIVING not existing. good job ninja mom.

Haha! I'm liking 'Ninja mom'... :D

Glad you enjoyed. :)

And yes, I agree:

even if it's just for a moment, that's LIVING not existing

It's like the difference between 'reacting' to life and 'responding' to life. In the former, you are at the mercy of whatever comes your way, in the latter you are making your choices and living life on your terms...

One day at a time and it can all become amazing!! Hopefully ;0)

One day at a time....

Hey, you cracked my life master plan!!

They call me the cracker... Or something!

Thank you so much !!!! <3 <3 <3

Im love how you express in your word :D
Lovely ^ ^

You're welcome!

You have such a talent, your drawings are so beautiful I'd love for more people to see them. 😊

Ill be happy to !! ^ ^
Again thank you so much <3
For all your support :D

@johleen got you a $1.25 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@johleen got you a $1.25 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Johleen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a Bellyrub and 2.26 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @johleen. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51