The Good Cab, Bad Cab (by inuke) - Part 2

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,
I hope you all are doing great and I am back with a new episode of "The Good Cab, Bad Cab."

Previously The Good Cab, Bad Cab (by inuke) - Part 1

The Good Cab, Bad Cab.png

"Sir I am driving for 2 years, No progress"

Now, this is the statement that you often hear in the cabs in India. I rarely come across cabbies who are content and happy. But, most are unhappy, Because of the price hikes in the fuel they are affected the most. In addition to the companies who always have some loopholes in their agreement to exploit the poor guys. But who was I, I am a passenger at that moment and my one concern should be the meeting and not these things. Since he replied with a different tone I also felt like talking and asked more.

"I rented one car, and now no driver, brother not helping and I am working overtime"

The picture was clear to me. He has his own business and he is struggling with it. Having two cars on loan is not easy and the bank never shares the sympathy that I was feeling towards this fellow now. I asked him what is his plan. He was planning on selling one car and leaving another car to trusted someone. And he is going to look for a job. And without hesitation, he asked me If there is any vacancy in the company that I work for. Now, I was taken by surprise here. I told him clearly that I don't have any requirement of people but If he is interested he can come and check with the HR dept. But that back of my head I started wondering what would our HR do? Anyway, I got back and asked again, why does he really want to get rid of the car and looking for a Job, Then I heard what I believe was 100% truth.

"I don't like driving sir."

By this point, he was stating the obvious.

"Hmmm". This is all I could respond back, which the driver interpreted as me looking for more explanation which I wasn't.

"Every month, I am getting 30K INR from this business and around 20K NR is going back into the EMIs and maintenance and with remaining 10K, what am I supposed to do?"

Now I know people who are earning less than 10K and are able to support the family, But I think that's, not my place to say. So I kept quiet and listened to him.

"Sir, I know a lot about IT industry and would love a job there. I have friends who are doing nothing but getting around 25K for going in nightshift and sitting in front of the computer"

The more he talked, The more agitated I was getting. I kept on going with one mantra in my head "Not my problem". I know it sounds bad but I was losing my cool, This guy has no respect for the job that he is doing and moreover, he thinks that IT companies are paying people just to show up. Perhaps he is not aware of what is going on in the IT industry with the cost-cutting and downsizing many are suffering not so long ago the local news channel has covered the topic where many IT employees have asked for a compensation or some sort of relief when they were asked to leave. things are bad, yet there are people who think that just sitting in front of the computer and doing nothing can get you paid 25K if anything he would be the first one to get kicked out. Anyway, with all these things in my mind, I still stuck with "NOT MY PROBLEM".

And what do you know he kept on going about how the cab companies are looting them and how his brother is not helping him with the business, but he has helped him with building his house after completing his. Now, this struck me. He is able to save 10K every month from the business and he doesn't have to pay the rent. I mean this man has possibilities, not many but still and yet he is asking the question what am I supposed to do?

I was about to tell him that how the other people are living, but the phone started ringing and it was my boss asking me where am I and how soon can I get there because apparently, this would be a great opportunity for me to get acquainted with the General Manager too.

Now I have something better to think about.

The Good Cab, Bad Cab (by inuke) - Part 3

EOD.png

I am inuke.png

Thank you for taking time off for reading my post. I hope you like the story and if not, please do let me know what did I missed. that would be of a great help.

inuke2.png
Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited Community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Cab business is one of the profitable business India, due to the lac of quality bus services

That can bee debated. Hahaha. Thanks for your time :-)

omg, never talk too much with such people. A few more minutes and he will be asking favors. I too had such an experience when I travelled by uber and the driver was blah blah and thank god, my son was with me. it was getting dark and he asked me if I would like a short cut through a deserted village road and I almost shouted No and thank god, reached our place soon. phew. swore never to travel like that and needless to say, it cost me nearly 1k when I could have come by bus for 40/- :p

That was a very dangerous ride that you took. I would have been a good post in itself..
I don't usually indulge in conversations while traveling but this one was on my area of interest that's why I played along..

Thank you for your time and sharing the experience.

yes, I hope I dont go take a ride like that again.

I have seen drivers who left their IT and marketing job to become a driver. The reason being they decide when they want to work. If they are not interested they will just switch off the app and go home. Perspectives change from one person to another.

And that's the very reason I named this as good cab, bad cab.. :-)

an interesting story

Thanks man, I am trying to make it that way..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45