FML: I hate that term when people say it in chat "FML" it means "f--my life" and then they explain

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Well I want to say that too.. and feel it. FAMILY & FRIENDS always want free computer help? NON-STOP??

free-computer-help-fml.png

If you are into cryptocurrency, and work with computers a lot, you probably have been through this before..


Let's get the basics out of the way:

  • I like helping people
  • If I have the skills to help someone, I enjoy doing it most of the time
  • If it is a friend or family member asking, sure, I can spare some time to help you.
  • Helping someone isn't about payment. They might return the favor one day when you need it too

So what is the problem @intelliguy?

When you hear this.... I celebrated my birthday recently....

I get a call from my father. He says: "Happy Birthday @intelliguy".... and I thank him. He waits 12 seconds and says "by the way listen, I'm having a problem with my computer. Can you look at it soon?"

.
.
Disclaimer: No my father doesn't call me @intelliguy but the 12 second wait is very true... :(
.
.

I have to wonder what my father thinks of me on my birthday. I am I his son, or a free human resource to his computer problems?

.
.
Now I do not suggest everyone has a father like I have... but the point is... some of us skilled computer people get over used, or expected for free, on a continual basis to help friends and family. That is where "FML" is 3 initials that now I have come to understand why people say it.

When someone is expressing themselves, the way I am talking, readers may feel the need to come to my rescue and say things like...

  • You could just tell him, now is not a good time
  • You could find ways to deal with people who want to monopolize your time
  • You could do this, or say that..

I know... I have a lot of options.

It just sucks sometimes, and this is a rant and vent... not looking for solutions. But I just want to vent on how much it can suck when friends and family want help, and expect you to be "right there" when they need it..

..but when they ask for computer help in the same sentence as "Happy Birthday"... I think things have gone way too far. :)

You know what? Maybe I'll try something out of left field...

Out of the blue, I'll say this.....

"Dad, why not invest $500 into steem? This way you can upvote my witness node @intelliwitness and help me with my votes I'm struggling to get?"

....and it would be awesome if he'd do that...

I just would point him to this post that explains how to support me by giving a free vote:
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@intelliguy/understanding-the-steem-blockchain-helping-to-run-a-legitimate-witness-intelliwitness

....he'd probably do it... except for one thing...

"Can you show me how to do it?", he'd ask. Then I'd be back to square one again. lol.

FML sometimes. I have more appreciation now for why people say FML :)

Thank you for witnessing my rant. If you want to support my steem witness node named: intelliwitness this is how you can do it. It's probably easier asking you to do it than my own father. :)

Isn't that weird? Those of you reading this post could help me more than my own father? I think that's weird. That's life sometimes. Just weird.

Sort:  

this has been the story of my life .. Not only my everyday life but my working life too.. I was the fall back guy for when everyone else failed i got the job and they need it yesterday.
Nice rant .. i should use the #metoo tag

I must honestly say, I am a little like your father. I ask @exyle to help me if I have problems with my computer. I do, also honestly, help him if necessary and when he cannot help me with TeamViewer (online) than I feed him an extra special meal. I know that he has the same 'problem' you have, with family and friends. It has to be is a question of 'take' and 'give', not only 'take'.

That takes guts to admit, but I am proud you did. :)

You should be thankful you are not a "Plumber." Now those folks get abused! And teaching your dad about Steemit... you like opening cans of worms do you?

It's all about the barter with family and friends who forget time is money.

It's a case of ....ughm...let me look at my calendar....

how 'bout xyz date...

with a swift...

btw....I really have a taste for an apple pie....'can' you bake me one...lol...

That feels so wrong. After all, we're talking family...

friends I get...

but family...ah...come on...

it's family! ;+)

Peace.

LMAO I run into this sometimes.

One way of looking at it was that maybe he didn't want to make small talk and beat around the bush on it. Then again, this is your dad! My mom and younger sister are similar.

At least he remembers your birthday. Silver linings man... silver linings! Good rant—can relate! <3

I can relate. I once did an assignment for a friend and he ended scoring than me. I used that FML. Doing it for your dad is like you having to borrow his computer to open another account for yourself

..but when they ask for computer help in the same sentence as "Happy Birthday"... I think things have gone way too far. :)

Nah. When somebody asks you for money or the keys of your car, is when things really are getting out of control.

Believe me, I know.

Ahhhh the 'you known stuff in your field issue'

People do want to know actually in general but are often biased by their own stubborness AND lazyness..because they know you have the answer in 2.1 milliseconds

Insert different workfield at birthdayparty:
-karin do you still work at the hospital with your oncall shifts
'Yes I do.. but this week no oncall which means I have a life YAY!!'
-Im asking because I was wondering.. I/grandma/neighbors ex cousin is having xyz-complaints while taking a dump....
'I just told you I am NOT on call right?? But uhhh...what is the issue? Let me see if I can figure it out'

Congratulations @intelliguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42