Venezuela Observatory : it all started with "Hope"

in #life6 years ago (edited)

In support of our project @walkofhope two months ago, my friend @osm0sis started a drawing and coloring contest here, using her great grandfather's drawing. As part of the judges then, all great entries I was exposed to day after day, and of course, I got familiar with the winning entry by @itachi24j here, HE IS FROM VENEZUELA.

DQmac7UL1P4RRJUZ8Whw2tttgUYbGS3WWgiJ8vdCYYLg1Su.jpg
Disclaimer: credits to @osm0sis for the original drawing, edits by @itachi24j

There were other entries from Venezuela, but his entry was the chosen one. What caught my attention were their stories, all heart-breaking and if I dwell on it, I will go crazy. What more, if not all, for most Venezuelans who are trying to survive day after day. For how many years now?

For the kids and the elderlies?

Anyway, this is an extract from @itachi24j 's post:

As you know, in Venezuela there are several problems, there are no: cash, medicines, food ... in the drawing you can observe the day of a Venezuelan, when he lines up for many hours (the day he can buy by his ID number ) and when finally enter the supermarket to pay: the merchandise is finished or the points to pass the cards do not work.

In youtube there are loads of stories like this. In one video that I saw, a mom with a baby on her back was in a queue for hours, only to reach the front with nothing left of the rations.

I know that Venezuelans are hard-up with money, but even if some do have and the situation is like this?

Seeds of HOPE

Not long after this contest, @whatamidoing actually posted about sending SEEDS to Venezuela. What's needed then was for somebody to spearhead that project. But even though there were not, a few people HEARD him and started the ball rolling. I do believe that we can HEAL THE WORLD.

TOGETHER.

There will always BE hope.

Best wishes Venezuela. Our thoughts are with you. PLEASE HANG ON.

This post payouts will be sent to @gabyoraa for some feeding events to help out.

I'm attaching the Venezuelans' entries here:

https://steemit.com/life/@itachi24j/drawing-and-coloring-contest-supermarket-odyssey-s

venezuela-goes-towards-a-precipice

drawing-and-coloring-contest-win-sbd-s-campo-nazi-en-el-siglo-21

my-entry-for-drawing-and-coloring-contest-by-osm0sis-in-support-to-a-walk-of-hope-project-by-steemph

Sort:  

Your work is really great mam, and one day your project will be a successful project in the world, and my best wishes and pray with you, because this work is really blessing, thank you so much for sharing with us.

There are news about Venezuela if we try to find out. Although a lot of news are also manipulated. It's people are suffering.

yeah, nothing came of that idea directly but I don't regret posting it, I learned a lot from the replies and I believe I met you through that, I met @gabyoraa and discovered @bifilarcoil's passion to help.

Back then I didn't know anyone in Venezuela, and the lack of news / information kept me in the dark as well.
Then last week the Observatory Idea came to mind. To show how little i know here in Europe, and to draw initial conclusions. This resurrected the idea. and from the looks of it, we now have the momentum to give it another try. I still don't know much, but enough to get started. I think it is best to stay in the background, and to just listen to The Venezuelan people what they need and then try to help them to make it like that (the channel). Back then i was new to discord myself, and my knowledge is still very limited. So it would be good to have someone with Admin skills. And maybe with a less chaotic mind them me to keep an eye on the structure

I didn’t know you had kept the room going so I left. I’ll come back, need s link

Imma and Gaby and steamdan have the link, i'm currently having a hard time with discord. The thing is not loading after steemit and discord went down on friday. Looks like a DNS issue. I cleared the browser cache and flushed the DNS but still no luck

Have u left the veggies' room??? we are all there.

Ok I’ll rejoin!

Hello friend @immarojas, you are absolutely right in Venezuela we have many difficulties and shortages of various products, but it is good to say that there are also many Venezuelan, fighters and entrepreneurs, who are struggling to show a better face, of our beautiful country, as well as there are people who ask for food, othet people are working a lot, to just build a better country. It is a complicated task because unfortunately the greatest crisis, is the loss of values, if we all did our work with dedication and honesty, no matter who governs we would have a better nation.

A tiny sliver of hope against all values lost can grow bigger. We can try. Be well.

Well said ma'am !!!

Hey girl. I'm just seeing this post!!!!!!! I was out yesterday giving food to the people in the street. Tried to take some photos but It was a bit hard. I understand they don't like to be photographed. But I have an Idea we can go around. Talk to you on discord.

Give me a sec!!

I think I will never thank you enough for taking a part into this observatory iniciative. It's been a really tough 20 years, and there have been many struggles before that. Venezuela is a developing country/state, and has had to fought numerous and impossible threats throughout our two centuries we've been a country. I cannot imagine the struggle before that, but that is completely another topic.

Right now there are also numerous problems which seem not only impossible, but too hard to organize people against them. There's no room for mistake, yet all we do seems to make everything worst. I think that the only best solution that can be implemented to Venezuela is to strenghten the bonds between people who wants to do something about it. And to organize everything into not only ideas and solutions, but a greater plan. A way for us to lead by example and not by charity. Because I'm a believer that as a venezuelan, and as a human being. I need to be able to change my behaviour, my attitude, the things that I do wrong and the things that cause an impact on others. That is something that all venezuelans must face in order to restore our power, our talents into a fair life, a better understanding on communities and how they can evolve, how we can do so.

I focus on the charity part because I think that there are many people in the world suffering, and even though with charity one can organize help and translate it into a better situation, there are always going to be people left out. And I am a survivor without charity yet I cannot talk for everybody else suffering more than I do. I have tried to join challenges, to ask for help, to sign up on documents and websites. And not even once I've been given any help, yet the organizations and funds, medicines tend to be much more than before. That is why I won't stop working, until I feel I have nothing left to give to the land that allowed me to be the person I am today. I am a leader for change and I will continue to grow, to help everyone and every community.

I believe that we have great leaders (over steemit) here, I'm excited to see, and moved by the efforts I've seen not only venezuelans, but amazing people lending a hand to poverty, to other people with less resources. I think we must focus our energies into adressing them, organizing ourselves so everyone that wants to be a part of this movement knows each other and what their best attributes or abilities are. I can help with the food, water and overall social part. I grow not only food, I propagate thousands of plants and know how we can turn that to tons of food grown by each community, region and overall societies. I have a great weapon and that is success. I just need to keep building myself up and many around me. Cheers, and I hope that all of you get the happiness and success you deserve. Thank you!

It's sad hearing about this side of Venezuela @immarojas. Before Steemit most of the stuff I heard was from westerners who'd moved there and were enjoying it.

Do they keep separate rations for the foreigners I wonder? 😢

I dunno much Gillian. As most news are manipulated..we need people who are there to report what is happening.
Food might just be controlled and abundant to a few. But it's hyperinflation there with not much money, not much in the stores.

I'll have to ask around @immarojas and see if I can find out more news on the ground.

Would love that Gillian thanks, i hope your friends are well over there.

I wouldn't call them friends exactly @immarojas. They're more acquaintances I met online when I was doing the drop-shipping so don't have much contact with them these days. But I'll certainly be asking them some questions is I come across them in the not too distant future! 😊

I can answer a lot of questions about Venezuela and what is really going on here. As we're talking about an entire country, and it isn't that small, you are going to see different areas, regions or social conditions. There is food, but people don't know how to produce nor distribute it fairly. There is money but people aren't good with finances. I could explain all of this in a better way, and I could really use your help, because I've been only on steemit for three months and, althought I have met and found amazing people, I still need to work on how I communicate and spread this kind of information out. Thank you for taking a time to ask about our situation and thinking how could many more help. I am deeply humbled by your communities, by people here. Thank you!

My discord username is steamdan#4270. If anyone feels like giving my voice a chance, I just need to be not pointed in the right direction, but more than just that to be lead, to find some guidance into sharing our situation and how we can organize the support and the building of better communities over here. Again, thank you!

It's nasty over there, have been for a couple of years now. People are leaving if allowed, some aren't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94