How I Played My Way Back To Good Health And How You Can Too!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

       

Let me tell you exactly how I played my way to recovering from mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual decay. Yes I said PLAY! Just like the kids we were, we can play our way back to health. 

You know how people love watching and sharing the highlights of life? Of course because it feels good and things appear to be going well. 

However, for the last year and a half I had been watching and sharing the lowlights. The lowlights of my life kept playing in my head over and over again. I felt stuck and unable to shake what I was dealing with.

                   

And then came this book. This book become of the most important things that helped me refocus my life and break free of what had been holding me down for so long. Reading Play It Away was the first step I took to reclaiming my life from the dumps. I was overworked, stressed and worried about everything. I even worried that I would die. That's how bad things were for me.                     

Here are the main things I learned and this may help you if you find yourself in a similar state of life:

  1. Overwork is a serious problem and it needs to be addressed as soon as possible
  2. Depriving yourself of play is most likely the main cause of an unhealthy life
  3. Go in the direction of what you are most attracted to
  4. Don't feel guilty about playing because your body and mind literally depend on it
  5. Surround yourself with people (Steemit relationships are good but face to face relationships are even better) that want to have fun and treat life as play.
  6. Although it will be hard at times, start looking at work as something that is to be enjoyed
  7. Write out the anchors that are holding you back in life and try to find simple solutions to get rid of them



Mankind's Search For The Ideal World & How It Can Lead To Final Destiny

Reading this book and the Bible, which is directly from the mind of the Creator of all things, put life in perspective for me. There is a new and infinitely better world that is about to come and you do not want to miss out on being a part of it. 

In fact, you are invited to the biggest party in the history of mankind. Peace is coming to the world soon. Having this new world to look forward to everyday keeps me fighting to continue helping, encouraging, loving, and inspiring people. My life has changed forever. 


Traveling!!!

My wife and I along with our little lioness, Nala took a road trip back in October. We had fun hiking in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Then we traveled to Las Vegas, Nevada which is where I want to live one day. In Vegas we hiked, camped and ate so much great vegan food. Man I hated leaving Vegas. After that we headed to Phoenix, Arizona to stay about 4 days with my wife's grandpa. We mainly chilled out at the house enjoying the refreshing pool as well as went hiking to see sexy mountains. Lol. I know that last part is weird.

This refreshed my mind so much and helped me to refocus and think about what I wanted to do in life and how I could get it done. Taking road trips like these helps you decompress and get away from stressful and deadly environments. 

High Levels of Creative Work

I am a creator, therefore I create. I love creating. Whether it's writing on Steemit, making music, brainstorming creative ideas, a little graphic design, making videos, I enjoy the process of manifesting things simply from my thoughts. 

Creativity is the juice that can mend your mind and start the recovery process. Working on creative pursuits has made a night and day difference in my overall health and I know it can work for you too.

Becoming A Better Basketball Player

Watch: Is HumanEarl Going Pro? 

So as most of you know by now I really enjoy playing basketball when I get the chance. The fact that I get to workout my body and improve my physical health makes such a big difference. When I was dealing with all that crap for so long including a shoulder surgery I had gotten away from playing this game that I enjoy. 

Once I begin working out and playing B-ball again my vigor shot through the roof. Now I want to focus on continuing to play and improve my skills. Find a sport or exercise that you really enjoy and have fun with it. This is a miracle for improving your health. 

Float The Stress Away

I didn't know what to expect from floating at first. But I will try to give you an idea of what floating is like. 

You are in room temperature water that is so salty it makes you float. You are alone with your thoughts and you have to face yourself. At first your thoughts will run wild due to not having anything to stimulate your mind. It's not scary it's just completely different than anything you've done in your life. Your body relaxes and the tension melts like butter. You may go to sleep which if you do it will be the best sleep you've never had. 

After about 30 minutes or so depending on how long you paid to float, the water jets will come on to let you know that it is time to exit the pod. Do not rub your eyes. Remember you were laying in salt water and it will burn if you do. Ahhhh. You feel so loose and refreshed. Now for a quick shower to wash the salt off and you're on your way to a much more relaxing day. 

Get Your Head Right

Now I've only done meditation much more recently but what I've noticed was that I was alot less anxious and less prone to getting angry. Meditating allows your mind to just BE. It's not about trying to change your thoughts. It's simply about allowing your mind to relax and focus. 

This is also another thing that has aided in my recovery and I now understand why so many people talk about using it in their lives. There's an app called HEADSPACE that pretty much walks you through how to meditate. Maybe you'll find it helpful. 

Wrap Up

Now I understand why I have been dealing with so much in the last year and a half. It's because of you my fellow Steemians as well as others in the world. I went through all those horrible experiences so that I can share with you how I overcame those things. Shouts out to @evernoticethat for the comment of the day and reminding me of why I had walked through the fire. I am still on the road to getting back to 100% but these are the things that overhauled my life. I wish all of you peace from the Creator and I love you. This post is for you!

Shalom



Image 1 2 3

Sort:  

Great words of support to those who are in the situation.
All you need is the plan, the road map, and the courage to press on to your destination.

a very inspiring story from your side!

@humanearl,
ආයුබෝවන් සහෝදරයා here සහෝදරයා equals to brother! So, I am starting this comment in this way! What you write today, I feel awesome! The way you deduct the stress level, the way you made inner peace and the way you balanced your family life actually this is what we all need to here! Sometimes, I feel my life is not balance well! I am an IT guy and have to balance Professional life and Family life and now I have to balance STEEMIT life as well! So, with my busy life style I think I need to follow what you said here!
I missed my favorite game Cricket due to this life style, so this is very stressful! I wish STEEMIT will lead me to make my financial freedom! If that happens I will be like a bird :D That's what I need to do! Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful experience with us!

Cheers~

Brother! @theguruasia trying to coordinate your life is really tough to do. But it's not impossible. Stress causes so many health issues. Sometimes we need to take a step back and reevaluate life.

@humanearl,
I hate that feeling bro! Sometimes I get angry for nothing! So I will follow what you told us today! Hope it will give me good results too! Really appreciate your help bro!

Cheers~

Well said my friend @humanearl. I really like how you are regaining your health.
We already know that what you focus on you attract. Worry, fear, and negative thinking allow the mind to focus on things you don’t want, so Mind Power teaches you to eliminate negative thinking. Train your mind to think about what you want in life, and avoid thinking about what you don’t want. Negative thinking drains your energy and is counterproductive; that is why fear is so destructive and why despair and hopelessness must be avoided. They work in the opposite way that Mind Power does.
A thought has no power other than what you give it. Negative thoughts gain momentum when you think them over and over again. So stop thinking them.

The key is to catch the negatives before they have time to become entrenched. With practice you will notice right away when you are thinking negatives, and you then can take the appropriate actions. The mind is a creature of habit, so encourage positive thoughts and eliminate negative ones. Really excited about your well-being now.

Your brain literally changes as new habits are formed. Thanks @princesson

Thanks for your post!
Please Follow, Upvote & Resteem my post to help us to travel & explore more
https://steemit.com/travel/@jonbee/travel-with-us-ep-01-kushtia-sugar-mills-kushtia-bangladesh-bd-steemian

To enjoy good health, to bring true happiness to one's family, to bring peace to all, one must first discipline and control one's own mind. If a man can control his mind he can find the way to Enlightenment, and all wisdom and virtue will naturally come to him.

Reading posts like this makes me want to find a nice big piece of infertile land and rehabilitate it. Maybe the side of a mountain. I'd grow things. Mostly things that can be eaten. I wouldn't use chemicals, so the birds, animals and insects would get a share (until their natural predators come along).

For now, I have a plant pot with two different kinds of chillies. I love looking at them every day.

I love spicy food so I would like to have a chili garden. My wife use to grow jalepenos.

Also your mentioned living in the mountains. Mountains exude power and grace. It would be amazing to wake up to everyday.

you are learning and keep on evolving you don't stop that's what makes you the best human ever keep inspiring and smiling :)

I will keep smiling and keep on inspiring just like you said. It inspires me that yall give me so much feedback on my posts.

Awesome thanks for sharing! So inspiring!!!

Continuous anything is bad for health. You need a balance. If you are stressed then a break is a must.

Playing releases happy hormoes and sometimes satisfying ones. Hence, playing is the nice trampoline to jump high on your next adventure.

Awesome buddy.

I wish more people understood that. You said it best.

Play It Away is a brilliant e-book, in which there may be a lot experience that you shared with us.
Few people in reality get out of difficult life conditions, so they retain to degrade. perhaps due to the fact they have no one to help, possibly they do now not have sufficient electricity for this.
I usually believed that the power to discover within each people, it should be capable of use and it must be capable of awaken. you're an example of this, and that i wish that many, on your instance, might be able to trade their lives.
thanks

@robinsoncaiso I wish the same for people. Many people don't understand the root of their stress.

Awesomeness. At first glance I thought your title was a typo...I expected to see a to-do list, and a tutorial about how I "play" back to good health as you did. So glad I was wrong. Excellent post. Seriously

@droiderly It's not so much a tutorial as it is a philosophy or frame of mind. This is what helped me and I really believe that many people can use my experience to use it as a guide to help them in their own lives. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58