You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still Sober with PTSD: Conquering a day on 3 hours of sleep.

in #life7 years ago

@lexikon - Been there brother, and after 25 years I feel like I was "pulled-through-the-knothole". Some of the negative events of military service can hang around like "Ghosts". I made the choice (for myself) to get some counseling. Not recommending it, but putting it out there as an option. It doesn't "turn the lights out" but damn sure has put a 'dimmer switch' in my head when I "trigger". (Night & Day Difference) You might check out my post on addictions (just the other day) - it's no "Fix All" just some information to consider. I've watched it several times (the videos), and it's been implemented and adopted by several counseling groups here in Bozeman, MT. Just remember, the only day you have to deal with is today - and "pain is weakness leaving the body". (Sometimes we just have to 'hug the suck')

Sort:  

I will surely check out your post on addictions! Will be nice to look at a few resources to add tools to my toolbox. I have tried Cognitive Processing Therapy through the VA and admittedly dropped out. I wrote a post about it. I can say counseling gave me some tools to use but the overall experience did not help me progress very far. I know I may need to re-explore that rode in the future and will keep an open mind about it. Thanks for reminding me to 'hug the suck' lol. I will truly try to hug as hard as I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69371.89
ETH 3768.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71