Flight attendant's life: Tiring and Intense Annual Safety trainingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Annual safety training is coming in two days. It means it's time to study that more than 500 pages safety book for the examination. This training day is instructed by HKCAD ( HK Civil Aviation Department) and our company and it’s also applied to every airline all over the world. Once you fail the examination, you will get one more chance to pass the exam. If still can’t pass, you’ll be fired immediately and your record will forever be there. Of course, it's hard for you to get other jobs from other airlines as well.


(I spent few hours to update my safety book at new year's eve. Try to be a good student =P )

Still can’t forget how exhausted and stressed when I went through a 7-week safety and service training four years ago. First two and a half week we had to attend safety-related classes, such as first-aid training (how to apply CPR/ use AED for passenger who suffer heart attack) , swimming training ( in case airplane ditch and we need to know how to swim for saving ourselves and other passengers), how to operate the doors of three different types of aircrafts ( we have airbus 330/340/350 and Boeing 777-200/300/300ER , Boeing jumbo all retired last year) , how to search bomb and use all the safety equipments etc. All things are too new for new joiners and it’s so hard to remember all those technical knowledge. I remember every day I finished class and went back home, I was unconscious and I needed oxygen for keeping alive LOL.


(one day swimming training.)


( This practice is for emergency landing. I can say sliding on the slide raft from the top(at least 10m height) many times is not that fun. So many girls cry when they are forced to slide down.)

Then of course we had to learn how to serve the passengers. Start from the first day, we were brainwashed by this slogan — “service straight from the heart”. I really hope I can do my best in this part. Like paying attention to the details on how to serve passenger meal and drinks, having small talk with passengers then make them feel good during the trip.

Due to lacking of manpower( Compared to other airlines like Emirates who also using same aircrafts as our company, we are short of at least 2-3 manpower in every flight), unfortunately, we are really busy and tired to answer call lights, distribute and collect the trays etc. Sometimes feel so sorry to the passengers that we can’t give them the best as they pay a lot for the tickets. They deserve a better service from us. Anyways, I hope our lovely so called ‘premium airline ‘ can stop doing some stupid ‘cut-budget’ movements to kick our bosses out. They are the real one to pay our salaries not our company. No passenger no airline.


( I love passengers who always show their sympathy after landing. I meant it. Feel super great when I know someone who do notice our tiredness and appreciate our efforts.)

If you wanna know more about how to be a flight attendant, such as the interview process, the training details, please feel free to let me know. I would like to share some experience to you ;) It's time to go back to study. Wish me luck =P

Have a great day guys!
Gladys

Please follow me @gladysmak if you wanna know more my crew life.

Introduce myself -
https://steemit.com/life/@gladysmak/you-re-beautiful-my-friends

My flying life -
https://steemit.com/life/@gladysmak/how-cool-is-it-to-be-a-flight-attendant
https://steemit.com/life/@gladysmak/the-questions-people-usually-ask-a-flight-attendant
https://steemit.com/christmas/@gladysmak/a-hong-kong-girl-s-first-classic-european-christmas-in-czech-republic
https://steemit.com/christmas/@gladysmak/a-hong-kong-girl-s-first-classic-european-christmas-in-czech-republic-part-2

-- Photos are captured from Google.

Sort:  

A little bit late but I wish you a very healthy and successful 2017 :-)
Re-steemed ;-)

Thanks Jochen. It's never late to say it!! Wish you all the best and have a fruitful 2017:)

Thank you :-)

I have never known any flight attendants in my personal life, so I had no idea about "behind the scenes" until reading your post. I don't fly very often, but I have in the past, and I know a good flight crew can make a long, boring flight far more enjoyable. Thanks for sharing! :D

Thanks for reading it @enternamehere. Sharing my work experience by writing makes me feel so great after being stuck in the airplane for more than 10 hours every day. Kind of relieve. Haha. As you said, good flight crew makes flights good , at the same time, sweet and lovely passengers also make my days too. :)

Perhaps one day our paths will cross in the skies! Happy and safe flying to you :)

very nice post!

Thanks for your comment @olga.maslievich :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44