The Colors Behind Your Eyelids

in #life6 years ago

There were needles all over my body, making it difficult to move. I lay there, my eyes shaded, trying to remember if there were any in my hands or arms. Could I move my limbs safely? I couldn’t get a glimpse at my abdomen that was stuck at least six times, because of the eye shade. That would have been a curious site, but without my glasses I’m blind as a bat anyway. It would have been a curious, blurry sight.

IMG_20180716_222815.jpg

The shade on my eyes wafted a heavy, flowery, herbal scent. I think it was meant to be a relaxing tonic. I find scents for relaxation unhelpful. Yes, they do smell lovely, and I think they do relax people with mild nervousness. But can a smell really contend with the level of over-thinking that I have mastered? I might be arrogant, but I think not.

When the needles go in there is always a mixed bag of reactions. Sometimes I feel nothing, sometimes I feel a deep pain for a split second. Sometimes I get a sensation of movement somewhere else in the region.

“Only in acupuncture are you satisfied when your patient complains of pain,” I had said in jest to the woman ten minutes earlier.

“We want to make sure the needles are working,” she winked at me.

I lay there, not confident I could remove the shade from my eyes with the question of whether my arms were trapped at my sides. I got weird about being trapped blindfolded, my mind started to turn that over. Damn it! You are relaxing! I drew my brain to another topic.

It had been four years since I had rested on my back, trapped on a table by a bunch of acupuncture needles, listening to the soft music of some sort of Asian flute. I’ve never liked that music, but I have a pretty strong association with it and my acupuncture clinic now. The clinic is in an old house on the outskirts of town, with a wide porch, and a kitchen in the back. It has seen a lot. In four years I’ve seen a lot.

Life seems to get more and more complicated with each passing year. Four years ago things were pretty simple. My main concern to slip off to acupuncture was whether or not my husband was watching my baby more than he was watching his phone. We never realize the benefits of the moment while in the moment though, or at least I struggle to. It is hard to remember that present day complications only seem insurmountable now. Everything seems sleepier and milder once it is in the past.

IMG_20180812_213533.jpg

I looked at the colors. When I close my eyes tight, I see movements of color. I think everyone does, but we hardly ever pay attention because when we normally close our eyes, our mind wanders to the day’s activities, or just to sleep. The colors aren’t bright—it isn’t like daytime behind my eyelids—but vibrant.

They started as blobs of sickly green, constantly moving, eclipsing each other. Then, presumably as I grew more relaxed, I started to see blue and purple. Blue and purple are common for me. But this blue intensified, into a color I loved and hadn’t seen before. A more vibrant than usual blue.

I mentioned it to the acupuncturist. She told me artists are the ones to usually see colors. Fancy pants me, getting artistic even at rest. In Chinese medicine the colors relate to the elements and organs. The green was my liver, the organ chronically unhappy with me in Chinese medicine, despite the fact that I have done little to tax it from a western viewpoint. The blue was my kidneys—the wellspring of life. The wellspring renewing me with its beautiful blue. I’m not sure what the purple is. Nobody knows I guess.

Soon she removed the needles, and not a pinprick visible. She sent me home with herb pills to take, that look like black pearls. It’s been four years since I got to swallow a black pearl. Kind of fun to swallow beauty.

Anyone else ever see the colors?

Sort:  

I see white noise. so you are back to seeing your accupuncturist huh?
what does that do for ya?
don't ya think it would be easier to just buy a cowboy hat?

😂😂😂.

I don't think a cowboy hat provides good health for anyone that isn't Texan.

Acupuncture is good for every aspect of health.

"Acupuncture is good for every aspect of health."
right. even if it's just once every four years?

Absolutely. It helped at that time. To continue the benefits you gotta keep going.

Are you sure is white noise and not dust what you are seeing? 😅

haha! howdy there blacklux! it might just be dust that I'm seeing, I've been seeing alot of dust since the drought has been with us!
how are you?

I have plenty of water here, I can send you some rain... Let me put my rain dance outfit...

ahhaha! Howdy back! you're too funny blacklux, I can see how you got to be rep60 and a minnow, you would have done it in 6 months instead of 12 if it were not for all the disasters and stuff!

Dust falling from a cowboy hat, no doubt. I hear Texas is a dusty place...

but he thinks is white noise! White noise is the thing where you listen ghosts... what kind of witchcraft this cowboy is doing?!

In dreams. That's where color is.

Purple could be reproductive organ, based upon chakra idealogy.

That would make sense about the purple.

I don't get a lot of color in my dreams, or not anything more exaggerated than real life. My dreams always have a sort of fog, like I'm looking at life without my glasses. You get wild colors and movements in yours? I did experience that after passing out once before.

I... sometimes have dreams of a different life? I guess? ... there are periods sometimes where I see colors like very, brilliant and of different shades ..people talking in background. Probably the bubble guppies, that i forgot to turn off 😅

Lol! If you were swimming in the ocean or otherwise stopped having feet in your dream, then it's definitely the Bubble Guppies.

Interesting. Subconscious's are apparently quite varied in how they deal with life, and/or previous life.

No wasnt swimming, lol

Its like im asleep dreaming that I'm asleep.

I agree though subconscious mind/thought is very powerful, more aware than we are at times.

I'm only aware of seeing red when looking towards the light shut eyed. I will have to pay more attention.

Yes! Try it tonight. Dark room. I know I'm not the only one, as someone else has said the same thing to me about the same colors. I wonder if the general population gets it.

Rusts, olive green and yellow, but very, very dark and faint. There is a vague pattern that I could only describe to you if you have written a graphics card driver. Sharp noises cause flashes of white at the top. On a related subject, my piano teacher has synthesia and sees a unique color for every sound frequency.

I just looked that up, what a wild sensory ride that must be. Imagine relating a smell to the sight of a letter. Personally, I think A might smell strong; B more mild.

I'm so glad you reported back. Interesting colors. I've never seen anything close to red or yellow. Red would be heart in Chinese medicine, and yellow spleen.

When I close my eyes I see all shades of purple including violet and blue shades. I also see gold which goes into patterns. White light can be very evident too. Much of my colour activity occurs when I am meditating or lying still for a natural therapy treatment. I do not meet many people who can see the shades of purple/violet and blue. etc. Everyone is individual. Some will say they see red or yellow or rainbows etc.

Purple /violet is the colour of the crown chakra ginnyannette. This chakra is located at the top of the head and is a portal opening to higher spiritual consciousness.

Yay, someone else that sees colors! Gold - that's interesting. I've never seen white. Purple being the crown chakra is even more interesting. I guess I do have some wisdom floating around in my head after all :)

And a lot of love too.

You are very sweet.

Woo! Love your post - we've given you a small upvote with a chance to appear in our weekly curation, and we've resteemed you! We hope it helps you continue to write such amazing posts. We encourage you to use the #naturalmedicine tag so we can more easily find you.

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, and haven't already got on board our collective, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!! Delegations appreciated in order to support our growing collective - to do so click here.

I hear acupuncture is brilliant . I might try it some time . Can you get it done if nothing is wrong with you?

Yes, it is actually used as preventation. The ancient Chinese hired their doctors to keep them well, and were unhappy with them when they got sick.

We all have something that needs balancing, even when we are well.

Pfff, I don't even know what is to be relax, my brain never shuts down... maybe I need to have 2 million needles on me to finally relax!

Yea, the needles don't calm me down much, but they help with other things. Maybe I should have asked her for two million to be calm.

Theres gotta be a mute button for the brain... we just forgot where's that button!

Yes, there must be. I'll keep you posted on when I find it.

My dreams are always vividly in color. My dreams are detailed and I nearly always remember all of them. Willie hardly remembers his dreams only nerdy occasionally.

I do not think I could volunteer to be stuck with needles but if you enjoy it then I say continue.

“ It is hard to remember that present day complications only seem insurmountable now. Everything seems sleepier and milder once it is in the past.”

That statement is spot on. Hard to put into practice but certainly worth a reminder to yourself when needed.

It's a funny thing. I hate needles, and dread having blood drawn, but these little needle pricks aren't so bad. And it's always an interesting thing.

I wonder what that means when people see clear details, and when people see things blurred like me. What does that say about our willingness to perceive life, or maybe just our visual memory. I know my memory for words is excellent, but pictures aren't retained.

Maybe you are on to something about visual memory. Mine is pretty strong for pictures, actually better than words. Last night I lay in the dark with my eyes closed, but I did not see anything, and definitely no colors until I fell into dreamland. That should not be a surprise I guess because I am for sure not an artist! I am really a wimp so no needles for me unless absolutely necessary, lol.

Try it again some time when you can't sleep :)

Yeah, the subconscious sounds so mysterious and exotic, but I guess it is just an extension of us that we don't immediately have access to. Conscious and unconscious me can't remember crap image-wise.

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57847.79
ETH 2291.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46