Working Out In Your 30's

in #life4 years ago

Who Needs To Walk Anyway?


IMG_8458 (2).JPG

Just keep swimming, swimming, lemming....Oops, that l just slipped in there.

With just a cursory glance at my blog, you can probably tell that I am a pretty active person. Well, that might be an understatement, but truly, I have love sports, being physical, lifting weights, and pretty much being a feral wild haired creature for most of my days. It was not uncommon for me to spend hours training for sports and weight lifting at school only to come home and split firewood, play baseball for hours, or run like a heathen. I like to move.

However, in the last couple years I have noticed something. While I can still move like my 18 year old self, my 38 year old self sometimes squawks a bit in reply. Like my knees deliver a screeching oratory of agony when I jump off of a horse after a twenty mile ride or my flintlocks don't want to engage the morning after a scintillating volleyball match. What the heck?

After a bit of reflection I realized that my little form was, gasp, aging! Now, I am not one to get too overly fussy about a thing that cannot be stopped or controlled, but dangit, I still want to play kickball like an unruly Neanderthal from time to time. It was then that I realized I better start training a bit to strengthen and retain muscles, flexibility, and joint movement for such things.

I am far too awkward (and frugal) to hang with the Crossfit crowd (although I admire their intensity, I love to work myself until almost tears and muscle failure), but honestly I would want to wear riggin clothes or a set of form fitting purple coveralls to Crossfit and that yearning would detract from why the heck I was there. As fortune would have it, my neighbor informed me that the 24 hour gym that we have in our small town had a lady who was doing hour long weight training classes for $5. SOLD!

Little did I know that these classes weren't your standard weight lifting sessions, rather they were a combination of strength training and HIIT. Sometimes we use free weights, sometimes we use barbells, there always seems to be some form of torture on an exercise ball, and hello Russian twists. I can honestly say that there were times in the beginning that I woke up the next day and wanted to die, as every muscle group was singing a sore opera.

IMG_8453 (2).JPG

My Crazy Cora, AKA Feffis Schnables McBits, doing a fantastic impersonation of me after my gym class.

I faithfully went and still go to weight lifting class, and then Kelly, my trainer, suggested that I should try the cardio kickboxing class. Punching and kicking things will always appeal to me, so I totally appeared at that class as well, I mean, who could dislike doing sequences of moves with names like The Terminator and Jackie Chan? That kickboxing class is my favorite.

Let me tell you what I miss though. I miss being able to torment my form with all manner of muscle and cardiovascular work and then go hard for hours, subsist on little sleep and/or food, and then hit it again the next day. Those days have fled I am afraid. Sure, I can go hard still, in fact I can still lift and hit it like my 18 year old self, it's just the recovery that gets me. I get tired now. There, I said it. I also get more sore, for longer. I do not like these things.

Like right now, after spending an hour doing an insane amount of squats and planks and push ups, I find that I really would like to just go take a nap instead of doing the myriad of chores that are taunting me. I mean, I am eating zoodle Lo mein stir fry instead of traditional wheat noodles, shouldn't I be rewarded with a nap for being good? Bueller?

Life is just so full of so many things, especially cool things that I want to do besides the to dos that I have to do. I am finding it difficult here lately to ration my energy so that I can actually have the energy to do the fun things after I finish with my responsible, productive adult things. Is that the negative about aging? Do any of you all struggle with that?

One thing for sure though, I will keep getting my butt kicked by my trainer, because after spending two decades mired in the misery and clutches of a horrid, energy zapping auto-immune disease, I never want to go back. That, and I like it when she looks at me and says, "Kat, I think you can do more than that." Why yes, yes I can!

IMG_0348 (2).jpg

My bones shall not resemble this delectable candy, which reminds me, I am hungry.


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's probably needs to be disinfected after being used as a timer on the gym floor iPhone.


Sort:  

@generikat, With Age our Body becomes little bit slow but if not like old times at least we should find something which will keep us Fit. And good to see that you have a Dog 🐶, the best friend of Human Beings. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah! I so agree with you that we should find something that keeps us fit! One thing besides working out is keeping up with my little best friend Cora dog, lol, she's wild:) Hope you are having a fabulous weekend!!!

Good to know that. I am having a pleasant time. Stay blessed.

I love weights, so you got some rmsfitness token, post more on tag hive-100565 or submit workouts at myworkoutarena.org

Well thank you kind workout enthusiast! I am fond of weights too:)

Ah, the joys of getting less than younger. Why DOES this have to happen? I suppose it is better than the alternative, but still makes me vewy vewy angry...to quote a friend of ours from ohso many years back on a Saturday morn. Your Ferris line sure cracked me up to the Nth.
Glad you are still kickin butt in the exercise realm, it really does help. I've gone back to lifting weights again, though just on my own, since I don't dress correctly the part, and I like to do it on my own time, but it seems to really help a lot. Though as you say, the old comeback just ain't what it used to be. As they say, getting older sure isn't for sissies, and I am a big one. Though I am older than you too, so nanner nanner on that front...oh grow up, DD.

So glad you can find ways to keep fit though, and keeps our bones stronger too, which means less problems later on. Well, hope this finds you happy and healthy and only going 97 mph these days. Keep on keepin on, and keepin it as real as allowed or within the bounds of the law. Cheers from the west-side,
Ze Pan de Flatte.

PS.. I keep expecting a cliffside rodent to suddenly sploosh into the photo on top, but no matter how long I stare, all I get is immobile fishes. Large Sigh[HERE]

Ahh, Pan of domestic ware, how I have missed thee! Glad to hear that the Ferris line gave you mirth, I find quotes and quips from old movies and shows are super great in so many applications and situations. Of course now people tend to quote memes and Youtube personalities, and I can't lie for there are times when I am interacting with the adolescents that I engage in such quipery.

Still going 97 and a quarter mph as usual, although the other day I spent the afternoon lounging in my bed and reading not one but two books, it was glorious and made me think seriously about retiring from the public sphere to a blissful, introverted life full of lavender iced tea and classical literature. However, my offspring still have about five years til they are grown, so I guess I have something to look forward too.

Okay, so I am so beyond curious what encompasses DD exercise attire? I tend to rarely dress the part and am currently working on my summer outfit of shortalls and custom dyed tennis shoes. Honestly I would love a purple pair of coveralls and a bow tie, as the part of the world where I live is being invaded by all manner of clothing conformists. Do you pump iron while wearing a hickory shirt? I am sooo intrigued!!!!

And you may be older than me, but it's pretty apparent that you are most definitely the more grown up one, as I am perennially distracted by infantile observations and awes, lol lol!

Hope you are having a great weekend my feathered pal, and if I could I would animate a "cliffside rodent" to fall in that pool of floating snacks....hmmm....

Kat

I fear my workout gear is a bit tired. Old sweats, T-shirts from my days of running, before my knees made me quit, and fancy schmancy blue and black biking gloves with holes in them. Yikes, I'm a sight. Then again, who cares, since fashion gave up on me years ago. HH and I joke, we're not fashion plates, more fashion platters... ( :
Though I do still wear hickory shirts in the woods when bushwacking about photo-ing and mushrooming with her, or when working on the farmstead. Then I just look downright cool O :
Oh, ourbig dreams, they certainly are large and grand, when we are the dreamer...
Ha haa, I've never been accused of being grown up. Then again, as my good friend Brillo from Peck was want to say in our hootch at Slate Creek Ranger Station years back, "growing old is mandatory, growing up is optional". I've lived by that code since before I got much taller than 'that'.
Your gear does sound quite fetching. I hope one day to see some of your gettup garb, it all is quite creative.
Well, I must go do some things today. I hope all is well in Katville. Cheerios, my friend, le' Panne

Being on the far side of 60, I can assure you that finding energy for the Have To Do Its as well as the Want To Do Its is an ongoing battle. I just had a long conversation today with a friend in her 70s about the pros and cons of a gym membership. It's a long way to the one that has the amenities I am looking for. Would I make the drive often enough to get my money's worth out of it? I don't know, and probably won't until I try. Meanwhile, I just keep getting soggier.

Ah, I have a friend who is in her 70's that spent the time and money for a personal trainer that did specialized sessions for mature folks designed around keeping one fit, well balanced, and in overall good health. She loved it and said it was worth the trip into town (she lives in your lovely part of the realm, just on the other end).

I would love to have a gym membership to one of those fancy 24hour places with a sauna and a pool, but like you said there is a pretty good drive to consider, not to mention the monetary aspect of it. Honestly I would probably love just a winter membership as I get two people's worth of exercise in the spring, summer, and fall. For right now though, nothing is beating getting my carcass beaten twice a week for an hour by our local lady. She's a marvel and that regimen leaves enough Kat energy credits left for farm work, mom, work, volunteer work, library work, and so on.

Like dd said above, "ah the joys of getting less younger." lol!

I should check the local gym and see if they have any programs specifically for seniors. Even though it is a small place, they just might.

one of the best things about being active is that you don't have to worry so much about diet and we can "cheat" regularly and not feel the same amount of guilt that people who don't exercise feel when they down half a pizza. This is not to suggest that diet is not important - it definitely is, but I like to eat food that tastes good and is almost certainly bad for you.

I admire your dedication - i'm not on the level you are but i felt the decline as far as my body "cooperating" with me as I got older as well. But that doesn't mean we should stop!

I so agree with the no stopping thing! Let me tell ya, that kickboxing class that I do is really intense, but I love it, and yes, it means I can eat what I wish once in a while without issue.

Hope all is well and that you are enjoying a half a pizza or something yummy, lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95