It's Okay To Sweat The Small Things

in #life7 years ago

If That Perspiration Results From Joy Felt From Experiencing Them

IMG_2132.JPG

My Squeaky is not afraid to stop and smell the roses!

A few years ago everything had to be extreme. Extreme drinks, extreme vehicles, extreme movies, extreme parenting, all the things were to be extreme. Now, I am not ragging on people that truly like to do the extreme, nor am I saying that a good ol' extreme experience is bad now and then. Not at all. What I posit instead is the joy found in the small or perhaps mundane experiences can be just as soul-feeding as the large.

An example: my mom wanted to buy me lunch today and as we sat in the restaurant she suddenly gasped and glanced at me with such a look of horror on her face that I thought she had found a blow fly in her smoked chicken manicotti. The crisis was that her debit card had expired the day before and she had forgotten to put the new one in her wallet. The whole lunch situation was rectified right nicely, and I had a pocketful of amusement to fill me with mirth for the rest of the day. Nothing makes a kid glow with joy like seeing their mother forget to do something mundane or go through an inconvenient bit of discomfort. I don't care if you are 6 or 36, when your mom freaks out it makes you a bit giggly.

Another instance that caused me to perspire due to outright laughing and elation was caused by my son today. He was hanging with our neighbors while I went on the grocery shopping outing with my Ma. A little while into the shopping expedition I got a text from my neighbor, full of lolz, stating that my boy had said,

"I just don't know what's wrong with Mom, there absolutely no food in the whole house. It's crazy."

Ah, the drama of a ten year old bottomless Polynesian pit. Minutia caused joy perspiration phenomena achieved. Because of course a 5'2", 140+lb ten year old is on the cusp of starvation expiration.

IMG_2171 (1).JPG

The Bobo is always hungry...

Another small experience that has stayed with me is what I like to call the Corkscrew Occurrence. I live a blistering eight miles from Silverwood Theme Park, the Pacific Northwest's Largest theme park! I have been going to Silverwood since I was a teenager which was just a couple years ago. On one happy theme park attendance occasion the weather was rather "Meh". My brother, cousin, and I had spent most of our young lives in Southeast Alaska so a bit of grey skies and rain was of little concern to us. Apparently other folks had more of a Wicked Witch of the West reaction and the park was virtually empty. We all found that we adored the Corkscrew Roller Coaster, and we adored it's operator even more, for as there was no line he let us stay on the coaster. We rode it 36 loops in a row.

Now the operator of the ride didn't have to let us engage in that serious amount of loop caused fun, but I am reasonably sure that our enthusiasm was pretty contagious for I can, to this day, remember the smile on that kid's face. It's that smile and the remembrance of that simple joy-filled event that makes me seek out the small bits of life-caused joy perspiration. I don't need every day dripping with extreme for me to feel contentedness. The cumulative effect of the small events does this girl's general well-being just fine.

IMG_2691.JPG

Hope you are all having the most splendid evening, afternoon, morning, or night!!


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's blackberry cobbler juice stained and rose scented iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?

Click Here!!!

Sort:  

I love this! And you are so right, no matter how old we get, it makes us giggle when mom freaks out.

lol! It's almost as good as when one's dad gets all over-dramatic when he injures himself. 😉 So glad you enjoyed my ramblings, hope you are having a great evening!!

haha - One of those blackberry cobblers per person per day seems about right! And then you go do the 36 loops. That's the ticket! Enjoy your kids while they are still at home!

On the blackberry cobblers I totally agree, don't know what it would look like inside the roller coaster car when one ate a cobbler and went thirty-six loops, modern artish?

The kids are a joy, even when the boy comes in the house after cleaning the pig barn and flops on the couch. Ah, the smell...

I really enjoyed reading this. Upped and followed ;)
I have a 16 year old son version of the bottomless pit...it doesn't get better, it gets worse lol...just about double everything you buy now, and you will be about right LOL

Thank you so much! I followed you back😊.

When I married my husband we had four teenage foster kids. I am aware of my imminent grocery budget doom. I just paused and felt a moment of sympathy for your grocery woes, may the Hot Pockets be ever plentiful, lol!

LOL yep my son, Ben, is literally eating all my Steemit profits LOL. I need to get him posting!!! :)

Whoa...36 loops in a row! That is something my daughter would love. Great pictures. The roses and the green of the lanscape is beautiful- and so are the children. I miss that intense greenery sometimes. I grew up in Maine. The Tucson landscape is vastly different from New England's.

I agree with you. The simple things in life are more meaningful to me, especially as I've gotten older. I can certainly appreciate those unscripted moments like today when a man stocking shelves at the grocery store stopped what he was doing just to talk to me...to ask me how I was and to relate a funny story about his son. He could have just kept working to get his job done, but he took a few moments to make a connection and I was the lucky recipient. Great post, as always! Thank you.

Oh, Maine has been on my to see list since I was a kid! I bet you do miss a dose of lush foliage sometimes. The desert has lots of beauty too though and you have the added bonus of being warm, right? 😊

Those small moments are so excellent, and you probably made that guy's day by actively listening to him. I'm always so busy with the to-do's of the adult life that sometimes it is nice to just jettison all that adulting jazz for a micro-mind vacation to the simple things theme park. I'm so very glad that you enjoy my posts and leave such wonderful comments, I truly enjoy them!

Thank you :) Yes! It is very warm here now, especially! We'll be in San Diego starting on Sunday, so that will be refreshing. I really want to see the Loma Linda Lighthouse in person this time!

Oh lucky! I love San Diego, I so hope you get to visit the lighthouse, it is so lovely and peaceful up there. Hope you have a wonderful trip!!!

Thank you very much.

Ah, Slaverywood. Source of college funding and back injury!

Your theme park experience has stuck with you. There will come a day when it loses its allure to my offspring, but today is not that day!

Now the operator of the ride didn't have to let us engage in that serious amount of loop caused fun, but I am reasonably sure that our enthusiasm was pretty contagious for I can, to this day, remember the smile on that kid's face. It's that smile and the remembrance of that simple joy-filled event that makes me seek out the small bits of life-caused joy perspiration. I don't need every day dripping with extreme for me to feel contentedness. The cumulative effect of the small events does this girl's general well-being just fine.

Oh the joy of living life one simple moment at a time - it is what wonder is made of. Wonder is that state children live in, and call the world to follow them into. Smile filled stories as always @generikat!

Awe @lydon.sipe! Your kind comments always put me into a bit of a state of wonder 😊 Thank you so much, you have this scribbler's gratitude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41