What I see through the scope at 788 meters...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Long range shooting tends to hold some mystery for most. This is probably in the most part due to the way it's portrayed in movies. Mostly the movies get it wrong. I'm that guy who sits watching a movie and calls out all the errors in respect of gun handling and usage. One of my pet hates is the way movies will have someone come into a hostile situation and have cause to draw and fire their sidearm. Have you ever noticed that they'll fire 3 shots then the trigger simply clicks? Well with a semi-auto pistol that doesn't happen. The slide would stay open if the magazine was empty. Besides, who would only have 3 bullets in a magazine that fits 16-17 rounds? Idiots, that's who. Anyway...Long range...

I often get asked what I see when I look through my rifle scopes and how close things look. Mostly I get asked this by people who will never get anywhere near a real gun and so I'm left trying to explain it which, of course, is bloody hard to do!

Well, the other day I remembered to take a picture of what I see. I haven't used purpose-made camera equipment. Instead I tried to line it up with my iPhone and capture the sight-picture. It's not perfect, but you get the idea.

In the image you will note a few things. You will see the cross hairs, the target downrange and that the picture is slightly out of focus. The optics I was using on this particular day was a Nightforce ATACR scope with 5-25x variable magnification. It is a very high quality optic and the picture when I look through the scope is completely clear. The reason it is slightly unfocussed is because of my iPhone which has picked up a focus on something other than the target.

The target in this case is 788m away and I have the zoom set at 25x magnification. So, what you see in the scope is what I would be looking at right before I shoot. Usually however, at 788m I would not have full magnification on. I would wind it back to about 12.5-15x magnification. The reason for this is because I shoot tactical competitions where I have to acquire multiple targets and engage quickly. Having the scope zoomed in closes down the field of view, the sight-picture, making it more difficult to locate new targets quickly. The target you can see in the scope is a white painted steel gong of about 15 inches in diameter with a pink dote in the centre and suspended on a steel frame.

So, from what you see in the picture I would line up the cross hairs and shoot. Of course I would go through a process to make sure my shot hits the target.

I acquire the target, check/adjust parallax (focus as such), dial in the correct elevation to the elevation turret, check rifle level (I have a scope level fitted), place my hand in position, finger to trigger at the same time as starting my breathing cycle, load the bipod (push forward on the rifle bipod for stability)...Slightly depress the trigger and when my breathing reaches it's natural pause (bottom of exhale) the trigger breaks, the gun fires and sends the bullet to the target. Providing I got all of that right, the initial windage call (wind reading) also, and brought it all together correctly the bullet will impact where I sent it. That all takes about 2 -3 seconds or so in a competition, sometimes less. Flight time to 788m for the bullet is about 1.25 seconds.

So, there's a basic idea of what I look at through my scope, when shooting steel gongs. In a competition stage there could be 7-10 targets at different ranges and angles and the shooting takes place from odd and difficult situations like barricades and under time pressure, 60-90 seconds for instance. They also make us run around a to so we are shooting whilst puffed out etc. It's great fun and all done with extreme caution and safety. All licensed shooters and registered firearms.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

A few of the blokes I knew used to hold their rifles kind of funny (at least to me it looked totally out of whack), then I learned that they were people who were brought up to compete in the sport.

Never bothered my after I asked one of the guys why it is that some of them hold their rifles differently to the rest of us, especially when taking a shot as you are calling it above, at a nice range of over 500/600 m..... which to most of us would be just for harassing fire (in the given situation that we were in).

Hang in there bro, keep your head down low, these days it seems that none of us are even allowed to talk about normal every day things without being labelled God knows what.

Look forwards to reading more posts.

Thanks for your comment JM, much appreciated. I know I should sometimes just keep my mouth shut but I don't feel the left have a right to bully me into silence. Keeping my head down? Yeah, good advice. I pretty much hold my rifles in a traditional way. They are all in tactical chassis with pistol grips so it's hard not to. Still, I'm just a practical/tactical competition shooter and not military so I'm not fully aware of the right way to do things in a combat situation. Here's a pic of one of my comp rifles. In fact, this is the scope the image above was taken through.

That mate would take down "a billy goats cousin" riding a two humped camel in any conditions!

So to say!

Yeah, I guess I just find that when ever I open my mouth about things that I know a little about, I get labelled by those who are enjoying a lot of things in life without realizing what all it takes to ensure it.

Ohhh well, I guess that is the way it has to be...

I'm just looking forwards to a nice slow paced future without too many people around me.

Great picture, as well as description of the process of shooting. Do you remember the approximate wind speed at the time (looks like it was slight breeze from right to left based on the location of the cross hairs to the pink center. Also, is the elevation turret already adjusted, so what shows in the scope is the actual drop of the bullet during travel?
Again, great post!

Wind was about 2mph full value right. (From 3 oclock). When the (photo) shot was taken I moved the rifle up slightly to show the target better so no, this was not the hold I used to shoot. At over 500m I dial elevation usually but hold wind. At 788m it was a 23.4moa dial for elevation and 1moa windage. (.308 pushing 2867fps, 155gr projectile). 1.25 seconds in flight.

I think your post helped give people an idea of the science, technical skill, and difficulty in long range shooting. Good education for many people.

Came here for the awesome photo :D

I wonder if first hand exposure to firearms would help with the fear a lot of people have about them.

I actually think it may. I think, however, that as long as the media keep fake-newsing the country with bullshit the sheeples of the country will continue to follow along with the media-contrived diatribe like lemmings. It's a sad state of affairs. Point in case, check out an Andrew Bolt story about the way Channel Ten simply made up a story about a so-called hate message in respect of the gay vote thing. It's the same old story and so it goes. People believe what the media lead them to believe. Same with guns. All the crap about how many guns there are in Sydney etc. They only know how many there are because LAW ABIDING and licensed owners register them. The recent killing of that 3 year old was by a prohibited and unregistered gun, not safely stored. Go figure huh?

'Less freedom' is always the correct answer, apparently.
If a bad thing happens, it's because the government lets people do stuff.

"The recurring theme being that injury and death are caused by excessive freedom, and that peace and tranquility are achieved by strong central control of the individual"
https://steemit.com/anarchy/@mattclarke/asimov-s-three-laws-much-worse-in-reverse

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Have you looked into the Scopes designed for cameras? Low you can get adapters that cameras hook into but they add weight to the rifle, The higher cost ones have a camera built into the scope that records video digitally without affecting weight.

Hi there, a few of my mates run scopes like that when they hunt. One has night vision on his (thermal to be exact) but I'm not really into it. I'm not that interested in recording the shots I make. I compete so the competition Match Directors have ways of ensuring shots have hit or missed. It's be great to have I guess but considering my scopes are chosen for optics and performance it's not an issue really. The image in this post is looking through a Nightforce ATACR and my other scope is Kahles 624i both of which are all I really need. Thanks for commenting though.

Thanks, enjoyed it. will try to take it to heart....

:)>

Cool. Glad you're liking the posts.

The 6.5 is a 7 power fixed Leopold, so I need more on that one. But I keep the other one I keep at 8 power most of the time.

:)>

I usually shoot on 10 or 12 power. At 1000m I shift to 15-16 and at past that I go around 18-20. I need to see the splash...The fall of bullet if I miss so I can read the wind and adjust so zooming right in is dumb.

Reading the wind to within +/- 1mph is important...I am pretty good at it and am probably sitting at around +/- 1-2mph with my wind calls as far as speed. I practice it with mates.

Scopes are important though, and often cost more than the firearm itself. Mine do anyway. As long as it tracks well you're in business.

Well since I was given the Swede because it was damaged, the Leopold scope is more expensive for sure, LOL! I repaired and rebuilt it to a really nice rifle, including inlays with Purple heart wood.

I need an anemometer anyway, so this is a good excuse to buy one!

It has tracked well so far, but I have not moved it to the extremes you have....

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65021.86
ETH 3571.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33