How did a seven end up with an eleven.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Who inspires you? A question I get asked all the time and maybe you have too. Do you have an answer, can you say a name and come up with why? This may sound like a cliché however my answer is my wife. Sure there's many others' I find inspirational for various reasons but my wife is my hero and so she wins hands down.


Above Berchtesgaden, Bavarian Alps

She lost her father when she was eleven years old: He succumbed to cancer leaving behind a young wife and an eleven year old daughter to fend for themselves. It was difficult for them, emotionally and financially. Through sheer hard work and determination my wife's mother was able to hold things together and eventually find the resources to put my wife through hairdressing trade school. I think the hardships they faced strengthened their relationship and has certainly shaped my wife into who she is today.


Flinders Ranges, South Australia

I met my wife at a very young age. I was 17 and a half, she was 16 and we have been inseparable since. We married young (She turned 22 on the day we got married which also was the same month and date her parents had also been married on years earlier) and we proceeded to make our way through life the best we can.

Life throws curve-balls and we had to navigate obstacles and speed humps here and there but here we are 30 years after meeting still in love and happy. But why is she my hero?


If there's horses within a hundred kilometres she'll find them

This person, my wife, is the most hard working person I have met. She runs a successful business, keeps our house running (I won't lie, I'm not the most house-work oriented individual), and pretty-much keeps me on the straight and narrow. It's more than that though. It's the way she supports me in everything. I've had some hobbies in my time, racing go karts, competitive pistol shooting, 10 years as running back playing for an American Football club, rifle shooting, hunting, model plane flying, off roading, kayaking, tactical long range shooting etc. and never once has she failed to support my hobbies.


McLaren Vale, South Australia

Further to that she's supported my career giving me the emotional strength to develop and understanding my long hours, business trips also being there through success and failures. She's my greatest advocate and my harshest critic also. She applauds my success and will chastise me when I need it too. Like I said, she keeps me on the straight and narrow. When my mother passed away my wife worked tirelessly for months in support of me whilst I dealt with the estate and the emotions and loss. No complaints, no arguments.


I'm not sure what we're doing here :) It was a photo booth at a friends wedding

Whether we are in Europe on holiday, camping in the outback, at a formal function or sitting on the couch watching a movie she manages to be the same happy, vibrant and interesting person. She is equally comfortable talking business, cuddling one of our friends' babies, talking guns with one of my buddies or supporting a relative suffering with cancer. She is pretty special.


Hitting 786m at the range

I wonder why I ended up with her sometimes. What did I do to capture her interest and what do I do to keep her. I don't know the answer but she's still here and that's exactly how I want it to be. I'm a lucky man, I remind myself daily. She is a special person and I tell her that too. Are there any regrets? Well, no there's not. Well, one thing maybe...I would have liked to see her with our kids; She would have been an amazing mother. That's not possible however and so we have cats. She calls them her fur-babies. :) So, this girl is my eleven out of ten and I work hard each day to show her.


My eleven. Photographed at Chenonceau, France.

Life has recently treated a couple of my friends harshly and took away the opportunity for harsh words to be retracted or made right. We think about that each day and ensure that we never leave things unsaid. I urge you to tell the special people in your lives that you appreciate them, call your mum, hug your dad and remember there may not be another chance to do so. Don't leave with sharp words between you and the people you love, disagree for sure, argue also, but don't leave harsh words in between you. It's not worth it.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Nice pics

Hey @crypto-p thanks for reading and your comment. Greatly appreciated.

You can count my vote

This is beautiful 😊 I wish you and your amazing wife all the happiness in the world 🌼

Thanks @amunette, much appreciated.

Beautiful mate. Don't know what else I can say - and it is not often I am lost for words. SK.

Thank you @sirknight. I'm a lucky man to have captured the heart of one as special as my wife. I think maybe I'm being a bit generous with my personal score of 7. I'm probably more of a 4.5 but she's definitely an 11! :)

I have picked up on plenty of redeeming qualities in your posts Galen - don't be too hard on yourself. ;) SK.

:) thanks so much SK, much obliged.

Beautifully written and photographed @galenkp! How do I go about joining teamaustralia? I was told once before but lost the comment when I was traveling. I'm based in Sydney.

Hi @myday thanks for reading and commenting. The link below should take you to a post by @choogirl which should explain what you need to do to join @teamaustralia. Essentially we're looking for advocates and ambassadors for this great land of ours and people who can represent Australia with excellent content. Check out @teamaustralia and posts by @sirknight also.

https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/introducing-team-australia-s-new-executive-manager-for-member-recruitment-me

Thanks for your comments mate, I really appreciate it. Check out my other posts if you like and for sure check out @teamaustralia

This is so amazing story :-0) all the love. Amazing shots. Important to stop and think. My parents inspires me. They do anything to help others, there is no better feeling to se a smile on someones face. It takes so little to be gratefull, but we forget. My parents are my heroes and Im glad they raised me the way they did. Treat others the way you want to be treated. Thx for sharing

Hi @saffisara thanks for sharing the people who inspire you with me. Parents are often the people that inspire their children and rightly so. I appreciate you taking the time to read my post and for commenting also. I'll take a look at your blog as well and give you a follow. Cheers for your comments.

Ur welcome :-0) thank U for sharing ur story. Inspiering. Pleasent reading. Can I share this post? Cheers

Of course, feel free to share. I write from the heart and if that can reach others and have them do the same then I feel happy. :)

My thought exactly :0)

Followed :-0)

Followed right back. Checked out your blog and am looking forward to seeing more. Thanks for the follow. :)

Thats wonderfull story
thank you for sharing

Thanks @gheff01, much appreciated.

Amazing story. Always great to hear success stories. Especially if love is involved. Keep her forever man.

Cheers man, thanks for that. I'm lucky as hell I have her. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Well done, mate. Every woman needs a grateful man. And every man needs a woman who shoots guns :)

Bwahaha! Couldn't have said it better myself! :)

Beautiful words.

Thanks @mumofmany, for reading and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67527.39
ETH 3259.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64