Highlights, Low Points, Meme galore ;) Happy Steemonthsary, foodie.warrior!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

In human terms, I’m still drinking milk every 2 hours, pooping as often in cloth or disposable diapers, and crying instead of speaking. But, finally, it's 14.07.2017!! I can do my One-Month-Old recap on my life on Steemit planet!

BABY MEME.jpg

I've just 300 followers, I don't know it all, but ONE THING!

Quality Content and Genuine Engagement are a minnow’s best bet! What's that? Oh, worming your way into that special chamber of a steemwhale's heart? Good point, but that's terribly hard to do! ;)

Initially, I was misled by more-senior users who dropped F4F and UV4UV comments like bird droppings all over my page. A few of the more rotten eggs showed up on my 'Follower' page to gain my follow only to drop me afterwards like a hot potato.

That’s really one of the unfortunate ugly, thoughtless sides that can be found on Steemit — the existence of superficial users who confuse fresh-faced joiners with their behaviour. Personally, when I first came across these spammy behaviours, I thought to myself, 'Oh, this must be how things are done on Steemit for minnows' and acceded to following them. Thankfully, I didn't stick to that crappy train of thought for long.

BREAKING BAD MEME.jpg

These spammers still haven’t got it in their skulls that it’s really not about the hard number. It’s about the depth and quality of the relationships with your followers. Even if you ensnared a thousand followers, if they are all aloof and self-interested, it's really unlikely that they'll bother to head down and checkout your profile nor respond sincerely to your posts. And they really don't give a shit that you spent 20 hours researching, writing, editing, and even translating your wonderful post.

Another thing is that when you add followers without first checking out if their content suits your preferences, your 'Home' feed gets packed full and you end up getting bombarded with an endless slew of new posts each time you click on ‘Home’. And the quality posts from the handful of people that you want to find and peruse? They get sucked down beneath all that sludge. What a sad death. :(

FRODO MEME.jpg

It’s all about the Money, Money, Money. . . NOT!

Yes, we all have to pay the bills, we all have difficulties, or a family, or a community that would benefit immensely from our wallets growing suddenly fat. While cryptocurrencies do seem to get created out of thin air, Steemit is by no means a get-rich-quick scheme. It takes loads of sweat and effort to build a following here. It can get really tiring and draining at times, especially at the start, but everybody has been through that.

Yes, even the popular writers! It might be easy to fall into the resentful pit of, ‘Hey, those trending writers with thousand dollar posts have it so easy. They are already on the whale’s steemvoter or curation trails. They could post a cute puppy picture and still earn a thousand bucks!' So what?! STOP your brain right there, because all that speculation, envy, and time wasted on being green about them in their moment of glory does absolutely nothing to assist you in your progress toward your Steemit goals!

All these trending writers had to start somewhere too (unless it's the baby sister of Dan or something). They too had to work their asses off to get noticed and to get where they are. If you look at their profiles, most of them have their accounts created around 10 months ago (except @trafalgar, he’s just an amazingly charismatic writer).

Upon proper scrutiny of their profiles, it will become apparent that these guys had at least 6 months more of overcoming setbacks and working their aching eyes, strained neck, and stiff fingers to the max! Before they had laurel wreaths to rest upon, they had a pokey bed constructed out of $3-post twigs. So sit up, and work harder on your content and engagement. Maybe someday, it will be YOU that other minnows look at up to with twisted faces of envy. ;)

I repeat, monetary rewards should not be the upmost motivation for our existence on Steemit.

If not the money, then WHAT?

To me, it’s crystal clear. Value creation. For others. And for ourselves. Where there is no value for me, I would be easily demoralised, and low morale would affect the quality of my posts. Where there is no value for others, the sticky effect is lost. My followers, if any, would not be attracted nor enticed to revisit my profile because doing so would be wasting time on my useless content. In this kind of scenario, I would risk losing even the most loyal of followers.

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Highlights of my month on Steemit

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

(1) I have been enriched by my experience here.

Well, I’m sure that anyone who is blogging for the first time can say that they've learnt a lot from merely creating Steemit posts. Aside from flexing my muscles of ideating, writing, editing, photography, and content flow management, this technology-noob actually learnt some basic html coding in order to make her posts more reader-friendly!!

GRANDMA MEME.jpg

Throw in the exposure I have to the experiences and expertise of others and the pit of learning here is virtually bottomless!

I've also gotten to know a handful of solid Steemians who are genuine, talented people with big hearts: @ace108, @ajvest, @allasyummyfood, @brentssanders, @cobalus, @cryptodan, @cryptofrygirl, @doctor.fit, @farmstead, @globalfoodbook, @gococonuts, @hitmeasap, @howtostartablog, @joeyrocketfilms, @kayclarity, @lena-tramper, @lexikon082, @redtravels, @rideofpassion, @sflaherty, @the-traveller, and @whatisnew. All the names are listed in alphabetical order. I'm sorry to anyone that I left out, you are still in my heart! Thinking and typing while in a moving car simply isn't the easiest task. =P

(2) I’m a Steemhundredaire :)

To be honest, after my first four posts shot up to the USD70 range post-HF19, I secretly thought to myself that I might make USD 1,000 in author rewards in my first month! Well, reality hit soon after. First, I was dropped from a curation trail (if that's what it was). I believe I was lucky to have been on one in the first place, but it hurts a little to wonder exactly which content-based mistake I made that got me the ‘hot potato’ drop). Then came the upvote drought and the incredible depreciation of rewards over 6-day periods before payouts that we are facing even today.

This meme reflects a true reality of one of my posts last week.

PIG MEME.jpg

All these said, I still am happy with the $500 that has been deposited into my wallet over my time here. Actually, if I use the values that STEEM and SBD were trading at when I first joined in my calculations (close to USD 2), I would be almost a Steemthousandaire :))

(3) I got featured five times!

(a) Part 2 of my Maastricht trip travel tale was featured in Operation Curation Delegation’s third Daily Compilation Post. I owe a big thank you to @howtostartablog for the nomination and @acidyo for creating this team of curators to give us minnows a boost.

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Click on the picture below to view my featured article:

IMG-20170704-WA0021.jpg
Here's the proof! https://steemit.com/ocd/@ocd/operation-curation-delegation-daily-compilation-post-3

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

(b) @varunsangwan’s tellyourstory contest named my post ’One Girl. . . on a Path Less Travelled By. . !’ as the winner. I won 10 SBD, but more importantly, I was the happiest girl on earth that day.

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Click on the picture below to view my featured article:

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood.jpg
Here's the proof! https://steemit.com/tellyourstory/@varunsangwan/announcing-the-winners-of-tellyourstory-contest

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

(c) Steemit Blogger Central (@Steemitbc) featured me as a Steemian of the Day. @Steemitbc is a close-knit, supportive haven of lovely Steemians who share and support posts, and extend a warm hand of friendship to one another. @sflaherty and @cryptofrygirl run this wonderful initiative.

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Click on the picture below to view the article feature:

Steemitbc.png

This artsy photo remake was done by talented founder @sflaherty! :)

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

(d) My #WeekendWasted entry took home the winning prize. Unfortunately, @dumar022 will not be continuing this contest after a lack-lustre response. Nevertheless, a big thank you to him for this opportunity and to @ace108 for giving me a heads up to his buddy’s contest in the first place.

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Click on the picture below to view my featured article:

IMG_5451.JPG
Here's the proof! https://steemit.com/weekendwasted/@dumar022/weekendwasted-we-have-a-winner
°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

(e) @ace108 also picked my #beautifulsunday post as one of four winning entries in his contest of the same name. His approach to picking winners is somewhat different from others. He tries to give qualifying posts that didn’t get as much visibility or earned low rewards a boost by giving them a prize. Of course, this meant that my article had not been very successful in bursting its head through the flood of posts on Steemit.

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Click on the picture below to view my featured article:

IMG-20170702-WA0016.jpg
Here's the proof! https://steemit.com/beautifulsunday/@ace108/beautifulsunday-powered-up-winners-one-extra-for-the-week-or-by-ace108

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Thank you for sharing in my Monthsary celebratory post! :) If you liked what you read, please leave a comment and upvote. If you'd like to see more, follow @foodie.warrior. There's lots more where that came from :)


Finally, a big THANK YOU goes out from me to all my readers! <3

Sort:  

wow, am almost one month ...and celebraing a milestone today, see my post. Congratulations to you for a worlk well done.
I wish you more success. Upvoted

Thanks @charles1! You hit a good milestone yourself too..you're so much ahead of me :)) I still have loads to learn :)

Welcome. You will be a big success here, keep steeming

You are doing great for only being here one month and I can see why. Your creative, humorous posts and writing skills are excellent. Makes me want to keep coming back for more...just like this one! LOL! I can relate to a lot of what you said here. And this is is my first time blogging and I sure have learned a lot. Keep up the great work and I am happy that we have become friends. :)

Oh, I forgot to thank you for adding me to your impressive list. Thank you! That means a lot to me. Great company to be with. Some I don't know so I will be sure to check them out! Thanks again! :)

hahaha thanks @whatisnew! Your honeywords are so sweet they make me shy ;)) I'm so glad that you are learning lots of new things here as well :) Can't wait to read a milestone post from you soon! :))

Aw, don't be shy...LOL! "honeywords" is cute. OMG! What would happen to you if I send you a hug? (((((foodie.warrior)))))

heheh awwww bearhugs, I gladly accept and return :)) <((((whatisnew))))>

the pointy parts are my elbows, in case you wondered ;)

Aw, thanks for the bear hugs! I like yours better with the elbows...love it! :) :) :)

<(((((whatisnew))))))> another one for you then <3

Thanks for the mention @foodie.warrior <3
I hadn't noticed that you got featured five times in just one month, that's so cool :D
It doesn't surprise me however. You always have something thoughtful and witty to say :D

haha thanks @cryptodan! You got featured by Steemitbc before I did, so you're cooler ;) I'm a little too opinionated sometimes, I think! hehe

Thanks for the mention. Too bad, the #weekendwasted stop. Drumming up the #beautifulsunday was hard work and didn't start off. I'm still continue #myexperiment though there's say of reward prize being too small but my thought was going for the the prize was not the intention. Going for #beautifulsunday, a chance to share it and get some better reward than my price is more

priceless.

Yup people need to remember all the other potential rewards aside from monetary ones..it's difficult sometimes though, need to remind myself some days too :) Your #beautifulsunday tag is growing bigger though, so keep going :)

Woke up at 5:30 am and I've been reading your posts for a little less than 1 hour. You are addictive. :)

Talking of this post, it's beautifully written and funny. Baby sister of Dan? That made me smile. And you're so right about the followers and following. Initially, I followed everyone that followed me and now I miss the posts from people I want to read. I need to cleanup my following list. Anyway, wanted to say, you're a beautiful and engaging writer. Look forward to reading more from you. :)

Yay, I'm so glad that my post made you crack out a smile so early in the morning!

Aww you're so sweet! I feel shy under all your praise :) I'm glad that we both are learning more about the following game, just by being in it. Have a great day and keep steeming, dear @knowledge1 <3

Woots thanks for the mention :)

Great article as always and yeah, the drought is happening. The rewards are all dropping by half. :O Keep on going and it should get better soon.

Thanks @howtostartablog! Hope that HF20 helps to rectify the bigger issues and that it comes soon!!

With writing skill like these you're going to be just fine! More than fine! I personally think you have something that can't be taught. Such fun reading and I'm not a very good reader, I lose interest super fast but I do good better while reading your stuff. Very fun. I like the 1 month recap idea. I may try that when I get to be a 1 month old minnow which (oh damn) is 2 days away. I better start thinking and maybe I'll also keep this post near by as a reference or maybe I'll see something shiny and forget ;)
Favorite line "So what?! STOP your brain right there, because all that speculation, envy, and time wasted on being green about them in their moment of glory does absolutely nothing to assist you in your progress toward your Steemit goals!"

favorite meme - Knock your teeth out
Hehe love it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted and resteemed by @joeyrocketfilms on behalf of Team #minnowtowhale of @minnowsupport. We thank you for your contributions to the community. (Join us in helping those who came behind you grow). Visit - @ P.A.L. Net

Joe, thanks for your comment. It really made my day :) Being told by a self-acclaimed 'not-a-very-good-reader' that your content is fun and interesting is like a compliment of the highest tier.

you should totally do the 1 month recap thing :) Still one more day to do the post! heheh..by all means keep my post as a reference..HERE'S YOUR REMINDER
hahahaha

hahaha thanks for sharing your fav line and meme!! so happy that you liked my meme!! So far my husband and bro liked the baby one the best..they had a bit of criticism to share over my other memes, along the lines of how I'm changing the context of established memes too much lol (I'm like a person who barely knows memes haha so I actually googled to see if it's alright to change the context..apparently other people do it too, so I'm safe hehe).

Hope you had a great nap and are all set for a great day! Thanks for the booster and resteem <3

Anytime :) It was a great piece!
Lol not-a-very-good-reader reminds me of a zoolander movie!
My pleasure for resteeming!

Joey, you've been here only a month? I'm not going to praise you anymore, but wow. :)

Heyyyy Knowledge :) yes mam, 30ish days give or take 1 or two. feels like year but it's blown by! Thanks !!!

hehe didn't watch that one ;) but thanks again heheh

You're so kind, and sweet, and smart! Thank you for including me in such an illustrious list! Да си жива и здрава! Bulgarian for "May you be alive and well!" Thanks for the great posts!

hehe thanks @brentssanders! That made me smile ;) You stay alive and well too!!

Wow, I did not know you were featured 5 times! That is great! Woop Woop! I love the bed of $3 sticks analogy! This is so right! Did you know the first payout was not until July 2016? Some of these Steemians were blogging on an IOU basis! How's that for dedication?

Oh, and can we do F4F? How about Nice Post and Resteemed?! Lol, though I really did Resteem this one, because I think it has a lot to offer newbies.

Gosh, I can't believe you have only been on here a month!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55