Walk.with.me #5: Maastricht (Part 2) - Waffles, Fries, and Everything Nice

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

With our tummies half-full from the satay, fruits, and fried spring rolls we had at the Wednesday Maastricht Market, we were faced with the next Snack Choice:

Waffles or Fries?

Maastricht does both equally well, so it would have been a difficult decision. Fortunately, an outside influence stepped in to shortcut our decision-making process — my little bro's sudden and intense need to use a toilet!

We sent him scurrying to the Macdonalds beside the famous fries place, only to find out that it had been closed down. Fancy that! I’ve never actually witnessed a Macdonalds close down. This was a first!

To use the restroom at the nearby Burger King demanded a fee of 50 cents. So, we decided to head to Cafe Venezia, where we knew there would be a clean toilet available to patrons. TA-DA! Just like that, a decision was reached. Next stop, WAFFLES!
IMG-20170704-WA0021.jpg

Cafe Venezia does a mean standard Brussels waffles. They also claim to have the best whipped cream in town! To share, we ordered 2 waffles topped with whipped cream, ice cream, and chocolate sauce (€4.80 each), 1 warm apple pie served with ice cream, vanilla sauce, and whipped cream (€4.70), and drinks.

Our drinks arrived with little complimentary treats on the side - mini chocolate croissants!
IMG-20170704-WA0008.jpg

The Mann had coffee (€2.00) and Cousin Willem ordered the Fristi yogurt drink (€2.00) of their childhood (they both lived a large portion of their formative years as well as their university days in Maastricht). My fresh mint tea (€2.50) must have had a bad morning. . . it had a rather strange aftertaste, or maybe it was the generous squeeze of lemon juice I’d added. We all agreed that the hot chocolate with whipped cream (€2.50) was the yummiest , but it was the cappuccino (€2.20) that took the Prettiest-Drink-on-the-Table Prize home.
IMG-20170704-WA0036.jpg

Our drinks kept us occupied for the good 5 minutes it took for our desserts to be served. Lovely warm waffles and apple pie topped with ice cream and whipped cream that would begin to melt in a couple minutes!
IMG-20170704-WA0037.jpg

IMG-20170704-WA0019.jpg

The waffle was crisp and light with a good bite to it. It made an excellent base for the generous dollops of creamy vanilla ice cream and luxurious whipped cream. The apple pie was decent, but not the best I've had. I'd say go for the Brussels waffle package. It really embodied an authentic and yummy Brussels waffle package and left some of us silently regretting that we had not ordered one whole waffle per person. ;)

On the way out, I observed the ice cream lady preparing someone else's waffle:
IMG-20170704-WA0018.jpg

IMG-20170704-WA0020.jpg

With all that dairy and wheat in us, you can imagine we were rather full by the end of our cafe visit. Nevertheless, it would be highly inappropriate to miss the famous Reitz fries of Maastricht. These fries are widely acclaimed as the best fries in the Dutch Realm and are made in a specialty fries shop located just opposite of the Maastricht City Hall.

reitz fritures.jpg
I forgot to take a picture, so I googled and found this one. As you can see, it's an old pic. The McDonalds that was beside the fries shop is no longer there. Photo Credit

Each cone is made of a small red-and-white checkered paper cone and a stack of grey Paper sheets to extend the cone into one big enough to hold several hundred grams of chunky fries.
IMG-20170704-WA0017.jpg

We ordered two cones of fries, one small pack of fries with tartar sauce and a large cone of fries speciaal (the proper Dutch spelling is really with two 'a's).
IMG-20170704-WA0022.jpg

While waiting for the cones of fries, I took another snapshot of the grand City Hall.
IMG-20170704-WA0029.jpg

And then some more of the 'permanent' surrounding food stands set up. These are open almost daily, as opposed to the temporary ones that were set up in the square in conjunction with the Wednesday Maastricht Markt. A varied selection of fresh produce, fish, and desserts were provided by the stands. They did not seem to be having a good business day though.
IMG-20170704-WA0013.jpg

IMG-20170704-WA0014.jpg

IMG-20170704-WA0010.jpg

The fries were done! A light drizzle had started, so we hurried to the nearby shopping street Entre Deux. The communal area outside the shops are sheltered with a large glass ceiling. It may be odd to eat fries in such a location, but other locals had gathered as well :)
IMG-20170704-WA0023.jpg

Fries speciaal comprises a batch of fresh double-fried fries half-buried under a heap of sweetish sauce, mayonnaise, and freshly-cut onions. Very yummy, but not the best choice if you’re out on a first date ;)
IMG-20170704-WA0016.jpg

As our cones became increasingly empty, Cousin Willem helped us to do the Dutch trick of removing the grey wax papers neatly so that we were left with only the checkered cones in hand.
IMG-20170704-WA0015.jpg

The drizzle cleared up nicely around the time we finished the cones of fries. Or perhaps we had just been eating at a tortoise-pace.

A time check showed 13:00. Woah! Our caloric intake record in the past two hours was quite impressive. After the fries, there were two things on everybody’s minds: (1) buy some water to cleanse our insides and (2) take a long walk to assist all that food in going down.

We made our way to the Mosae Forum Underground Shopping area, where both a the Dutch discounter supermarket chain Albert Heijn and an awesome Asian Supermarket occupy two lots. On the way, my little bro decided to clown around with a shop's name sign.
IMG-20170704-WA0030.jpg

While the boys grabbed water for us, I observed the refilling of the orange juicing machine. It's an interesting concept that I've noticed all over supermarkets in Holland and Germany. However, I have yet to try the fresh orange juice produced by such a machine. Perhaps some day soon when I'm not quite so full. :)
IMG-20170704-WA0028.jpg

Next door to Albert Heijn stands the Asian Supermarket.
IMG-20170706-WA0005.jpg

This was the first time I had actually entered the store, and I was about to discover some gems!! They stock Singaporean grocery items that I have yet to find in Düsseldorf - Ovaltine, Horlicks, Milo, sambal tapioca chips, and even my favourite Singapore Chicken Curry kit at a reasonable price!
IMG-20170706-WA0004.jpg

My greed was very real! The Mann saw my sparkling eyes and promised me that we would be back after our walk through Maastricht to get some of the products. What a sweetie! :)

So, armed with our water bottles, we headed out of the store, rode the escalator up, and embarked on our walk at last!!

Part 3 will continue with our walk through lovely Maastricht.

Addresses:
IJssalon Venezia
Nieuwstraat 10
6211 CS Maastricht, The Netherlands
Opens:
Tue - Fri: 09:00 - 18:00
Sat: 09:30 - 18:00
Sun: 13:00 - 18:00
Mon: closed
Contact: +31 43 321 9772

Reitz Fries
Markt 75
6211 CL Maastricht, Netherlands
Opens:
Tue, Wed, Fri, Sat, Sun: 10:00 - 19:00
Thu: 10:00 - 21:15
Mon: closed
Contact: +31 43 321 5706

Amazing Oriental
Laag Gubbelstraat 38
6211 CG Maastricht, Niederlande
Opens:
Mon, Tue, Wed, Sat: 10:00 - 19:00
Thu: 10:00 - 21:00
Sun: 12:00 - 18:00
Contact: +31 43 321 0738

Thanks for reading my post! If you liked what you read, please leave a comment, upvote, or resteem. If you'd like to see more, follow @foodie.warrior. There's lots more where that came from :)

Your support is a great encouragement to me. Here's a big THANK YOU from me! <3

Sort:  

Love the photos! Read below:

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

This is cool! I accept and am willing to let you share my post. Thanks for the booster, @howtostartablog! :))

Hehe it's a nomination for now, only 5 out of 18 will be featured in the daily compilation post. Good luck :)

hehe still an honour to be selected as part of the 18. Thanks @howtostartablog :)

Check out the latest post by @ocd! You were featured :)

Yay what a blessing. Thank you so much for discovering my work, @howtostartablog! Glad it did not let your curator's reputation down! :)

Glad it helped :)

Chips in a cone i was thinking you would just get your hands all covered in sauce reaching for the bottom chip even with a fork. Sissy boy great name for a shop.

Lol I thought so too..but I've eaten this maybe 5 times now, and my hands came away spotless 4 outta 5 times..I'm generally quite clumsy at eating saucey things, so this is quite a good record ;)

thanks for this delightful culinary treat!

Thanks for your time and kind words, @jznsamuel! Glad you enjoyed the ride :)

Trying to catch up a bit. Hope I hadn't miss the currywurst already.

Hmm is there good currywurst in Maastricht? My fav one so far is in Düsseldorf..i've not yet posted that one, so you still have time :))

oh i lost my geography head. still thinking of germany but French fries are really from the French. on a train ride to work and try to gey some time to catchup.

Actually, there's rather a lot of claims that the Belgian's created French fries :) apparently, the Belgian villagers along the River Meuse loved their fried fish so much so that during the winter, when the river froze over, they fried potatoes to make up for the lack of fried fish in their diet :)) I was not there though, so I'll never know for sure :)

Do you use the eSteem app to reply to the comments on the go? Btw, thanks for leaving your footprints all over my blog earlier today..I appreciate your time :)

You're welcome. I think they said is the American in some World Expo if I remember correctly but the Belgian fries are great the few times I had them. I heard their way of doing is quite elaborate but I have not research it.
I've not used eSteem though I know someone who used and like it.

hehe well seems like many want to lay claim on it :) My tongue's research agree that Belgian fries are pretty yummilicious :)

So you use the mobile version of Steemit on google? I downloaded eSteem, but haven't tried it out yet. Heard lots of complaints about it..

No, I just access on the Chrome browser on the Android phone. Not the best but I won't use it to post. A couple of times I did, it's something I already drafted in a document. Then just go and cut and paste. My stuff mainly done in HTML which takes some time to format but I have a few templates now.

I do my posts in 'markdown' version too..need a bit of basic html codes..nothing fancy..Okie..I'm a little afraid to use steemit on my phone..not sure why..either the screen is too small for me to notice details well or I'm afraid someone will steal my phone..also I'm still using the damn long computer-generated random password..would be annoying to keep typing that thing into everytime on the phone if I don't save my PW..

🙌 Please, can I join in part 3 of this tour? It keeps getting more interesting. Enjoy my dear!

Come to Düsseldorf some day and I'll bring you on a Version 2 :)

Awesome! I look forward to that and thanks for the invitation.
It will be such a remarkable meeting.
Till then, stay well...

I really enjoyed this tour you took me on and you made me so hungry. My stomach is growling. I have never seen a cone of fries, especially one so big. How could you eat all of that in such a short period of time? I am sure your walk helped. Love the pictures as well. Looking forward to part 3. :)

hehe it was easy because there were so mouths around to share the food buys :) Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment (hope you got a snack!) :)

My pleasure! Now it is time for me to get something to eat...thanks a lot! haha!

these looks so yummy, making me hungry already.

Hehe they were indeed yummy! Hope you managed to grab a bite to eat :) Thanks for leaving your footprint here, @aburmeseabroad!

Waffles AND fries 😉

Great post!

teehee..no regrets at all..

Thanks @dutchess! :)

good to see that you had a good time in my country, voted and resteemed

You come from an innovative, beautiful, and friendly country. It's easy to have a good time :)) Thanks for your time, vote, and resteem @stresskiller! :)

I love Maastricht! I wish I could be more over there. I'm from Rotterdam myself :D

I absolutely love Maastricht too :)) Go more often! Rotterdam is not so far away hehe I was there several weeks ago :) did a post on dim sum I ate there too lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72