Educated Idiots Rule Our Streets!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Educated moron of the day is the driver of this car bearing number KA19P4384 who not only turned into the main street from the wrong side of the road, blocked my path and stopped.

He also stepped out eventually to threaten and argue his mistake. He pulled on the passenger door handle to try force it open but my doors were locked.

This guy was in his late 40 or early 50s. Educated enough to shout at me in clear English thinking for some reason he can intimidate me! My windows were rolled up initially so all I was doing inside the car was playing my favourite tracks and laughing my arse off.

I think he was under the impression he owns the road! This is the case with most people who make driving very dangerous in India.

I stayed put and held my ground as I had time to waste leaving him very frustrated until 10 minutes later he moved his car on his own and left.

There is no dearth of idiots in this county and my city of Mangalore has its share of it as well. Having said that I'm going to get myself a good dash cam as I come across idiots like this every day!

37863580_10156522241901798_6375515738412679168_o.jpg

What about you guys? Do you have face such morons on your commute? Have you been threatened by another drive who was at fault but their ego wouldn't let them admit their mistakes.

Cops are useless in these matters unfortunately so it's best to document these incidents I guess.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Let's Watch This Fun Video From International Steem Meetup #1—Malaysia
  2. Why You Should Vote For @firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. Steem.Chat Contest #36

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  
Loading...

It's a every day story in delhi. I have seen many so called educated people work in big corporates and MNC but when they come on road they become literally illiterate. Don't understand why they think that if they won't follow rules then it's time for them to show off their high status. Driving wrong side, honking, crossing red light, driving without seat belt, fighting on road specially when they are wrong it's daily story in delhi. Specially who is driving luxury cars they feel like the road is their own property. People in delhi have no patience to wait for red light or any vehicle to pass by. Pedestrian's situation is worst in Delhi. You can not walk safely in road as you never know who will hit you from any side. I am in Singapore currently and here people follow traffic rules strictly. First you will hardly hear any horn here. Here every signal have light for pedestrians for both way crossing and once that light is green then you can cross road even with your closed and none of the car will ever dare to cross the red light.Here road accidents are les than 1%. I am not admiring singapore but I really want to see this kind traffic culture in India. It's not difficult if we all come together because only govt can not do anything. It's our responsibility to follow rules properly and become liberal for others on road.
This is a very serious issue in India dear @firepower
Thanks for touching this topic.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know how crazy it is in Delhi. I lived there a little over 4 years and im glad i don't live there. It's just lucky if you don't get hit a big city like Delhi or Bangalore crossing the roads! :)

well said about Delhi @firepower I never been to Bangalore but heard thru friends that situation is almost same there like Delhi. Don't know when will people start understanding the importance of traffic rules. I really hope to see it improving. Lets hope for the best.

Same here. I see these idiots almost everyday too. They act as if the road belongs to them and are free to drive in whatever way they wish.

The laughable part is, even the rich do it. The well-educated, yet an idiot at core. Just because you have an expensive car, doesn't mean you own the road. Follow the damn rules!!

During my first international travel I visited San Diego. Few hours after checking in to the hotel my colleague proposed we go for dinner. During that walk, at our first road crossing I stopped for the approaching veichle to pass by. To my surprise so did the vehichle. My colleague being a local, she went - "why did you stop, the guy is waiting for you to cross the road". I was like what hell and she explained that the pedestrians have the right to the way. In another incident during this trip a random person started dancing in front of the bus I was in. The woman driving the bus went like "Sir, can you please move aside". I was like wow, this would have escalated back at home and "Sir". Not to mention no unnecessary honking and lane driving. Now I am not trying to compare but honestly this is how I would love to see roads in my country as well. I don't know if it would ever happen. But I sure as hell wish it does.

Also Having spent my early life in Delhi I can tell you for, that those memes about random road fights in which people go like Tu Janta hai mera baap Kaun(you know who my father is) is not untrue.

Yeah I know about all that and more. I lived in Delhi and Gurgaon just over 4 years and have experienced the madness first hand.

I think this is the biggest problem in India. They never want to follow driving rules. When they driving in his own area then the problem becomes more dangerous. They think that they are the owner of whole road.. and the road owner is his fat**r.
In simple words driving and traffic are worse in India...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank God you shook it off! Some people just come up to frustrate people on a good day.

India is the country where rules are only followed by the papers and books where they have been written. There is no resemblance of these rules in real life. Driving without helmet, tripling, no indicators on the turns are best practised in India I think. Here if you have power and money, you can avoid the rules and none will harm you. If you are poor, have no money , you should be afraid.

Someone told me about 20 years ago that it cost like 65 cents to bribe a cop there to get out of a ticket, how much does it cost now?

Driving in India gives me the chills...

its more like "Survival of the fittest", and especially Bangalore, crazy traffic sense, I have seen people and not just here, almost everywhere I have lived, people parking at thr will; lack of lane discipline; turning without any indications...and can't even talk about cab drivers here!!! recently I saw people driving on the footpath as well.. no place to even walk for pedestrians..

I don't drive yet but in my country our roads don't have lack of idiots, and funny enough nobody is ever wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61006.67
ETH 2417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61