Today I learned I still can get nervous - Giving my first interview on camera.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I was interviewed by the wonderful Terry Brock today.

I have never been interviewed on camera before in my life.

It was an interesting experience.

He will release it later today or tomorrow.

It reminded me of a story when I was young.


terry.png


When I was in primary school (age 10) I had to give a presentation in front of the class.

I didn't want to do it, but I was told that presenting was an ultimate skill you needed to master to succeed in life.

I hated the idea from the start, I also no clue what to give a presentation about.

All I wanted was to play my Nintendo 8 bit and have fun.

Luckily my mom came to the rescue.

Being a history teacher (at the time) she had plenty of good ideas.

I was going to give a presentation about a historical figure!

Great! I liked the idea. It was better than anything else I could come up with.

But of all the amazing historical figures she could have picked she choose.....Hitler.

We put a presentation together and I practiced it. Over and over.

Judgment Day


I wasn't the only person to give a presentation that day.

My friend Ben also had to give one and a bunch of other kids.

When I asked Ben what his presentation was about he said: "My Bird...."

When I asked around more I quickly realized that I kinda overshot the mark.

While everyone was talking about their pets, I was stuck with one of the worst dictators of all time.

How I wish I had chosen my dog too!

O, I was so nervous waiting while everyone got called one by one to give their presentation.

When it was finally my turn. I got up and walked to the front of the class.

When I got there. I froze.

Not a single word would come out.

I felt miserable.

I hated the spotlight.

Today


That feeling came back today in the first 2 minutes of the interview.

We were talking before the record button was pressed and I was fine!

The moment he did the countdown...I got that nervous feeling.

I almost froze....this time words did come out but not very smooth.

Luckily Terry is Pro and he swooped in and got me back on track.

Something I could have needed way back then!

Not long after I was fine and talking like in my vlogs.

It ended up being a lot of fun! (like he promised before).

Steemit is forcing me to keep pushing myself to try new things.

It is truly a wonderful journey and I'm very grateful for it.

The interview will be released on Terry's blog as soon as he finishes editing it.



Sort:  

You did a marvelous job today, @exyle! Thank you for giving such great information in our interview.

It is now available (after my dutiful editing!) at:

https://steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/@terrybrock/steemit-success-series-exyle-and-the-grind

I'd recommend every Steem user watch it and take notes. You packed that interview with a lot of valuable information that I know I can certainly use. I'm sure others will agree that you packed a lot into that short interview.

Keep up the good work. I look forward to hearing any feedback you might have, Mark! All the very best to you, sir!

Thank you for the interview, Terry. I just watched your edited version and it's great. Thanks for the rescue in the beginning :)

Of course, Mark. Hey, we're all human and need others to help us out from time to time. I'm very grateful for the many who have helped me in many ways through the years. Something I love about our Steemit community is the camaraderie that we see. All the very best to you, Mark!

terry sir you are amazing i must say i am new fan of you :) #Stay awesome :)

Thank you @hassanabid. You are very kind. @exyle really did a great job on that and pulled it off. I'm impressed with him.

Agreed Exyle is very talented intelligent person ! however people like him is the reason we are still humans :D

You are nothing but a champ, my bro! And you've done us all very proud. It's takes a certain kind of "skill" to be able to be an interviewee (as well as conduct an interview like the awesome Terry Brock) and trust me, man. Everything went exceedingly great.

Thanks for the shout-out too. I know I've said this many times before but I consider myself so extremely lucky to have made such an incredible friend as you are. Too corny? Well, I couldn't care less. It's the plain truth.

Bless you, man! You're a complete asset to Steemit and it's diverse
and growing community. I doubt that something as special as that will ever change. :)

Thank you, for the ever encouraging words! Looking forward seeing you @ SF2. Can;t believe I only known you for a year. It feels longer.

love you both Steemit inspirations you are @ezzy you are really great supporter of exyle i saw every comment of you on exyle i must say you are a big motivator and best friend of exyle <3 God bless you both :) sorry for long comment lol !

Cool deed.
It is amazing to push the boundary.
Keep up the good work and put steem and steemit way up there.
Keep on steemit!

Funny that someone that does videos all the time can still get a little stage fright. I remember the first time speaking in front a room full of people training them...thought for sure I would freeze up. Hardest part was the first few words, once past them the rest of the day was a breeze.

Never had issues in school or in small trainings, but a room with a few hundred people scared me for some reason. Why...who knows. Now speaking doesn't bother me, but still not something I enjoy. Big difference between something you can do and something you enjoy.

I was nervous making my first vlog and there wasn't even anyone in the room, lol. Now I feel completely comfortable. I guess it's the same with speaking in public or interviews. I just don;t get to do that often.

As they say practice makes perfect....or in this case practice gives confidence. You do a very good job on your vlog and give great information. No reason to be nervous. Sharing information is sharing information.

Man you have you're own trading card... why to be nervous..

Ik hoop dat je een keer wil kijken naar mijn witness profiel en op me wilt stemmen als beginnend witness.
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@rival/rival-witness-update-introducing-steemvember

Ga je naar steemfest?

Very nice to see you are challenging yourself every time! Can't wait to see the interview somewhere popping up!

Seen it all! What a great interview! I'm sure a lot of people can benefit from the things you mentioned!

@exyle I know you did well and you are a GEM here on STEEMIT and you work very hard to make this a GREAT Place for everyone. I am Grateful.

I actually get more nervous if I have to give a presentation than I got back in high school or middle school. You are your worse enemy is you get yourself down before a presentation, it's kind of silly if you think about :)

Oh yeah.. without a demands, we never accomplish gols..😊
I'm also faces to similar matters when I was schooling.. But I always believed that that nervous teach me good lessons in my life..
Waiting for your interview and I think it will be great..
Upvoted and cheers..

it would be a fantastic interview indeed to watch i start following @terrybrock and i am so excited to see that interview not because you got nervous initially but it would be a great learning for me. well i am not an expert in dealing with nervousness but i think that nervousness is a feeling and it comes when we think that we are not capable of doing something, so the solution for such occasions is that just close your eyes take a deep breath and put your hand on your heart and say "all is well" and just motivate yourself that you are good and you are truly capable of doing this, i think by motivating ourself and assuming that all is well will help overcome nervousness, Stay confident and awesome my friend and thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60505.16
ETH 2622.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61