Are we really free?

in #life5 years ago


Freedom, generally, is having the ability to act or change without constraint. Something is "free" if it can change easily and is not constrained in its present state. - Wikipedia

The concept of freedom is much more than just what this sentence says. It is a very large domain that is not easy to put into words by just a few sentences in an article. But have you ever wondered are we really free or how free are we? Do you feel like you have freedom? Is freedom the capability of doing anything you want?

Let's say you'd like to move somewhere and you should have the freedom to do that, right? But first you will have to have money for it, a stable job maybe, or if you're moving in a different country even a visa. So, do you really have that freedom to move somewhere if you're constrained by those things? I wouldn't say so and by definition that is also not freedom. And this is the freedom that we all should have.

I live in a country where the government will never listen to the people. Where the people give up fighting and move away instead if they can do that. And it's sad that I envy those people that have the freedom/ability/opportunity to do so because I feel trapped here, I don't feel free at all. Yes, I can go out of the house, go somewhere illegally and disappear forever, but what kind of a life would that be? Always running away, risking everything just like an escape from prison. Yes, I can try and work hard and try to get out but what happens when you no longer even have the will/energy to do. What happens when the freedom you seek can't be achieved because you simply don't have it, outside and inside?

Truth is I don't feel so free right now. Do you?

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Freedom can be something of a myth at times no matter how physically free or not we are. One thing no one and no thing can take from me is my soul. That might be the only freedom we truly have. Here in the physical realm real and true freedoms are hard to come by. But in the non-physical freedom is abundant. We all shall have it so fear not. That thought has helped me lead a less stressful life - knowing that in the end we are all truly free.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm not a very spiritual person. Souls are a rather abstract concept. Either way we only have a life in this physical world and my soul as we so call it is here and it does not feel free at all. It just feels trapped and all I can do is try to keep it alive which is so hard at some times..

I understand your perspective completely. I’ve had the great fortune of experiencing some out of body type experiences that have enabled me to completely “know” that life exists beyond most of our current understanding. That has given me a sense of solitude that even if I’m not completely free in this life, I will be in the future. It is simply “known” to me. To experience is to “know.” That is the only way I can explain it. With this - I appreciate and approach my current life with the best intentions possible. If they work out great - if not then I know I’m in the struggle for a reason and look to find my learning and understanding. But that’s just me friend...I wish you the best in your own journey. I can tell you that turning inward is the way. All answers exist if you ask and pay attention for the signs.

Congratulations @elitaforce! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54