Facing My Fears #2: with BIKINI in the SNOW

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello my dear Stemians,

thank you all for welcoming us so warmly here on Steemit. Today I would like to continue my Series on facing my fears. And as I told you in my last post: One of the things that scare me most is THE COLD.

Elena_Horn_Spiegel_Tampere.png

That is the reason why I travelled up to FINLAND in order to visit the oldest public Sauna in the world: Rajaportin in Tampere. It was build in 1906. There is a big fire burning in the oven for six hours before visitors can come. So I went early in order to see the way it's being done and share it with you.

sauna tampere.png

At the moment we went to the Sauna, it was around -10 °C outside. I really couldn't imagine how I could ever be capable of taking off my clothes. And certainly not run around outside with them.

sauna tampere fire.png

sauna tampere box.png

The heat in this sauna is so pleasant! The sensation is like somebody is rubbing your bones from the inside. It's not your skin that is getting hot but your bones inside of your body. It is a very different feeling compared to saunas that are heated electronically.

Elena_Horn_Spiegel_TV_Tampere.png

I don't manage staying in the heat from longer than 10min. I clearly overestimated myself in that respect. The sauna is only for girls but I can hear the men chatting very loudly in the sauna next door. Alessandro is amongst him and they are laughing and talking without stop. In the girl's department it is rather harmonic and the ladies enjoy the silence - ignoring the noisy guys next door as good as possible.

Elena_horn_sauna.png

Every step is choreographed. Everybody knows exactly what to do. Except of me, so I just copy the other and hope not to draw to much attention. But I guess the ladies noticed right away that I don't have a clue what I'm doing.

Elena_Horn_Spiegel_TV_Sauna1.png

All people are created equal; but never more so than in a sauna.

Elena_Horn_Spiegel_TV_Sauna4.png

But eventually one lady tells me that I should stop because I'm clearly a beginner. And I will have a head ace all day if I continue. So I went outside to join the gentlemen relaxing in the snow.

Elena_Horn_Spiegel_TV.png

Well, I thought we could relax outside but the reality is different. The gentlemen are taking me to the back court of the sauna - where there is plenty of snow.

Elena_Horn_Spiegel_TV_sauna.png

And the guy just walk into the snow, lay down and chill there. My panic rises. THIS IS IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME!

Tampere_Sauna.png

Elena_Horn_Tampere.png

But the guy just don't let me escape and I have to jump too! My heart is beating so strongly as if it is trying to keep the snow away from my skin.

Elena_Horn_snow.png

At that point my body is already pretty cool. It's not like I'm steaming from the heat and the sweat is still boiling on my skin. I'm feeling the cold already - or is it just the thought of the snow cooling down my head?

Elena_Horn_moderatorin_Spiegel_TV.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 12.09.28.png

Elena_Horn_Tampere_sauna.png

I must admit - I would have never done it without the guys insisting. But you feel great afterwards. Your thoughts are sharp as razor blades and you feel extremely powerful. I completely recommend trying!!!

Have an amazing day!
Elena & Ale

Please Upvote and Resteem if you like this challenge. And share with me, when YOU crossed your boundaries!

Sort:  

Yes I've done this and gotten paid! haha I used to model and once had to do a shoot in the snow.

Haha! Amazing @artedellavita!!! I would love to see this picture!

How was your experience??! Did you loose the feeling in your toes? x

I rarely post pictures of my portfolio other than this time here on my blog, but yes it was cold! If I pull them up and post them I'll be sure to tell you :) My backside actually stung haha all in all it was a great experience!

Yes @artedellavita ! I would greatly appreciate if you let me know. I felt like suddenly there is no space anymore in your lungs. No matter how hard you try to pump air into them - it doesn't fit!

But the feet in the snow is the worst thing!

x

Fun post! Wood fired sauna and snow is the way to go :)

@thedamus - it makes such a huge difference, doesn't it!!!

If you're really adventurous, try jumping in a frozen lake afterwards :) !!!

AHHHH! You're not letting me out of this easily.

Alright, I take your challenge @thedamus . I will try it. But we have to make a bet!

How bout 5 x 100% upvotes? (i think mine is worth about $0.44) i'll offer challenge for next 2 weeks ;)

@thedamus - Alright - DEAL! Two weeks from today, the 31st of July 2017 .

F*******ck !!!

One small step for @elenahornfilm, and one giant leap for conquering fear!

I'll make sure i've got a full load on August 14th...I'm sure you've got this ;)

Cheers, from @thedamus

@thedamus - today is the day! I found a place.

I really don't know if I can do it.

Omg this story with the pictures and all is TOO cute and funny!😍😍 Wow! Some people have incredible tolerance! I freeze in a pool I can not imagine being in the snow in a bikini!:P Keep it up xoxoxox

@steemityourway - haaha, thank you!

Have you tried facing the cold? I find it so hard. Each time. How can people go swimming regularly in the lakes of Scottland? It is a miracle for me.

I'm shivering by the thought of it! xxox

haha I know eh! Some people are just ... insane :P Hope you enjoyed your traveling :)

@steemityourway - yes, absolutely.

Well this one was really hard for me. I'm loosing my breath only tipping it down.

Where is your next trip going to?

xx

Youre so cute! I can only imagine! haha it was so entertaining to watch the pics :P and the face expressions were priceless :P I wish so much I could travel!!! Going back to school in a couple weeks :( the life of a broke student living the apartment life:P:P what about you!? Any upcoming trips? 😚

Hi @steemityourway ,

how much time to you have still left at school? It's a marvellous time to make up your mind about where you want to go next.

I always go in a triangle between London, Germany and Italy. But I'll come to the US for three month later this year - for work.

What's your dream? Where do you want to go after school?

xx
Elena

Thats awesome! Always wanted to go to these places, especially Italy!!! ❢ I have roughly 4-5 years ahead of me haha so I focus on the now because its gonna take a while;) Becoming a criminal lawyer is definetly in the plans! What about you? What is your work?? xxx

This is great for your health. It increases the levels of norepinephrine five fold which improves mood & focus.

Wow! You're so knowledgable ! What are norephinephrine five, @answerblack ?

I enjoyed this it made me laugh! Brave Brave brave!!.,.. i want to try out that sauna it looks so much fun, and the look on your faces when you are facing that cold snow is priceless xD I love this, enjoy the fun times in life , those times are free of charge xD
Thank you for the entertainment of this post!

Hi @aineyann - I'm happy you enjoyed it. You seem to know what enjoying life means.

I will absolutely have a look at your site now!!! xx

Bless you , you are very kind! Now you said it :)

when i saw the picture i start to have freezing. but looks nice in same time.

@sylejmanbajgora - how do you feel about jumping in the snow? Would you do it?

@elenahornfilm I will do it, new challenge are welcome. Why not, and maybe for all winter i will stay inside

@sylejmanbajora - the internet doesn't forget!

And I will remember in particular! No escape. :-)

yess lets wait. hahah

Something that everybody must try at least once! xD

Haha! @kevinwong - Have you done it yet? It's your turn! And i want to see it!

Yes quite some time ago! Maybe when the time is right again! Haha

Next year I will do it. Promised

@metabs - I will remember it! This is a promise!

Cool, nice activity.... Keep warm :)

@hadimemories , haha, thanks! I needed so much time to become warm again!

That would be quite the experience. The extremes of heat and cold snow. That would be quite the thrill. The photos look like it was fun! Thanks for sharing! - Troy

Hi @enjoywithtroy , you absolutely got it. It was absolutely thrilling..... and chilling.

Thanks you very much for your support. I'm more than happy for propositions about future challenges! x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30