Sort:  

Cool! Or should i say ridiculously envigorating?
Just do it!

When i was a kid of about 11 or 12 i would always watch the "polar bear" swim every January 1st. I live in Canada, so it's usually pretty cold -- not beach weather anyway. Every year i would say out loud -- i'm doing it next year! And each new year i would bail out...

I am now 47 and my first Polar bear swim was 5 years ago. It was shockingly cold and my feet felt funny for hours after -- but i did it! And it was worth it!

I have since only done it one more time, but even then i felt the surge of enthusiasm for taming my lazier instincts or fear or whatever it is that self-holds us back.

You can do it! You will do it! Or not... the choice is up to you. But choosing to dominate your fear will release it and put a big smile on your life :)

  • plus, i'm gonna have to plan for 5 x 100% upgoats -- or YOU are!!!

Heh heh, so choose wisely ;)

Cheers! from @thedamus

POLAR BEAR SWIM ???

I have never heard about this. Does it mean you literally go swimming in an area where there are Polar Bears? I'm impressed that you dared to do it! WOW!

It really is the magic of dominating your fear that makes these challenges against the cold so meaningful. How did your body feel afterwards?

By the way, there is something I wanted to mention to you:

https://steemit.com/life/@elenahornfilm/facing-my-fears-3-jumping-in-a-frozen-lake-my-first-steemit-bet-and-127754

If you would give me a hug today, @thedamus - it would feel like hugging a snow man.

xx

Not actually swimming WITH polar bears, but just LIKE THEM -- 'cause who else goes swimming Jan 1st!!!???

Haha, I believe Canadians are up for everything - if only crazy enough and dangerous.

How many people jump into the water on Jan 1st?

Google "polar bear swim vancouver" and be shocked!

I think there are several hundred!!! Lol it's hilarious -- and freaking cold!

Remember...pictures or it didn't happen ;)
I'm getting my % up

I just googled it. Dear lord! You Canadians are certainly --- well, craycray.

From now on, I am this !

Hi there Polar Bear! I haven't forgotten about 5/5 but i went on an up voting spree, spreading the love with my peeps... 'cause somebody has to do it. Anyway, once I am back at a 100% i will make sure i find you.
Keep on being awesome!
Oh, I work in film too. I am an actor and stunt performer here in Vancouver. I have tomo and weds booked doubling this American actor in a (what looks like a slasher movie from the call sheet). I will be running through the forest and getting tackled and stabbed... so much fun! I was also on episode 1, Season 2, of 'The Crossing' playing a burly A-hole last week -- good times! i haven't yet posted very much about this part of my life here on Steemit, but i will probably do a story after i finish this upcoming work. Movie cameras and lights and dark forests should make for some great pics!

Cheers Elli!

p.s. "Polar Bear Swims" are done on New Years day here. It is smack dab in the middle of winter so it is cold, but also it is on that day of the year when everybody can cleanse themselves of the sins of the past year and start fresh -- with tingling skin too!!! Also, the fun peeps often wear costumes. i went to one a few years ago with a Super Hero Theme, it was Awesome! My homemade suit declared that i was "Super Part-Time" which is a joke i have with an actor buddy of mine... Actors don't work everyday usually lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67